We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No service and poor menu”
Review of Il Bagatto - CLOSED

Il Bagatto
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Waitstaff
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No service and poor menu”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Sat down in this restaurant and had a drinks order taken only then to be told the chef was at the other restaurant and there was no food to be had. We had just finished our drinks when the chef arrived and we were shown a menu which had a fairly poor choice. We didn't stay for a meal so can't comment on the food as the initial impression was so poor. It is in a good waterfront location and we maybe picked a bad night but I wouldn't be able to recommend it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Gatehouse of Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent service and great food”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This was fantastic and very reasonably priced. The staff were great and even when they were busy they took care of you. The cafe/bar along the walk called Waypoint was also a brilliant place but after being there for 5 years they were forced out due to threats from next door bar Mogan Mar. Such a lovely family They will be missed. Back to my review this restaurant has everything location, great food and wonderful staff. Thanks for making my holiday over Christmas and New Year. Felice Ana Nouveau.

Audrey and Billy

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jinkyjoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
“Horrible service and expensive food”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

My husband and I were here last year. We have relatives in Italy and has been there a lot (my husband is half italian). This was not what we expect from Italian food, and it was also very expensive. The waitress was very rude. Stay away!!!

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best italian in Peorto Mogan”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

we have used this resturant since 2009.during the months of january and february and eat or drink there at least 4 or 5 times a week.The food is great orthentic italian.Friendly and helpful service.Good views over the beach .The prices are no different than any of the other italian resturants along thr beach and the marina.We can only suggest that you give it a try.You wont be dissapointed. Ask them to make you a Vitello Tonnato.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bronzed38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We went here based on reviews on tripadvisor and were quite disappointed. The food we were served was rather expensive compared to the mediocre quality (5 EUR for a small, boring side salad) and the wine was served far too warm (probably close to 30 degrees).

The service was very nice at first, but it became difficult to convince the waitress that the first wine we were served had gone bad (possibly due to the warm storage). Moreover, it was rather unpleasent to see that the two people serving at the restaurant (the owners?) were making fun of and mocking another unsatisfied guest after he had left . Very immature and definitely not a good way to run a restaurant...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank reisemygg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Bagatto also viewed

Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing