We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place for a holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cordial Mogan Valle
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a great place for a holiday”
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Myself, my wife and our 2 kids (5 &3) stayed in a double room for 12 nights in the beginning of July and we couldn't have asked for a better spot.
Check-in was friendly and efficient. It included the glass of bubbly or orange juice and the map to the room! Finding rooms can be a little confusing at first and I met a few lost souls. But if you have a look around you quickly get used to the layout and even find a few short-cuts.
The double room was excellent. It was clean and comfortable. The kids room had two single beds and we had a large double. There were two bathrooms ours was en-suite with two sinks and a large corner bath. The kitchen is well equipped. Turn the fridge up when you get there. Ours was initially set at 2 which is much too low for the climate. Kept ours up a 6 for nicely chilled food and drinks.
Cleaning was also friendly and efficient but don't forget these are self catering apartments so some sweeping and cleaning is recommended to keep the place nice.
We hired air-conditioning for 100 for the 12 nights. A great spend. It will only cool a small area at a time and the place heats up once turned off but it was great for the bedrooms to help the kids get to sleep or for chilling out in the sitting area on a hot afternoon.
Although there are 3 pools, we only used the one with the kids pool which was great, the kids loved it. There's entertainment each evening in the bar but we were usually back from dinner too late for this. It's on quite early as the place shuts down at about 11pm.
It is a nice easy stroll to the beach and harbour where we ate nearly every night. If you eat too much and fancy a taxi back it only cost us 4 euro.
We got hooked on one place called Bar Marina (Dennehy's) and I hope to review this and a couple of other places and activities we tried while in Gran Canaria so please check my profile for further reviews.
The Hiper Dino supermarket across from the apartments is very handy and should have all you need. Get there early if you want the fresh breads! The Spar towards town is great too but you can't beat the convenience of Hiper Dino.
To address the issue of ants and cockroaches, this is a hot island so they cannot be avoided completely. The locals all agree it is perfectly normal. A few ants came into the kids room on the first morning so we just bought an insect spray and treated the room. The odd one appeared after a couple of days so I just resprayed every 2 to 3 days to deter them. We had one large cockroach one morning as I had left the bathroom window open - just caught it in a glass and put it outside. You should see plenty when walking around town at night but again this is perfectly normal - they try to keep out of your way!
For nicer wildlife - the butterflies and birds in the gardens are plentiful and at night if you look to the sky you can see owls soaring. I don't know what breed they are but I spotted them nearly every night.
Please contact me if you would like further info on the apartments of the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KMDub33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    962
    942
    228
    47
    34
See reviews for
1,027
875
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed at Cordial Mogan Valle for a week and had a brilliant time!The lack of air conditioning in the room didn't bother us as we had the ceiling fans and kept the curtains and balcony closed when we went out to keep the rooms cool.The kitchen was excellent with a kettle,coffee maker,toaster,microwave and 2 hob cooker.There is also plenty of cuterly,plates,bowls,pans and even a tea pot and egg cups!The balcony was huge with 2 sun loungers and a table with 4 chairs.We also loved the outdoor shower!In terms of Pueto De Mogan it is a beautiful fishing village and we enjoyed walking to the beach and harbour for dinner.We had lots of cocktails in Zoo bar and the staff are very friendly especially Sam from Newcastle!We enjoyed the market on Friday morning and also went over to Playa De Ingles for a night out to Caz Bar.A taxi for 4 cost us 35 euros which wasn't too bad.In regards to the hotel entertainment it wasn't brilliant but fair play to the staff as they put a lot of effort into organising them.The 3 pools are great as well,we spent a lot of time by the infinity pool as it was quieter.The food from the snack bar was tasty too and we only saw a few cockroaches in the hotel premises and none in our room!

I will def be returning at some point!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JPSM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

These apartments are modern inside, have great self catering facilities, the balcony is excellent and the staff are friendly - but the lack of air-con makes them unsuitable holiday apartments for either couples or families from colder climates such as the UK.

We stayed during mid June, the first week trying to sleep was difficult, the second near impossible the rooms were extremely hot. We kept the ceiling fans on all day/night which as others reviewers have said just circulated the hot air, we also left the balcony doors open , but the only way to cool down was to go outside and stand on the balcony. We even tried sleeping on the balcony one night but this proved unsuccessful due to the noise from other people wandering around on their balconies (presumably with the same problem), others leaving to catch flights and the bin collection (approx 3.30am). If you closed the balcony doors for a couple of hours in the evening to go out and get a meal you returned to an oven and were unable to cool the room down for the whole of the night.

There is also a small problem with cockroaches, although the facilities are very clean we did have at least 2 cockroaches in the rooms. One in the bedroom which got inside my luggage and ran up my arm and one running around the living/kitchen . I also heard but never saw the one living in the bathroom.

Having said all this the holiday was not a disaster Puerto Mogan has to be one of the prettiest towns I have visited in the Canaries. There are plenty of places to eat at the harbour and the beach. You can visit other places too by boat (Puerto Rico) or bus (Mogan, Playa Del Ingles, Maspalomas and Las Palmas).

I’d return to Puerto Mogan again, but I’d never stay at the Cordial Mogan Valle Apartments – I’d stay next door at the Cordial Mogan Playa hotel, it may be more expensive but it has air-con...a must for Gran Canaria!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JHLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

The only good thing about this hotel is the size of the balcony, which for our trip was ruined when one of the deck chairs collapsed when sat on. When I went to reception to complain all they said was oh well to bad. And failed to replace it or look at it for around 12 hours. The layout of the hotel is hard to navigate and while the staff are friendly they did not know much about the local area or what there was to do. The service in general was slow. However the town itself was lovely and the area beautiful with plenty to do for all budgets. Would definitely recommend puerto de mogan just stay anywhere but cordial mogan valle.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pommy150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Stayed early June (which was low season and nice and quiet) with my boyfriend. Very impressed with the apartment which was spacious and modern. I would say that if you are staying in hotter months you might want to think about renting an a/c unit as the ceilings fans are not very effective. Unfortunately we had a bad first night experience when we realised our bed sheets were full of insects (suspected small cockroach species), however we think these had got into the sheets before they were put on the beds rather than the room itself. We went down to reception (at 12.30pm!) which took us a while to remember where it was as to start with the layout of lifts, etc is not easy to start with. They immediately moved us to a different room and gave us a bottle of sparkling wine the next day to apologise. After this the rest of our 9 night holiday was perfect. We mainly used the inifinity pool on the 3rd floor as this was quiter and had beatuiful views. Puerto Mogan is a quiet, relaxed and beautiful location. The Hiperdino opposite the apartments is very convenient. Don't be fooled by the 'shopping centre' also opposite. There were about 6 shops on the ground floor and an Indian Restaurant/Take Away on the second and that's it. Other units are unoccupied and the second floor is not even finished. A good shop on the ground floor is Natura and everyone loves the huge bear in the doorway! There is a big market every Friday that stretches from the shops near the beach all the way down the harbour.
It took us 10-15mins to walk to the beachfront. If you want to use the sunbeds on the beach they are 3 euros and parasoles are 3. Restaurants around the beach are cheaper than the ones round the harbour, the food is not out of this world with these but still good quality. Drinks can be quite pricey, one restaurant/bar charged 3.50 euros for a 350ml of fanta! We recommend El Faro restaurant which is right at the very end of the harbour, you can see it from the beach side and it has lovely panoramic views. We had lamb and steak which were excellent. If you want to do boat trips, the best place to go to is Puerto Rico as Mogan only does the submarine trip and fishing trips. You can also do parasailing and jet skis but these were expensive activities. You can get a ferry boat to Rico for 10 euros return although bus is 2.50.
We really enjoyed this holiday as it was quite and relaxing. If you want a nightlife go elsewhere. We would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Higher floors for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sparkles700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Norway, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was our (husband & I) first trip to Gran Canaria and we were very pleased with Puerto Mogan and this aparthotel. Our flat was a good size for the two of us with a generous sized bath and big balcony that was full of sun from early afternoon til evening (the sun was warm enough to sunbathe until about 18.30!) We spent the morning til early afternoon and one of the two quiet smaller pools; the third and largest pool is best for families with children.

Our the private transportation that was included in our package took 40 minutes to the quiet Puerto Mogan. We're not party people so the quietness suited us and we felt very safe there. Almost every night we strolled down the pedestrian street to eat at a restaurant (we recommend La Taberna del Puerto at the port, not the beach) for about 40 euro, including alcohol. Otherwise we shopped at HyperDino (open Sundays as well), the grocery store directly across from the hotel which was very reasonably priced (keeping in mind we are from Norway) and carries everything one might need. The flat's kitchen is well equipped for 4 persons.

We read about others difficulty with cockroaches, but we saw none. We had a brief problem with tiny ants in the bathroom that was solved by locating the tiny crack in the grout where they came from and stopping it with toothpaste. Oh, bring your own handsoap for the sink. Others are right -- the hairdryer is HOPELESS. Bring your own. Water presser in the shower was wonderful, but the pane of glass was too narrow to keep the floor dry.

The employees were all very friendly. Since we didn't know what to expect, our package included breakfast. The breakfast selection was wide and varied to make everyone happy. Maria at the omelette/fried egg station was very pleasant and taught me how to place my order in Spanish (even though she had it memorized by day 3).

Yes, there is no air conditioning, but for May, we were ok with the fans in the bedroom and living area. If it were any warmer, we would have had to rent one. It was a little disappointing to have to rent the room safe (14 euro/wk).

Two evenings were affected by noise from the British pub across the way showing a televised football game. It was so loud we could understand the announcer word-for-word from our balcony. The front desk said this was frequently a problem and could not be solved by them complaining to the pub.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ontheroad5056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We arrived at the hotel and were immediately offered a wonderful glass of cool Champagne. Check in was easy and the staff member, 'Marcelo' was so helpful and informative it was a pleasure to speak with him. Our apartment was not quite ready so we were given another glass of Champagne and invited to sit and relax. When the apartment was ready we made our way to it and found it easily. I was so pleased when we entered, the apartment was bright, well furnished and VERY clean. One of the best we have ever stayed in. Later that evening a complementary bottle of Champagne was delivered to us as an apology for the slight delay when we arrived. What a super customer related service. The whole stay was superb, the staff wonderfully helpful and the location and accommodation, PERFECT.

Room Tip: Be polite and don't demand things
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank esinedharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mogan
0.1 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,044 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel The Puerto de Mogan
Hotel The Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
831 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#10 of 16 in Mogan
441 reviews
4.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#1 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,107 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mogan Princess & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Mogan Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Valle

Property: Cordial Mogan Valle
Address: Avda los Marrero 4, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Valle 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Puerto de Mogan, a fishermen area known as "Little Venice" by its visitors, just a few metres from the beach and from the colourful fishing quay and the marina, all surrounded by the beautiful and exuberant Mogan Valley. 303 Luxurious and broad apartments of one or two bedrooms covering a total surface of 35.000 Squared metres with subtropical garden adjacent to Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa.All the apartments have a living-room with kitchenette (microwave, coffee-machine, fridge, toaster, kettle), safe (for rent), satellite TV, direct telephone, bathroom and furnished terrace with private shower. There are ceiling fans in living- and bedroom.Half board including buffet breakfast and dinner with the possibility of having lunch instead of dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cordial Mogan Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Valle Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Cordial Mogan Valle Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing