We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous week”
Review of Mythos Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tigaki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mythos Apartments
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Tigaki
Certificate of Excellence
Barry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous week”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We were 3 adults travelling on 19th October for a week and as this was a last minute booking we were a bit apprehensive. We shouldn't have worried! The apartment booked had 2 bedrooms, and these were both the same size and really large compared to other Greek accommodation we have stayed at. Both apartments had doors onto the large balcony. The bathroom was a good size so no problems there. I cannot comment on the cooking facilities as we only ever made coffee. The apartments were well maintained and even though we were there the last week of the season standards were very high. The weekly barbeque was superb, well worth the money and we mainly ate in the restaurant attached to the hotel only because the meals were very varied, excellent quality and value for money. Most of the other restaurants had similar menus but as we were more than happy with the Mythos that's where we predominantly stayed. The one occasion we had a steak in the restaurant on the front we were very disappointed. The location is excellent. 2 minutes from the beach, bus stop and bike hire. 2 euros on the bus to Kos town which was beautiful. We went there several times and sat in the square watching the world go by. We also went to Bodrum for the day, booked with Thomson and that ran smoothly. I wouldn't advise anyone to do the evening sunset mountain trip unless like us you had an offer. Because we went to Turkey we had the mountain trip for 1 euro each! It would be cheaper to get a taxi it is only 10 minutes up the road from the Mythos rather than book it as a single trip with Thomsons! It was pretty quiet in general when we were there. Some shops and restaurants were closed already and as there are no night clubs it seemed to attract families rather than youngsters. The beach just went on for miles and wasn't congested. Pedal bike hire was popular and we walked miles but when we go back we will definitely be hiring them. All in all a brilliant week and we didn't see a single cloud. It was approx.25 degrees sunny all day for 8-9 hours and getting dark about 7 o'clock (ish). We will definitely be returning next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Avril T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    72
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
147
158
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
west mids
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We booked this late deal possibly the second last week of the season we had a 2 bedroom apartment (room 8). First impressions were not good, it looked as the door had an attempt to force the lock and the whole place stank of smoke.
As most of the other reviews state, these apartments are quite nice the staff are friendly enough , the meals are fine in the hotel restaurant. The self catering equipment was next to useless ,of the 2 hotplates one didn’t work and the smaller took about ten minutes to get anywhere near hot. The on site facilities are good so everything should have ok - WRONG .
We could not understand why we waking up with what we thought were mozzy bites on our legs and feet even though we hadn’t seen that many, my wife’s and daughters were especially bad. Towards the end of our stay my daughter even wore tights of an evening and still the bites appeared next morning. It wasn’t until the very last day when she started looking at bites on the internet, that was when she discovered the bed-bugs. All the signs were there exactly matching the description on the net. Having stripped the beds back we actually saw these little bugs for the first time and photographed them. We are still waiting a reply from the tour operator.
It was a real shame to find these little pests as all in all it had been an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Check the matress and change room if need be
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank joakki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

First time at Mythos Apartments. Not having taken a lot of interest in the booking and organising of this late holiday my heart was sinking as we drove down the main street of Tigaki. Flanked by taverna's bars and shops, at first glance, it didn't look that great. However , after entering Mythos itself I quickly changed my mind. Nice looking restaurant bar area and reception. Excellent pool area and our room (16) was great. As others have said we had a small eating area, small well equipped kitchen, good enough to cope with eating in all week if you are on a budget. Twin bunk beds and a rarity in Greece, a double bed in the main bedroom. Our balcony looked out over fields and we had a glimpse of the seashore from it. Got the sun every morning. Plenty of storage space for clothing etc. Another rarity in Greece, the windows and balcony windows were equipped with mosquito screens. How great is that? Having a strange aversion to being bit by the little monsters we travel with our own mossie net, we didn't need it on this occasion. Didn't actually swim in the pool, but have good reports that it was extremely cold. It is October after all. Again, as others have said, the poolside bar area is far too dark and that is a bit off putting. Another personal gripe of mine is the constant, unrelenting music. Mythos is no worse than many many others around the world, but why can't they build some breaks into it at least? Turn the volume down a tad or shock horror! Switch it off sometimes. I know this may make me sound like a boring old man but believe me, no one has their car stereo louder than I do, but there is a time and a place for everything. If you go I can recommend the barbecue/ quiz night. Plenty to eat and a drink included in the price and a great way to meet other guests. We had a really good night apart from the fact we were useless as a team. I felt that Mythos's restaurant was pretty good on the whole but there were much better in the town and not necessarily more expensive. We did have breakfast by the pool one morning and this was very good. The location of Mythos is excellent being around 200 metres from the beach on the main street, but the way they have built it we never heard traffic noise once. The acid question for me is Would I go back? Like a shot.

Room Tip: Think the rooms at the back maybe quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Grecophile262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We came here on a last minute deal for a very reasonable price for a week s/c. We are half way through the week and altho the weather has been hit and miss we are enjoying our stay. This is the first hotel ive come across where you are given a double bed rather than two singles pushed together and a free safety deposit box! Air con is not needed this time of year but is a resonable price too. The staff here are friendly and funny, clearly a family run business which is wonderful. The rooms are quite small but good, bathroom is good too. The tv is quite pointless as only has 2 channels and both news channels which isnt great but you dont come on holiday to watch tv. There are mosquito net doors which are helpful. We attempted the pool as was a blazing day, but was like ice water but still have a good tan on the way! I imagine this place to be buzzing during season times as the hotel is near alot of bars/tavernas and the beach is 2mins away. There is also a bus route on the street. But during the end of season its very quiet. I would definately recommend and come back, but next time in season!









Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank natz439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Had a great ten days in Kos at the Mythos Apartments. Best of both worlds with hotel/bar/restaurant/swimming pool, but also fridge, dining area, two-ring electric hob, kettle etc in room, which was serviced daily. Well located in the main Tingaki road and we had a quiet room with bedroom and balcony at the back of the hotel, complete with sea view. The apartment/hotel staff were very helpful, even setting up a "tab" for us so that we didn't have to settle our bar bill until the end of the stay. Thomsons rep (Calvin) was very helpful, and we enjoyed our day trip to the volcano island, as well as the (almost) free trip to Zia to see the sunset.
Highlights of the holiday - Walking up into the mountains and sitting on the terrace of a very good fish restaurant in old Pyli while watching the thunderstorm raging and the rain pouring down. As a result of the rain, seeing a beautiful flock of flamingos on the salt lake, which weren't there a few days before when we walked to Marmari.

Room Tip: Opposite the bar area is quieter as the bedrooms are at the back, and you have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simone J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is our second year at Mythos. Once again I can find little fault. The rooms and staff were excellent. The restaurant was very good as are many of the tavernas in Tigaki, there are plenty I am sure you will find many to your satisfaction.
A couple of minor criticism of Mythos is firstly the bar area is too dark and too open, especially for Quiz night and when the on shore wind blows in. Secondly the tv selection is very bizarre, 10 channels, 5 are news, 2 are German, 3 did not work. I dont go on holiday to watch tv, but occaisionally you have some quiet time.

Room Tip: Try for a room that is not ground floor as your balcony is slightly below ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happymaddison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

something we NEVER DO !! but the Mythos and Tingaki ticked all the right boxes last year we just couldnt find anything to match it, there is so much more of Greece that i want to see but we only had a week last year and i felt i hadnt had long enough to see more of Kos.

The Mythos couldnt be better situated, really !! we stayed in room 2 this time and had a balcony at the back, we got the sun first thing in the morning so having breakfast was lovely sat out there.

We tend to do the beach on day and the beach the next, the pool is lovely, clean and plenty of sunbeds, and a little grassy area if you want a little shade, the music from the pool bar is just at the right level, very relaxing.

The beach goes on forever ... nice to have a walk first thing in the morning before breakfast, paddling in the warm sea (it was warmer than the pool !!) the sea stays shallow for ages .. very safe. The sunbeds are so comfortable and the guys that hire them out are very friendly and helpful .. we paid 5 euro for 2. Look out for the doughnut seller .. "sexy doughnuts, yummy !! apple, vanilla and chocolate, very sexy doughnuts" what a character !!! they are delicious .. we had the apple one, and there are very filling !!! but worth trying.

There are plenty of good places to eat .. we didnt have a bad meal, some are better than others of course, try Meni out on the the front and turn right, it looks very posh, but the prices are not and the food and service is very, very good. We ate a couple of times at the Mythos own taverna, again very good. (we had their take out pizza a few times) and i can highly recommend them !! especially when you have had a long day out and just cant be bothered to get ready and go out, so we made a Greek salad, had a bottle of wine and had the pizza on the balcony .. bliss.

There is so much more i could say about the Mythos, but i think i said it all last year, it was nice to meet up with out friends from Newcastle that we saw last year and we also made friends with our friends from Leicester. Thankyou Costas for your smiling and helpfulness at the pool bar during the day. All the staff are friendly and very helpful.

I have a small complaint though .... the pool bar at night, far too dark. The BBQ is very very good, and so is the quiz afterwards, great fun !! but its too dark and we had to ask for candles !! which the rep got for us .. thankyou !! we remember we had the same problem last year. Thats all though.
The weather was a little unsettled for the first 3 days, but then it was back to around 25c and sun all day.
Thankyou Mythos for a great holiday.

Room Tip: ask for a upper floor, the views are excellent !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanette t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tigaki hotels
0.4 mi away
Marianna Hotel
Marianna Hotel
#7 of 23 in Tigaki
335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Akti Dimis Hotel
Akti Dimis Hotel
#5 of 23 in Tigaki
237 reviews
2.9 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tigaki's Star Hotel
Tigaki's Star Hotel
#9 of 23 in Tigaki
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
More Meni Beach
More Meni Beach
#10 of 23 in Tigaki
103 reviews
1.0 mi away
Zorbas Beach Hotel
Zorbas Beach Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tigaki
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mythos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mythos Apartments

Property: Mythos Apartments
Address: Tigaki, Tigaki 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tigaki
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tigaki
Number of rooms: 274
Also Known As:
Mythos Apartments Tigaki
Mythos Apartments Hotel Tigaki
Mythos Apartments Kos/Tigaki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing