We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a nice meal!!!”
Review of Taj Tandoori

Taj Tandoori
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The restuarant is referred to on several websites if you Google Taj Tandooori Puerto de Mogan
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not a nice meal!!!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I have visited this restaurant twice previously and enjoyed our meals both times, but this time it was awefull!!!! The podadoms and mixed accompaniments were pretty tastless. The pakoras and onion bajies were stodgy and also lacking taste. The main meal of Jalfraze was the nicest taste but the chicken biryani was dreadful, I could only taste salt in the biryani and no flavour in the curry sauce that came with it.
The waiter did notice that the meal hadn't been touched and asked very politely why and when I told him he then took it off the bill without being asked which was helpful.
After such a bad meal we will not go back, which is a disappointment after our first two good meals.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fairylite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    77
    26
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great for take away”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We can't recommend this place highly enough. On a Friday or Saturday night, when the harbour restuarants are particularly busy, we order food to take-away, get a nice drink while we wait, and return to our balcony at the Mogan Valle. Great value, good food - the vegetable koftas a particular favourite.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AMCandFMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Really good service, even though the restaurant was full. Pleasant staff! One chicken tikka and one lamb tikka biryani were served (heat) hot and spicy hot as asked for. Very tasty and both meats were tender and plentiful. Vegetable curry sauce could be a bit thicker! Would go there again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ESSINGTONBEAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Food tasty, perhaps not as hot as we're used to in England but good none the less. Been twice now and planning another visit tonight.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mkasiuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I had Lentil Dhal and my husband had Rogan Josh. Both dishes were served to the table piping hot by an extremely pleasant waitress. The flavours weren't as strong as we would have liked but we WERE in Gran Canaria and not India! Best of all was the onion naan which was thick, well done and had plenty of onion in it.

I am glad it wasn't too busy as we were able to eat outside. The inside did look rather dreary.

Look forward to going again when next in Mogan.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fussy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Tandoori also viewed

Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 
Mogan, Gran Canaria
 
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 

Been to Taj Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing