We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely excellent all round, cant wait to return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cordial Mogan Valle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stayed here for 11 nights from 21st April and had a fantastic time.
Our room (B810) was huge with an even bigger balcony & a view over the smaller pool. Very well equipped but ladies bring your own hairdryer as the one in the bathroom is useless. TV only has BBC World News and CNN as English channels and you have to ask for the remote control at reception on arrival. We hired the safe which is 14 euros for week or 2.50 a day. Maids were friendly and room was cleaned 5 or 6 times per week with towels changed 3 times and linen twice. Thy even put our washing up in to soak! There is no air conditioning although I believe you can hire a unit. The ceiling fans were mostly adequate in April/May but noisy at night and would have preferred aircon. Would recommend a higher room as these seem to have larger balconies, personally would not want to stay ground level with a very small terrace or just above with a small balcony.
The lift system was only complicated on our first day then easily found our way around mostly using the stairs.
Reception were very good, sparkling wine on arrival and always helpful with any queries we had. They also organised us to swap our dinner for lunch on a couple of days as we were on half board but wanted to eat elsewhere in the evening.
The buffet restaurant is great quality particularly breakfast with a wide choice of fruit, bread, cheeses, meats and cakes together with a range of cooked items. We loved the omelettes and fried eggs cooked fresh in front of you and the pancakes with bacon and maple syrup! The orange juice was actually not watered down and the coffee not like mud (if you want coffee without sugar get a long coffee and add your own milk as the white coffee is already sweetened). Dinner also had lots of choices with salads and soup as starters, fish and meat grilled in front of you, pasta and pizza, vegetables, hot food and a good selection of desserts including cheeses. You just order your drinks and pay for them at the end of your stay. Tiny bit overpriced - 2.10 for water, 2.50 for bottled beer and 9.75 for OK bottle of house wine, wine by the glass 6 euros and about 20 for a decent bottle. You can leave the wine with them though and drink over 2 nights if preferred. The restaurant staff were excellent, always professional and smiling.
There are 3 pools here and we used the smaller one on level G/H which seemed a bit quieter, never any problem with sunbeds or shade. There is the infinity one but was a bit too open for us and the larger one was quite crowded with families during our stay.
Did not use the spa as begrudged the 5 euro fee just to go in to use the jacuzzi, sauna or gym. The list of treatments we saw seemed quite expensive.
There was no real entertainment on offer apart from a minidisco for the kids which was always busy. We did play pool (1 euro per game) and there was table tennis and tennis available at a cost. The bar did not seem to be used by many guests in the evenings as all drinks were overpriced and the staff were quite miserable. However the snack bar during the day was reasonably priced with large portions and very friendly staff.
We usually went to the sportsbar opposite for a large beer at 3 euros and a few games of pool or walked down to the harbour area to Bar Marina, a friendly Irish bar/restaurant where you could get Guinness or Kilkenny for 4 euros. We sat and watched the Royal Wedding there and it was a lovely atmosphere.
Would recommend getting the ferry across to Puerto Rico, about half hour each way for 10 euros return. Did not think much of PR itself, too many timeshare touts and commercial centres, but OK for a few hours.
We did the Sioux City trip with our rep Thomas Cook but very overpriced at 54 euros, would not recommend. Nearly 2 hour journey in a very hot coach round those windy roads did not bode well to eat a BBQ and all inclusive drinks! The venue itself was OK with good entertainment but not really worth it.
Puerto de Mogan is a very pretty quiet relaxing place with lots of good restaurants and a variety of shops. La Bruschetta on the seafront is in our opinion the best restaurant, we had our wedding anniversary meal there and was perfect from start to finish, fantastic food and service. Some of the restaurants in the harbour area are quite expensive but all looked good quality.
The Hyperdino supermarket opposite the hotel had great selection of products so used that for water, wine, beer, soft drinks, fruit, icecream etc which we stored in the apartment.
We only saw 3 cockroaches during our stay on the walkway from the harbour to the hotel. Never anything in the room or hotel itself, everywhere was very clean and well kept.
Would have no hesitation in highly recommending this hotel and resort and will be going back again year after year!
ONE FINAL WORD OF WARNING ABOUT LAS PALMAS AIRPORT ON JOURNEY HOME! WE WERE CHARGED 32 EUROS FOR 4 KILOS OF EXCESS BAGGAGE, THEY ARE VERY STRICT AND WE COULD NOT GET OUT OF PAYING (however did overhear others on plane who did not pay so maybe we were very unlucky).

Room Tip: Higher rooms if you want a large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank TomSharon2005Farnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,564 - 1,570 of 2,345 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2011

Very nice hotel, staff very friendly, food very good (we had half board). Area quiet (Puerto de Mogan), but very nice. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrzesiekCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We booked through Miss Ellie's World Travel and they advised to go for the taxi option from Las Palmas airport. It was first class service with no waiting once we had picked up our luggage. There was a 45 minute drive to Mogan which was a beautiful drive through the mountains, being driven by a very polite driver. When we got there the receptionists were very amiable, offering some refreshments whilst the final paperwork was being done. From there, we were directed to our two apartments which were on the bottom floor, right next to the pool which we could basically walk straight out onto. The food is, quite simply, INCREDIBLE - if not repetitive at times. Nobody takes any notice of how much you eat of anything. Fresh steaks, fillets of fish and shish kebabs are grilled in front of you to order, along with just about every accompaniment you could wish for on the buffet section for the evening meal and unlimited full English breakfast and fresh pancakes etc for breakfast. When you've finished a plateful, one of the exceptionally polite and friendly waiters or waitresses will come and whisk your plate away, then you get yourself another one and pile it up again! If there's a downside though, it's that you have to pay for all drinks which are fairly pricey - stick to water though and you get better value for money. Then we come to the apartments themselves. Tastefully decorated with contrasting colour walls and paintings, there's an exceptionally homely feel around. TV isnt great quality but that doesn't really matter. Kitchenette is very user friendly, but does lack an oven if you wanted to do some self catering, although why would you with such an amazing restaurant?! Shower is the most powerful we've ever experienced, with the hot water never running out. Maid service excellent, with the rooms cleaned 5 times a week and beds & towels changed twice a week. Its about a 15 minute walk to the beach, but basically flat and we never walked there very fast really so you could probably do it a lot quicker - very nice beach it is too. The only wi-fi connection is in the reception area which is basically the biggest lounge area you're going to see in a long long time! Dozens of couches and swivelly chairs which gives some privacy if you want to FaceTime someone or something. We don't drink so couldn't really pass judgment on the bar, but there is live football shown on the big screen when its on which is a good way to spend an evening. There's also a pool and table tennis table outside, although you have to pay to play pool - it can get quite expensive and you haemorrage euros! Not a place for loud entertainment which was great for us, if you want peace and quiet it's the right place but if you want 18-30 entertainment, then look elsewhere. It's great for families and the staff in the restaurant are particularly good and accommodating to children.

Overall it was probably one of the best holidays that we've ever had - relaxing and completely stress free, which makes it a 100% must go for you!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sakwila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We were delighted with our stay. The quality of the staff and their customer care was superb as they were always pleasant, great fun with the kids, and nothing was ever too much trouble. The rooms were a good size, clean and quiet, There was a small kitchenette, which was quite sufficient as we were on half board so only needed little snacks. We were put in a terrace level room (rather than with a balcony) and it suited us as it meant we looked right out on the pool and we had easy access all day, rather than needing to pack up bags and food. The balcony rooms have more room with a generous balcony but are higher up - great for sunbathing and evening drinks if that suits you.
The restaurant food was very good. Considering that it is buffet style, it was still pretty good quality with a fantastic array of food and different choices every night. They also do fresh food cooked in the morning and evenings (we were only half board). The kids can choose their own and our 7 year old took great delight in getting his food at meal times.
The main pool was a good size but still easy to keep an eye on the children, though it was all one depth, so no shallow end for beginners. But people seemed to cope fine with float aids, and it encouraged others to get swimming. There was also a nice small pool for the babies and toddlers. The level of activities provided were just what we wanted, some pool side children's activities and some short events for adults such as aquagym and rifle shooting. A mini disco most evenings rounded off a lovely day for the kids. We did feel that the "animator" we had was particularly good and he was about to move onto another island, but the types of events were ideal for us.
The site is easy walking distance to the beautiful Puerto Mogan, where we swam, went rock pooling, enjoyed the tropical fish in the harbour and the flowers were heavenly. Lots of places to eat and drink.
We decided to hire a car, but there did seem to be good public transport, so worth enquiring about. Don't use Gold Car, as we were charged a huge amount of money for a full tank of petrol which we didn't use. Though at least the car was reasonable quality.

We highly recommend these apartments to any family looking for a quieter resort, with an emphasis on family enjoyment (rather than putting kids in kids clubs), with an excellent choice of good food and fantastic staff.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IsabelChurcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

I would be 'nit-picking' to find fault with these apartments.I agree with most,if not all, of the positive comments here. The majority of the staff were exemplary in their manner during our stay,the apartment was well up to standard with regard to cleanliness, and,despite not being to my taste with regard to decor, was certainly not 'tired' or in any way unacceptable.As an aside, I have what I could describe as a virtual phobia about cockroaches, and, having been to Gran Canaria in the past , know that they can be commonplace.That having been said,to my relief I didn't see a single one of the aforementioned creatures during my entire stay , neither within the complex nor elsewhere on the island during my week's stay.Fellow entomophobics(I had to look that up in the dictionary) you can sleep well in your beds, during april at least!.I hope everyone enjoys their stay as much as I did.

Room Tip: Higher floor,not on a corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tiddlesthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed for a week at these apartments on a self catering basis. Check in was quick and easy, our room easy to find (L243) but i can see how others may have had problems, its a massive complex with lots of lifts, stairs, corridors. The apartment was great, clean and spacious. Massive balcony with sun loungers, table and chairs - we quickly got into the habit of having an hour or two in the sun on the balcony each afternoon and also having a morning coffee watching the tennis in the courts below. Sound carried from nearby balconies during the morning / daytime, but it was never a problem at night and didnt affect our sleep at all. Beds were comfortable and room cleaned /towels changed 5 times during our 7 day staff. We are a couple with no children, but its clear that this is an accommodation suited to families too - the children all seemed to love the babies pool etc. Overall, very happy with the accommodation - my only complaint is that the pool bar needs more staff. I waited there for almost 30 minutes one day - couldnt blame the poor guy working there, just he could do with a buzzer to ring for assistance at busy times, or just put another member of staff on.. Plus all his equipment (coffee machine, ice chipper, sandwich maker) seemed to be very slow, which didnt help. We did use the spa facilities twice - the first time was fab, the second time, ok, but the floatation tank was too hot and despite me mentioning it to a staff member, it hadnt cooled down enough to use before we left the spa. Tiny nit-picking complaints really - we had a great holiday at this accommodation :-) PS - we hired a car and drove from the airport to Mogan - just be aware the road is a little hairy on the last section due to it running along the mountainside - its worse on the return journey from Mogan to the airport!!

Room Tip: overlooking the tennis courts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank racaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Very friendly staff ! We stayed for a week great for a relaxing break with children the room was a good standard and we had a great balcony with a table and chairs 2 sunbeds and shower and a very good view. The room was cleaned 5times out of seven and around the hotel was very clean. There was 3 pools one small and 2 big and one had a beach bar. There was also a snack bar good food and quick service. Stylish layout around the hotel especially in the lobby! Food shop 2mins opposite the hotel and beautiful Puerto de Mogan has amazing places to eat and they have fantastic food. Lovely harbour where you can get the boat and sea the dolphins. Its also worth taking a visit inland aswell. A fab holiday :)

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holidays043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Mogan
0.1 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#11 of 16 in Mogan
479 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puerto de Mogan THe Senses Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
4.2 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 67 in Puerto Rico
3,317 reviews
13.7 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Mogan Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Mogan Valle

Address: Avda los Marrero 4, 35138 Puerto de Mogan, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Puerto de Mogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Puerto de Mogan
Price Range: $65 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Mogan Valle 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Puerto de Mogan, a fishermen area known as "Little Venice" by its visitors, just a few metres from the beach and from the colourful fishing quay and the marina, all surrounded by the beautiful and exuberant Mogan Valley. 303 Luxurious and broad apartments of one or two bedrooms covering a total surface of 35.000 Squared metres with subtropical garden adjacent to Hotel Cordial Mogan Playa.All the apartments have a living-room with kitchenette (microwave, coffee-machine, fridge, toaster, kettle), safe (for rent), satellite TV, direct telephone, bathroom and furnished terrace with private shower. There are ceiling fans in living- and bedroom.Half board including buffet breakfast and dinner with the possibility of having lunch instead of dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cordial Mogan Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Mogan Valle Hotel Puerto De Mogan
Cordial Mogan Valle Puerto De Mogan, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing