We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality budget accomodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marianna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marianna Hotel
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Tigaki
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Good quality budget accomodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

Having read good reviews here we were looking for a week in clean pleasant accomodation on a budget. The trip started on a bit of a disappointing note as despite having emailed in advance to ask for a room on a high floor (I was travelling on my own with a 3 year old and was worried about security) I was given a ground floor room. However, I soon found out that we were in a pretty safe place so it ended up being ok. The ground floor is actually sub pool level so feels a bit like a basement. I paid 42 euro for air con but in hindsight probably needn't have bothered as the room was cool even without it. The apartment was very spacious and clean. It had a flat screen TV which offered BBC news and a Polish channel with English music videos. The catering facilities were non-existent so only used the kettle and the fridge. There was a new microwave but it seemed weird to use it without any other catering facility. It was no matter though as the pool bar had reasonably priced and nice breakfast/ lunch food and we sampled a variety of the restaurants for dinner. The pool was lovely as others have described and there weren't any issues with getting sun beds. The area didn't open til 8.30 so it wasn't like anyway could reserve one at the crack of dawn. It's great for kids with free toys and inflatables. There were some lovely fellow guests and no chav element. 3 young couples did come on our last day and were playing annoying chart music through a tinny idock over the top of the pool bar music but we were on our way by then. The bar at the front of the hotel is lovely, classy and chilled - the caprioska cocktails with limes were lovely. It was really nice to have a last drink of the night there and my little one was made welcome. Tingaki is an ideal family resort. There are bars open till the wee hours but no nightclubs so if you want to go to bed early you won't get disturbed. It is about 700m to the beach along a straight road - my 3 year old could walk it a few times a day. The beach is gorgeous. We tended to go down about 4.30 when it was cooler and you didn't have to pay the 3 euro for a sunbed. The sunsets there were lovely. There is a little train which leaves the beachfront and takes you on a tour to neighbouring villages. I loved Micky's bar - an aussie bar on the beachfront - good cocktails, a library and internet access.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank joolzpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    86
    25
    11
    2
See reviews for
75
184
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed at the Marianna studios from August 18th - August 25th 2011. It was lovely, tha partment was so clean, it was basic but had everthing that we needed. The pool area was great and even in August we could always find a sunbed. The apartment are about a 15 minute walk to the beach and there are several restaurants to choose from in the 'high' street. We took a couple of trips, one up to Zia to watch the sunset and one to Nyssiros the volcano island, we hired bikes one day and took the bus (2euros each way) into Kos a couple of times. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and the bar area is lovely in the evenings. We did pay the extra and have air conditioning which was essential if you want to sleep as the temperature was in the high 30's. Would definately return thought it was very good value for money.

Room Tip: Pay for air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Myself husband and 10 y o daughter have just returned from here 21/8 - 28/8 we booked independently and Maria was very helpful in her emails etc and we felt the price was good. Apartments are very clean , they are quite basic, we were on the middle floor I would def recommned middle or top floor. Our apartment was cleaned daily and towels changed mid week , bedding changed probably twice I'm not sure to be honest. Snack bar near pool we only had drinks there but food looked good, lovely bar on the front of apartments that opened in the evening very chilled atmosphere, Supermarket close by Konstantinos which had a huge choice and we looked at the other supermarkets prices it seemed a bit cheaper at Konstantinos ( looking at apartments its to the left past saigitarrius). It took us 10 - 15 mins to walk to beach, bus stops nearby if you want to get out and about , lots of very good restaurants. We had a fab time ! my only slightly negative comment is that we didnt find everyone friendly at the apartments I know others have said Maria etc lovely which she is but we did think some of the other staff could have cheered up a bit.

Room Tip: ask for a room on middle or top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

for self catering you wont get better for staff service clean rooms pool side spottless the owners maria and vas to the maids stella at pool side bar lovely friendly people upstairs bar on entrance best bar id been in the whole strip really nice take no notice of the no sun after 4.00 afternoon plenty of beds just move to other side sun all day long all in all you get what you pay for this place is above average for the price one more thing got drunk left my wallet in room forgot about it 2000 cash inside credit cards my wallet wasleft under my pillow by kiki the maid nothing missing what more can i say you can trust this family run hotel top marks go back of course we will see you soon gary toni london

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gchalkscaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

We have just arrived home from a week long stay at Marianna, and we were thrilled with the studios. We booked very last minute, so weren't really sure what to expect, but the reviews on here turned out to be spot on and we had a great week!
The studios are spotless, as are all the common areas, and rooms are cleaned to an amazing standard 6 days a week. On first glance it may seem that the pool area is quite small, but in reality it is more than ample. Even at the busiest times of the day we never struggled to get a sunbed, and the pool was never overcrowded. The snack bar has a wide range of snacks at very reasonable prices and is open throughout the day.
The location of the hotel is great- only a 5 minute walk to the beach along the main road in Tingaki, a large supermarket a few doors away, and the best restaurant in the area next door (Sagitarrius). It is located at the quiet end if the street, so is perfect if you fancy a quiet night during your stay.
One of the highlights for us was the bar at the front of the hotel, It is decorated in a very modern way, with lovely furniture and a great atmosphere. The cocktails were the best we had on the island- get the bar man to mix you a strawberry daiquari and you won't be disappointed!
The staff at Marianna are all friendly and helpful, and we would not hesitate to return. A great hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nics7983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

Stayed from 20th August for one week and thought apartment basic but very clean and overall just had all required , air con was 42 euro so instead had fan for 15 euro which was ok , room had shutters, mosquito blind and glass doors so secure and we had ground floor 103 with small terrace which was lovely
in evening , I'd rate this hotel as
brilliant and although at top of
street in Tigaki was short walk to
bars/ tavernas, best place to eat
was o nearos which did fantastic mushrooms in garlic sauce !!. Another place to see was the rendevouz bar with a lovely owner who gave free shots and a very likeable guy working there called Colin the Welshman , brilliant entertainment and felt so welcome - even allowed to watch celeb big brother whilst footie on other tv's :-) . Tigaki is a great place and well deserves a visit, beach to die for , good shops , friendly locals and very clean apartment if your at the marianna .
was O neoros which had garlic
mushrooms to die for !! . Tried all
others off trip advisor and prices for
beer / meals fair . A must is go to the rendezvous bar with Colin the Welshman who


to the rendevous Bar and seeColin the Welshman who was brilliant , we were given drinks on the house by owner and all in all this bar and Tigaki well brilliant . From

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angledangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

We arrived at the accomodation and were allocated our room. It was 2 bed studio not the land view one bedroom apartment suitable for 3 persons that we had paid an extra £30 for.I immediately went to see the receptionist and she advised us there were no apartments available as they were fully allocated however she did take me downstairs to a basement apartment and showed me the comparison, not the point - I had paid for an apartment with peaceful view and a separate bedroom with more space. She offered us an apartment above reception on the main road at the front of the building but we would not be able to have it until 3 days later. As this was not what we paid for we refused that as it would have meant moving half way through the week and we had paid for the peace and quiet of the land view specifically having read about the noise issues in advance of booking through reviews of Trip Advisor. If you do pay extra for a land view apartment you may not get it! .As for the accomodation, it was basic, adequate and fine for a week but there is plenty of alternative choice in Tingaki nearer the beach and away from the noise of the main road.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tigaki
0.4 mi away
Tigaki's Star Hotel
Tigaki's Star Hotel
#8 of 23 in Tigaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akti Dimis Hotel
Akti Dimis Hotel
#5 of 23 in Tigaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
2.8 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fili Apartments
Fili Apartments
#11 of 23 in Tigaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
5.5 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
0.9 mi away
Zorbas Beach Hotel
Zorbas Beach Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tigaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marianna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marianna Hotel

Property: Marianna Hotel
Address: Tigaki 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tigaki
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tigaki
#9 Family Hotel in Tigaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marianna Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marianna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marianna Studios Tigaki
Marianna Studios Hotel Tigaki
Marianna Hotel Kos/Tigaki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing