We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food and service.”
Review of Zona Verde

Zona Verde
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great food and service.”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Went here early on in our holiday,both me and my husband really enjoyed it,but wasn't really for our daughter age 10,she loves a steak,but said didnt like the taste of how it was cooked,if we were on our own would def have returned looks nothing from outside but , once in lovely surroundings, fantastic bread to start with and great dips that come with it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank fisher1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    699
    209
    61
    19
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Steak to die for”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Without a shadow of a doubt one of the best if not the best steaks I have ever had. Waiters excellent atmosphere enjoyable watching you steak being cooked for you

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food set back from the beach on the way to the "opping Centre"”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Popped in twice during our stay. It is basically food cooked over a wood burner set back from the beach on the way back to the Cordial Valle apartments.
It is based in a nice garden setting, the food & wine are to die for. We had the cheapest dish & the most expensive, both were excellent & outstanding.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank weavy1264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

A local told us to try Zona Verde to escape from the crowds in Puerto de Mogan on market Friday. I am not a big carnivore and was enjoying eating fish every evening so I was a bit disappointed that the only thing they had on the grill that night was meat, meat, and more meat. Boy was I in for a surprise! The kabob came with beef, chicken, and pork. Each piece was juicy and well seasoned. It was enough to feed two. And then there are the side dishes - salad, chick peas, cucumber salad, etc. I could have made a meal just from the sides.

Don't be put off by the lack of a menu and do eat on the patio. You will be very happy you made the walk from the tourist places around the harbor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taypdt02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simple but incredibly effective; possibly the best food in Puerto Mogan”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Zona Verde was such a special discovery during our week long stay in Puerto de Mogan that we visited twice and now can't stop thinking about it on our return to the UK! This place is amazing, very different from the other restaurants and food on offer in Puerto de Mogan, and a really refreshing change from the often boring food served up at the beach front and harbour-side restaurants and cafes. It is a barbeque restaurant set back from the main town and beach, but very easy to find and is actually off the main street between the Cordial Mogan Valle apartments and Cordial hotel so gets plenty of footfall. A beautiful terrace decorated with festoon lights, outdoor kitchen area, and a wood burning grill is a simple but intriguing setting and the food is absolutely delicious. The menu consists of a few choices of meats and a daily special which all come with a big side salad, slightly spiced chickpeas and a cucumber and yoghurt dressing. The chef adds a special marinade/baste to the meats with a touch of salt and pepper but the quality of the meat and the skilled cooking itself are what really make the flavours so special. We tried a starter (to share) of local cheeses and hams which was exquisite and huge! On our two visits we ate the mixed kebabs of chicken, pork and beef, the rib eye steaks, and lamb fillet and cutlets. Everything was perfectly cooked, although the portion sizes differed slightly. Prices range from 14.50 euros to 19 ish euros depending on the meat you choose and this includes the side dishes. We also fell in love with the warm bread (also from the wood burning grill) provided at the start of the meal with which to make our own bruschetta-style starter using a pot of chopped tomatoes with garlic etc and an incredibly delicious garlic aioli. A simple wine list is also on offer, all reasonably priced and well-matched to the food, and on our second visit we had a long chat with the waitress and proprietor about our wine preferences and were offered to sample some other red wines from the area which were not on the list. We chose a Gran Canarian wine and it was fantastic. This was just one example of the friendly and informative service provided at Zona Verde. We highly recommend you visit for yourself - you won't want to eat anywhere else once you have though!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MovingFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zona Verde also viewed

Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 

Been to Zona Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing