We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“okay food but wouldn't go again”

Restaurante El Capuchino 501
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Vejle, Denmark
Level Contributor
92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“okay food but wouldn't go again”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The food was okay but nothing special and the same goes for the wine. The waiters were friendly but we had to wait a long time to pay as they weren't very attentive. Given that the menu was very similar to other restaurants in town and at the same price level I would go elsewhere.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank piaech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    160
    51
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
239 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 573 helpful votes
“Super, simple, delightful.”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Lovely meal last might, fish caught that day brought to the table I grew up by the sea, so I know fresh fish when I see it. Deliciously cooked, lovely atmosphere, excellent service, unoretentious but high quality, and catered for my very boring allergies easily. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MIssDillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Ask for the fresh catch, they will serve it a la plancha, cooked to perfection, with lots of garlic and papas con mojo. They also serve a traditional dish called 'gofio' which we liked. We went back twice. The service is very friendly.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank zurich67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our favourite for the paella”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Have been to Gran Canaria twice and this was the very first restaurant we visited and were treated to a fantastic paella. We tried other restaurants (and paellas) but this ended up being the place we visited the most.
Just returned from our second trip and our first stop was here again - unfortunately, we arrived too late for paella this evening (there is always a wait for it as it is freshly cooked) but we had a fantastic grilled fish instead. Their potatoes with mojo and bread with aili-oli are also great! The waiters are excellent and told us that if we let them know when we are coming they will be ready with the paella for us!
As mentioned by others, they have their own boat catching the fish; they also pride themselves on the fact that their paella is freshly made rather than pre-made.
Overall our favourite restaurant and the place we visit on our first and last night in Gran Canaria.
The only negative thing is that it isn't one of the restaurants that overlooks the marina but the food more than makes up for that!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shiningstar33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asgardstrand, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Restaurant with their own fishing boat”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is the place to eat if you want fresh fish. The service was exelent and we even found a waiter speaking Norwegian. This restaurant has their own boat being out for fresh fish dayly. Not a bad thing to say about this restaurant. Same prices as their Zoo-neighbour.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank voljan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante El Capuchino 501 also viewed

Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
Puerto de Mogan, Mogan
 

Been to Restaurante El Capuchino 501? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing