We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tigaki's Star Hotel
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Tigaki
Certificate of Excellence
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location, good value.”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The hotel was made up of ground floor and first floor rooms set in attractive gardens. There were bananas, limes and pomegranates growing and pretty flowers and bushes. There's also a small chapel within the grounds of the hotel and to the rear was a natural salt lake and short cut to the beach. The rooms are basic but cleaned everyday and more than adequate for your needs. The only criticism if any was the shower, it was small with a shower curtain but it was impossible to avoid flooding the bathroom.
Breakfast was tasty and well stocked and I would agree with other reviews that the Greek yogurt and honey was amazing. There was also eggs, sausages, toast, cakes, cheeses/hams, cereal, juices, tea/coffee and bread rolls etc.
The hotel is set back from the main road of Tigaki although only a few minutes walk into the centre, I would imagine this would offer a welcome sanctuary in high season although in October the resort was fairly quiet anyway. The beach is also within a few minutes walk.
If I returned to Tigaki, which one day I'm sure I will, I would not hesitate to stay at Tigaki Star Hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    62
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
96
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nova Gorica, Slovenia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Family hotel, which is surrounded by a beautiful park. The staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast solid. Rooms quite spacious and clean. The hotel is 300 m from the beach with sun loungers and 500 m from the nudist beach. The hotel has a large swimming pool with free sun loungers. In Tigaki recommend Alikes restaurant, good food, good prices.We rented a car for three days (105 €) and see the whole island.Hotel recommended to everyone, especially couples. We'll definitely come back again to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank boris-tanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Myself, my fiancé, and a couple of friends spent a weeks holiday here. Very good price for the two rooms. Hotel staff were friendly, everything was kept very clean, we were very satisfied with our stay. Breakfast is continental but that is to be expected - food was good quality and plenty of it...especially the fresh greek yoghurt and local honey!! Large and deep pool and a pool bar, bar inside the main building. Lots of local information in the hotel lobby of places to visit. The hotel is set back from the main highway of shops/restaurants so is quiet at night times, but is only 5-10 mins walk to get into the main hustle and bustle of the high street. there is a back exit through the sand dunes onto the beach, again about 5 mins (or less).
Each room has its own little patio to sit out in, and most have a little washing line. The whole site is very wheelchair friendly, which was pleasing to see.
Only downsides were the TV signal wasn't great (but who sits and watches TV when you're on holiday and its gorgeous weather outside?!) and the bed was quite hard (we are all well travelled and we all said this was the only slightly annoying thing). Over all really decent accommodation for the price we paid, and we would definitely stay here again!!! :) had a fantastic holiday!!! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannah821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesce, Slovenia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This family run hotel offers you everything that you are looking for in a great vacation. The location is great, next to the beautiful town of Tigaki with its bars and restaurant, very near to one of the most beautiful beaches in Kos and a amazing family, who runs this place. This is not a 5+ deluxe luxury hotel - but it can offer you much, much more. It's a place, where you feel welcome and like home. And it is for sure a place, where you will love to return again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina_Justin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Me and my gf book this hotel thru vacation agency in Slovenia, otherwise we usually using booking.com and comment on their sites, but this time I need to comment it here.

Hotel has a nice exterior, pool is very large and the food is fine in outdoor restaurant. There are lot of flowers, palms, etc....

The location is not the best, beach is 500 metres or 8-10 minutes walking distance away, centre of the town Tigaki is also like 400 metres or 6-8 minutes walking distance away.

The young reception girl is friendly and helpful (I didn't remember her name), the other girl which is few years older is unfriendly and bored.

Rooms are spacey and balcony can give a you privacy and fine look to the sea, park or lake. Rooms are very quiet too. I especially need to compliment the cleanliness and the maid.Every day they clean the room very good and did nice motives with sheets on the bed. I usually book 4 or 5 star hotel and the cleanliness isn't on such level like there.

Cons of the room are: towels had chlorine smell, air condition wasn't strong enough to cool down the room, beds was extra uncomfortable, same the pillows. Bathroom is small and the shower had to short curtain, so we had flood on every showering. TV is too small too watch, quality of cable TV signal was low. Fridge was frozen on our arrival, so i couldn't made ice (I melt that ice than with hair dryer and than was working fine). Sometimes their canalisation indoor and outdoor the complex had bad smell.

Anyway it is a nice hotel for the price u paid, but for the comfort of the guest they are going to upgrade some things too, I was feeling fine during my vacation but definitely I wont come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ganadox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were 6 adults and 1 baby and really enjoyed staying at that hotel. It is close to the center of Tigaki (approx. 5min. walking time) but as it is not in the middle of the bar/restaurant area it is a very quite place. Perfect for relaxing vacations. The pool is very large with a nice bar where you can eat good snacks. The bar tender Janis is very friendly and attentive. We can definitly recommend his excellent cocktails! The rooms are ok and what we have expected for that price. The cleaning service was done on a daily basis (except Sundays) and was really good. There are only 2 things that could be improved: no WLAN (internet available at computer stations in the lobby only for 2Euros/30min.) and the breakfast was basic and could vary more often. But overall a great place to stay as it is close to Kos Town and Tigaki itself offers a good varity of good restaurants and a nice beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

As above, we went on a budget so you get what you pay for, however I do think the hotel can do so much more to make the stay more enjoyable. See positives and negatives below:

- the shower cubicle is too small and curtain useless, bathroom floods every time. Shower hook loose from wall so shower head fell on my head a few times (painful)
- the door to our room had expanded and as a result was rubbing against the floor... It was a noisey struggle to get into the room
- the air conditioning clearly needs more regular servicing, it smells awful when turned on (it is effective though so luckily you only need it on for a short period of time)
- the bed is the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept on
- no Brits, all other guests were German
- signage in the breakfast room is in German (for the reason stated above) so not great for a Brit
- no toaster at breakfast so you have to toast your bread in a sandwich maker
- walls are very thin so you can hear everything from the rooms adjacent

+ the location is perfect for couples, pretty quiet and only a 5 minute walk to the main strip for lovely restaurants and a 10 min walk to the beach
+ hotel pool relaxed and quiet, with no fight for sunbeds which is lovely
+ hotel pool and grounds are maintained very well
+ pool bar has good lunchtime snacks on offer
+ great location for exploring, rent a quad or scooter and you can explore the entire island which is breathtaking! The mountain village of Zia is 20 minute quad drive away and is so stunning to watch the sun go down at one if the restaurants

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GMW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tigaki hotels
0.4 mi away
Marianna Hotel
Marianna Hotel
#6 of 23 in Tigaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
3.1 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Akti Dimis Hotel
Akti Dimis Hotel
#5 of 23 in Tigaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Smartline More Meni Beach
1.2 mi away
Zorbas Beach Hotel
Zorbas Beach Hotel
#2 of 23 in Tigaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fili Apartments
Fili Apartments
#11 of 23 in Tigaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigaki's Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigaki's Star Hotel

Property: Tigaki's Star Hotel
Address: Tigaki, Tigaki 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tigaki
#8 Family Hotel in Tigaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tigaki's Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tigaki's Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigakis Star Hotel
Tigaki's Star Hotel Kos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing