We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cordial Mogan Valle
Certificate of Excellence
Chilterns
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not the best location”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We are not regular users of self-catering apartments but hotel accommodation in Puerto de Mogan is in short supply and extremely expensive over the Christmas period. This property is further from the port and beach than any other. Although other reviewers seem to make the trip in 10 to 15 minutes I found that it was necessary to allow at least 20 minutes.
If you are using a hire car there is no car park as such but plenty of space outside the complex.
Our apartment was described as for 2/4 persons and the sofa converted to a double bed to sleep an extra couple. As there were only two of us we had plenty of space and we were comfortable but an additional pair would have been quite intolerable.The building is an interesting maze of a very large number of apartments but we found very little noise from other guests.
The room does not have air conditioning.This did not cause us any problems but may cause discomfort at hotter times of the year. There is no form of heating and again this was not an inconvenience but it does get very cool in the evening and may be a problem at other times of the year.
The management provide a range of entertainments during the day and evening and pay particular attention children's activities. We did not try any of these offerings.
The apartment block is part of the Hotel Cordial Morgan Playa (how they can describe themselves as a beach hotel is a mystery) and the hotel has a very fine restaurant, the Los Guayres, which was a particular favourite although so under-used that it lacked any atmosphere.
There are a large number of restaurants in Puerto de Mogan which is fortunately free from burger chains and fast food outlets. In the area of the beach and harbour you can choose Indian, Chinese, Italian or try more traditional Spanish cuisine. The prices are about the same as you would pay in the UK with some more expensive places. If you are after economy try the Irish Bar which is slightly cheaper and serves enormous meals. They claim (wrongly) to be the only place that serves vegetables with the dishes. For a more memorable meal go the Restaurante Que Tal. It is very expensive and the food is cooked on a counter in full view by a chef in a dinner jacket.. This was one of the highlights of our visit.
After dinner there is little to do. Puerto de Mogan closes down at 11:00 pm. Bars with music have to stop the entertainment at that time although the hotels and apartments can carry on later.
We did not use any of the facilities that were on offer at the complex and probably overpaid for just the accommodation. It was however clean and well-maintained. We would recommend it for people who really do plan to cook their own food and attend the organised parties.

Room Tip: All rooms face west and the only view is the opposite hillside. There appears no difference in rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SilasMarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    966
    944
    228
    47
    34
See reviews for
1,029
878
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

When you arrive at your holiday destination to find out that not only has your luggage not managed to make the flight with you, it also won't arrive for four days, you begin to worry whether your holiday is doomed! However, caring staff, spacious and clean accommodation certainly went a long way to to easing our concerns.

The staff were attentive and friendly from reception to the cleaners. With four swimming pools there were always plenty of sunbeds available. The rooms were adequately equipped for self catering, and the balcony was surprisingly roomy.

The apartment complex is a bit of a maze and takes a while to become orientated. The apartments are good value for money but any 'extras' (for example, an iron) are charged for.

The beach and harbour in Puerto Mogan are about a ten minute walk away and is ideal for families as the water is lovely and calm thanks to the harbour protection. Eating out can be expensive but if you want something a bit more interesting there are some good restaurants, try La Bodeguilla Juanana and La Caracola.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the apartments and would recommend them to anyone seeking a friendly,charming resort, even without your luggage.

Room Tip: The upper floors are the better rooms and the nearer the central pool you are the better you get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrWatts69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Book-in was very quick, staff efficient and we were given a glass of cava too. I had e-mailed a few weeks prior to going to request apartment i343 [as per a reviewer's recommendation] and were given this apartment. It was very clean and had basic cooking facilities. I noticed the back rests on both the sunbeds on our balcony were damaged and maintenance came up straight away to fix them. Very spacious accommodation, cleaned to a high standard five times weekly, towels changed three times per week, beds comfy. The supermarket is a stone's throw away and sells everything you need. The walk to the beach/marina area [about 15 minutes] was pleasant and on the flat. Many nice restaurants to choose from there, our particular favourites being The Irish Tavern, The Zoo Bar [both good value] and La Brushchetta.

The downsides: It could be difficult to find your apartment [you are given a map] and there is nobody available to help with luggage. There are many lifts and steps and it can be confusing. Also there are no cushions on the sunbeds both by the pool and on the balconies and these are not very comfortable. If these few things could be put right I would give it 5 stars. It should also be borne in mind that this is a family complex so there are lots of young children and it can be noisy, depending upon where you are situated.

There was a manager's cocktail party whilst we were there and, on my birthday, a bottle of wine was sent to our apartment, a nice touch.

All in all, a lovely holiday and I would go there again.

Room Tip: E-mail ahead and choose a high floor, ask for a sunny balcony. Ground floor apartments tend to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EssexSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ludlow
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We really enjoyed this apartment. Clean with a large balcony. Staff good. Super market just opposite entrance. However the whole appartments are built on a hill and the lifts are all over the place so we would not recommend for people with walking problems. There seemed to be no help with luggage or to help people find rooms ect. No air conditioning was a pity. Entertainment poor but an evening walk into puerto was excellent .Eating places good but could be expensive unless you genuinly compared menus .and prices. No McDonalds.
Overall we would happily return for another holiday there.

Room Tip: best level i5. ASK for balcony because rooms around pool have limited outdoor space but they are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thehut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Cordial Mogan Valle is a great place to stay in Mogan. Lovely and big flats, clean and quiet, and friendly staff. We stayed there for the third time and will be back. Absolutely recommendable!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henning S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Just returned from these apartments after a 1 week stay and our first visit to Mogan. We were given room I626, located just above the snack bar which we had no problems navigating too, unlike others have mentioned.

As plenty has been said already about the facilities here there is no need for me repeat everything, except to say we had a very enjoyable stay and will definitely consider these apartments in the future as they ticked all the boxes.

The harbour area of Mogan is extremely pretty and we had some wonderful meals in the restaurants around the square. As we're not looking for late night entertainment or discos etc we felt this easy going place was perfect for a relaxing holiday.

There is a more upmarket feel here than other resorts on the island which is reflected in the price but worth it in our opinion as you get what you pay for!! We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Email the hotel in advance for any room requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Spent two weeks here in Sept 2011 and overall a most enjoyable holiday. We booked with Thomson and although they advertise in their brochure and website massive balconies with sun loungers, table, chairs and a shower we were allocated a six foot by six foot terrace...no room for sunloungers, hardly room for the table and totally enclosed by shrubs. This was despite the fact that we requested a high floor and Thomson even rang me to say my request had been past on.
The manager did however reallocate us to a higher floor when one became available and the rest of the holiday was great. He did say that NO request was recorded on their booking system.
I wrote a review on the Thomson site but to date they have not published it....not surprised really.
The relocated room was on the 6th floor with all the facilities advertised and the view was fantastic....sun all day.
My advice if you plan on going to this hotel is to request a high floor, but understand they are not guaranteed...you may have to request a relocation upon arrival if one is available.
There is a restaurant across the road from the appartments together with a first class indian restaurant.
Rooms on the higher floors are very quiet and relaxing, cleaning done daily.
Porto Morgan is beautiful. No discos or nightclubs, just bars and restauants by the harbour. Fantastic food and not crowded in the evening.
If you are looking for Blackpool with sun head for Porto Rico...went there on the ferry from Porto Morgan and couldnt leave quick enough.

Room Tip: Request a high floor. Floor 6 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robbietherover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mogan
0.1 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,050 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel The Puerto de Mogan
Hotel The Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
834 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#9 of 16 in Mogan
443 reviews
4.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mogan Princess & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Mogan Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Valle

Property: Cordial Mogan Valle
Address: Avda los Marrero 4, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Valle 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Puerto de Mogan, a fishermen area known as "Little Venice" by its visitors, just a few metres from the beach and from the colourful fishing quay and the marina, all surrounded by the beautiful and exuberant Mogan Valley. 303 Luxurious and broad apartments of one or two bedrooms covering a total surface of 35.000 Squared metres with subtropical garden adjacent to Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa.All the apartments have a living-room with kitchenette (microwave, coffee-machine, fridge, toaster, kettle), safe (for rent), satellite TV, direct telephone, bathroom and furnished terrace with private shower. There are ceiling fans in living- and bedroom.Half board including buffet breakfast and dinner with the possibility of having lunch instead of dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Cordial Mogan Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Valle Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Cordial Mogan Valle Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing