We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mythos Apartments”
Review of Mythos Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tigaki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mythos Apartments
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Tigaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2012

The Mythos apartments exceeded our expectations. We can't find fault with anything. The staff are probably its biggest asset. Everyone from the maids to the owners mother are friendly and helpful no one there will pass you without saying hello. As mentioned already, Kostas behind the bar is a great host nothing is a problem a top bloke. All the staff made our stay one to remember.

The room we had was spotless, modern and looked brand new. The food in the restaurant was always fantastic, with hindsight we would have taken the half board package offered on arrival.

The tour rep Lee was a lovely guy, not pushy but helpful and there if you needed him.

All together we had a great holiday, if your reading this and think we want to go to Kos but are unsure where to stay. Then stay at the Mythos, for a relaxing holiday with lovely staff, great food and spotless rooms you can't beat it!

Room Tip: We had a top floor room with the balcony facing the pool. Some of the ground floor rooms were next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BruceWillis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 396 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2012

We got back yesterday from a week at the Mythos apartments and it's been a fantastic week. I've stayed in some fairly cheap places all over the greek islands and they're ususally much of a muchness. Having paid £200 each for a week self catering I knew what I was expecting. But how wrong was I! Instead of the usual leaky shower with no hook, no shower curtain and a manky drain cover, the bathroom was very clean with a bath and shower over, curtain provided and was big enough to prevent the room being drenched every time you went in there!

The kitchen facilities were sparse, but this is usually the case and people generally don't want to be cooking large meals anyway. There was a kettle (a bonus compared to other places!), a two ring hob and a few plates, bowls, and cups, but not enough had there been four of us, which our apartment slept. I'm sure reception would have provided extra if needed though. A toaster was the only thing I would have liked but it was hardly a hardship!

The rooms were very modern, light, kept extremely clean by the maids, beds were comfy and there was a hair dryer in the room. We had an aparment with a sea view so it was nice to look out over the beach whilst having a glass of wine on the balcony.

The pool area was in very good condition, the pool lovely and clean (if not a bit cold with the time of year!). Plenty of sun loungers for everyone even though the apartments were full whilst we were there.

The staff make the place, particularly Costos on the bar. Everyone though was very friendly and welcoming. It made for an exceptionally relaxing break.

Tingaki itself I can't make my mind up about. The beach was in bad condition whilst we were there. But everyone assured us this was unusual and we spoke to lots of people who return to the resort year after year. There had been a problem with a mountain of seaweed building up along the sea shore and rotting over the winter. Aparently this happens every year but when the weather changes in April it gets swept away and doesn't leave any sign of it. The weather had been different this year and not taken it but the council were working very hard to clear it with JCB's and trucks. I definitely wouldn't let that put me off going back as it was one of the best sandy beaches I've ever come across in Greece.

My only concern about the resort was that as we were there so early in the season I can't work out how busy and noisy it might get at high season. The Mythos apartments are bang in the middle of the town on the main street. This one street has lots of tavernas and bars and there were just the right amount of people for making people watching entertaining. In the middle of summer? It might just be a bit loud and overpowering.

We hired a car and went to most of the other resorts on the island and I have to say though that Tingaki certainly seemed the most pleasant.

The apartments are in a great location, right on the main street with a bakery opposite and two or three little supermarkets within a five minute walk. The beach is also less than 5 minutes away.

A perfect trip!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view unless you want to have your breakfast on the balcony looking at ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank TravellinggirlUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Have been staying in the resort of Tingaki for the last 14 years,We go to Kos every year,have stayed in the Mythos once, you can now only book the Mythos as part pf a holiday package and I book flights and accomodation seperately. But we have eaten in their Resturant night after night, in fact nearly every night that I have stayed in Kos on holiday.I have holidayed in Tinagki as a family and as a group of up to 28!!! The Mythos apartments are fantastic, they are central to the beach and the resort, Apartments are spacious, clean and as Greece goes, Modern. The Resturant that fronts the apartments is one of the best in Tingaki, whether thats for breakfast or dinner, breakfast is fantastic value, and lovely proper start to the day of sunbathing!!. The staff that are there have been there for years, and they remember the regular guests that return year after year, yes you have to pay for the air conditioning if you want it, but then you have to pay for it anywhere, yes the self catering equipment that is provided is fairly basic, but who goes on holiday to cook every night? The pool at the Mythos is clean and good,the sunbeds plentiful the staff lovely, the food is great and the cocktails and drinks decent. Sitting around the pool late afternoon enjoying a carafe of wine and the sun in comfortable chairs, with sun or shade. The rooms have a great layout, wardrobe space, plenty of hangers and electric sockets by mirrors ladies for the hairdryer,!!! The air conditioning works!! The maids come in every day, the beds are actually quite comfortable, the balconies whatever the view are fine. The water is hot, the towels and sheets are clean. They even do you a half board package ( on arrival) of breakfast and evening meal, from their full menu choice, which if with children works out to be very cost effective. The resort of Tingaki has enough to keep everyone happy, football in the bars, a few disco bars, a few chill out bars, you could take teenagers there and they would have enough bars to have fun, but stay safe. Couples and families too, only downside would be if you have small children there is a lack of playparks in the resort or places that you can sit and have a drink whilst the littleones are amused in the evening. The beach in Tingaki is amazing, 5e for two sunbeds and umbrella, matresses and pillows on the sunbeds, safe beach soft sand. Book trips with the many resort outlets, not the reps, you will pay a lot less.

Room Tip: The new block is lovely, but all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank dizzybedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I'm just back from spending a week in Mythos Apartments in Tigaki. We had a two bedroomed apartment with sea view. When we first went in the living area looked small in the kitchen. Quickly we realised the main sitting area was on the balcony which was very large and L shaped.
Both bedrooms were spacious and very clean, with comfortable beds.
The kitchen is obviously rarely used for cooking purposes but adequate number of saucepans if needed.
We took in fruit or cereal but ate in various tavernas in the area.
There was music from the bar but not too noisy, and the atmosphere was so friendly it was worth spending some time there.
We did not have any poor meals in Tigaki but particularly enjoyed Sagitarrius, and Scala. The first one, Sagitarrius is about 10 minutes walk up the road but worth the walk. Well decorated, clean and a very wide choice for the menu which included Indian Food. The majority of food was Greek and of a very high standard. Two course meal with wine for the two of us came to €30 including coffee. The service was first class, and very friendly.

La Scala by the main roundabout at the beach is well worth a visit open from breakfast through to dinner. You are made very welcome. Here it was a Greek menu with more than adequate choices. The house wine was very acceptable. You would not be disappointed in a meal in either restaurant.

Room Tip: Do not request a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank cypriotpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Make no mistake these are good apartments, in fact they are the best we have stayed at in Greece but there are some negatives so lets get then out of the way. If your looking for the self catering experience of cooking some meals yourself forget it! you are supplied with the bear minimum of utensils one very well used frying pan and a saucepan is all you get, there is no grill or toaster, maybe its the 2 euros they charge for toast thats the reason they are not supplied. There are three apartment blocks one is only two bedroom which overlook the pool area but the ground floor apartments are in fact basement level they have two large aircon extractors on the balcony and are half the size of the upper floor balconies and your view will be the back of the sunbeds, this block does not get any sun until very late in the day, all the poolside apartments also look over the bar area, which at night can get very noisy with the guests talking and the music,which if you want your windows open it can be very disturbing unless you wish to close them and put on the aircon, which will cost you 7euro a night which can be quite expensive. The BBQ night is a complete waste of money, we paid ten euro each it started at 8pm and we got there at 8.10pm, we had 2 mini hamburgers (and I mean mini) with no baps 2 chicken kebabs no salad or dips and some cold pre frozen chips. Now for the positives the best apartments are the sea view, the ground floor is garden view and waste land the 1st and 2nd floors are sea view, it is not worth spending the money on the poolside view. The apartments are spacious and very clean we had a double room which consists of two single beds being pushed together, plus two bunk beds in the front of the apartment, the sheets were changed twice a week,and the towels everyday except Sunday, the Thompson excursions are over priced, you can get the same deal in town for at least half the price, and the best restaurants are Meni which is next door to the Mythos and serves greek and Italian and Plori on the sea front for seafood. The location is great, the supermarkets expensive so bring what you can,

Room Tip: Best rooms facing block 2nd floor sea view, without doubt, right hand block mostly in the shade all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Steve1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

First trip to Kos, Thoroughly enjoyed it.
Tigaki is a lovely resort, no loud disco's, just nice bars and restaurants.
The Mythos apartments were very good, kept very clean, plenty of sunbeds, most day's there were only a couple of people in the pool at one time. The restaurant was very good and food at the pool bar. Full English was great. Met a few people on their eighth trip there, that says it all.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carlsberg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Great location with friendly staff.

Spacious clean apartment with a lovely balcony.

Would not hesitate to recommend this as a place to stay in Tingaki.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie_Dave58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tigaki hotels
0.4 mi away
Marianna Hotel
Marianna Hotel
#6 of 24 in Tigaki
352 reviews
2.9 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Akti Dimis Hotel
Akti Dimis Hotel
#4 of 24 in Tigaki
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
More Meni Beach
More Meni Beach
#10 of 24 in Tigaki
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tigaki's Star Hotel
Tigaki's Star Hotel
#9 of 24 in Tigaki
184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Hotel
Sunset Hotel
#13 of 24 in Tigaki
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mythos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mythos Apartments

Address: Tigaki, Tigaki 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tigaki
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tigaki
Number of rooms: 274
Also Known As:
Mythos Apartments Tigaki
Mythos Apartments Hotel Tigaki
Mythos Apartments Kos/Tigaki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing