We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again a fabulous holiday”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tigaki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayflower Apartments
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Tigaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Have just returned from our 4th visit to the Mayflower and it was still as fantastic as the first time. Our apartment was in the annexe block which is really lovely amongst all the trees and flowers and fairly peaceful apart from the cocks crowing at all hours of the day and night. Don't think Greek cocks have alarm clocks !. The welcome from the family was, as always, great and you feel like part of their family too. Debbie was her usual funny and charming self and her cooking is fantastic.
Nothing is ever too much trouble and the cleaning ladies do a great job.
This year we tried a different restaurant called Ikaros which is right on the beach to the left of the roundabout. Really good food and atmosphere and great views across to the islands. That end of the beach is better too as not so crowded as the main one.
We went on one of the trips, fish and grill, which was very entertaining although we didn't catch any fish! Just as well the BBQ doesn't rely on you catching anything otherwise we would have been very hungry .
We met up with some friends we'd made from a couple of years ago and also met other people who we'd seen at the mayflower before, which just goes to prove how popular the place is as so many go back.
We can't wait to go again next year.

Room Tip: All of the apartments are excellent but the ones facing the mountains have more interesting views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 276 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

Went to the Mayflower because of the reviews that have been posted on here and they were all right. We have been going to Greece for many years now and this is maybe the best apartments we have ever stayed in, clean,comfortable,friendly,good food served even into the evening if you didn't want to go out, the BBQ and Greek night for 12e was well worth it plenty of lovely food and good entertainment. Christos makes fantastic cocktails in the evening especially the Mojito. This won't be the last time we stop at the Mayflower we would defiantly go back again

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 1yorks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed here last week and had a wonderful time - so much so we have booked again for 2 weeks next June!

We were were met by the Thomson rep Beckie on our first morning - she was really friendly and helpful, and had some great restaurant tips which we followed up on.

The hotel is perfect for couples or anyone wanting clean accommodation in a peaceful setting - perfect for relaxing. With only 22 rooms, it never feels busy or overcrowded. The pool is wonderful - just the right size, and the warmest water we've known for an outside pool. There are plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas, and if it gets too hot, you can grab a chair in the shade or even in the lounge by the bar. The pool and bar area has a good free Wifi connection.

Our room had a balcony from the lounge, and another from the bedroom, overlooking the pool. The balconies have a table and chairs so its a perfect place to watch the sun go down and do a spot of star gazing. The kitchen area of the apartment had a sink, fridge, microwave, kettle and toaster. The living area had 2 sofas, a small dining table and chairs and a small tv. The bedroom had 2 twin beds, which were a little on the tough side. The shower in the bathroom was very powerful and refreshing.

The rooms were very clean and were cleaned daily.

The bar is well stocked with 2 local beers (lagers), lots of spirits, a separate fridge with chilled favourites, and a cocktail menu. The bar manager Christos (who can speak quite a bit of Welsh!) does a wonderful job and makes great cocktails. The bar is open until 2am each night, and is a great place to socialize with other guests on returning from dinner at one of the many fabulous local restaurants. He plays good music in the background and is happy to take requests. Oh and the beer glasses are chilled!

During the day Elia and Debbie are great hosts - they work very hard and nothing is too much trouble. There's an extensive menu available of freshly cooked food (except the chips which frozen but still nice) - they serve a range of pittas filled with all sorts - bacon and egg, beef burger, tuna salad - they are really good. And the meatballs are amazing. Also try the freshly squeezed orange juice. And there's ice creams in the fridge!

The BBQ night is really good - a chance to dine in for a change. For 12 Euros per person, you are treated to a plate of lovely food, followed by Greek dancing. Don't sit too close unless you don't mind being roped in!

The local supermarket - Konstantinos - is a 10 minute walk away and has everything you could need. Just don't make the same mistake we made by carrying heavy bags of shopping and water back to the hotel at midday in the intense heat.

There's a great local bakery about 10 minutes walk away which is really well worth visiting, for bread, cakes, pastries and ice cream.

The main strip that has all the bars, shops and restaurants is around 10 minutes away. There are lots of restaurants, and from what I hear, most are pretty good. We've added separate reviews for these, but recommend Ikarus (turn left at the roundabout, pass Plori and just keep going for another 3 or 4 minutes - well worth it), Plori for fish and 7 Dayz for great mezze (Greek tapas). What's nice is that all the restaurants greet you as you walk by, but don't pressurize you to come in.

We took a bus to Kos town (bus stop outside supermarket) - just 2 Euros each and 20 minutes to get there. And we went on a trip to the hillside village of Zia - the views and sunsets are stunning. Try the home made lemonade at The Watermill - at the top end of the town - lovely.

So thanks to everyone at the Mayflower for a wonderful holiday, and to the lovely guests we met there too (Tracey and Martin, Dave, Christine and husband, Michael from Tenby and family and his great granddaughter 'Tia Maria'!)

See you next year!

Room Tip: Room 205 - 1st floor at the far end - quiet apartment and great views from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy_and_Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Yet again we had another memorable hoiiday with all the ingredients! With our family, grandson and wife Chris & Vikki and great grandchildren Tia & Cody, lovely hotel in a setting everyone there agreed was ideal, and of course our hosts Elia, Costos, Christos, Debbie and all the staff who have become good friends over the years. Two couples we met on their first holiday at the Mayflower said they were going to book next year for a return to their 'holiday that exceeded all we wished for'! The ambience, setting and family friendliness of Elia and her family and staff, fellow guests and variety of people whose ages ranged from 2-3 year olds to 80 plus all enjoying taking part in or watching families having fun makes for relaxation, enjoyment and creation of memories that will last. We (our family) we're fortunate to find a hotel our family members have returned over the years since 2002. My wife and I have holidayed in many countries in hotels of 5star rating, on luxury cruise ships and have had as many as 4 2 week holidays in one year and the Mayflower is up there with the best. It's a clean and basic hotel,a very well kept swimming pool, loverly grounds and very friendly hosts and staff. Our two weeks in June have yet again given us lasting memories which we can share with all our family through their experiences by video and photos. We all recommend the Mayflower for a great holiday to recharge your batteries for the rest of the year. The Greek night with BBQ is great!

Mike & Joan

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are sheltered from the sun till gone noon, the mountain view rooms are quieter and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Spent a lovely week at Mayflower apartments end May, beginning June this year. Weather bit mixed but the apartment was lovely and clean and the staff very friendly and always there to help. Christos met us on arrival, quite late at night and just showed us straight to our apartment, no hassle with checking in - that waited until the next morning. The reception, gardens, pool area and snack bar are kept very clean. Excellent company in the bar each night which also helped make our stay very enjoyable.
Howard & Julie Larkin

Room Tip: We prefer sunshine on our balcony in the mornings - so the apartments looking onto garden/mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DarlingbudsWigton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed at the mayflower apartments for 2 weeks at the beginning of June,we arrived late at night very tired and christos was very helpful getting us settled in and also gave us some milk for our baby boy and our cups of tea the following morning,the staff at the mayflower are more than helpful and they make you feel like part of the family,they have a lovely very timid little dog called May and she and our daughter made the best of friends during our stay,tingaki town is a 10 minute walk from the mayflower and has lots of bars and restaurants to choose from,we had a favourite which was Sagittarius the staff there are very welcoming and the food was amazing especially the mixed grill,all in all a fantastic holiday so much so that while we were there we booked up for this year in the mayflower my wife's parents are coming with us this year because we told them how much we loved the place,see u on the 4th of June,christos,Elia and family,best wishes the fawcett family :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stufawcett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Spent a lovely and relaxing 2 weeks in the May/June sunshine. The staff were lovely and very friendly. Our apartment overlooked the beautiful fields and mountains and was right at the other end of the building, so no noisy people walking past the door in the early hours of the morning. The apartment was basic but very clean and we had fresh towels and bedding every other day. If you are planning on using the room to make your own breakfast and cups of tea, make sure you bring your own dishcloth and washing liquid as these were not provided. The pool area was pretty quiet for the 2 weeks we were there, so there was always plenty of sunbeds free. The town and beach are only a 10 minute walk away with plenty of restaurants and bars. There is a local bus to Kos town (2 euros each way) with plenty of shops and the beautiful castle ruins. Even though there is a time table, the bus does arrive whenever it likes, so make sure you don't plan to get to Kos Town for a certain time. The sunset evening in Zia is a must - would definitely recommend Taverna Oromedon. The food there was excellent, as was the view and service. The waiters came round with jackets for the ladies who got a little chilly once the sun had gone down. We also went on the volcano experience which was lovely, but maybe not for those who aren't steady on their feet as the walk down to the volcano is a little dangerous.

So overall, a perfect place to go for a relaxing and laid back holiday but plenty to do on the days you feel like exploring the island.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a mountain view. The swimming pool view was quite noisy in the morning (according...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Minnie192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tigaki hotels
0.3 mi away
Marianna Hotel
Marianna Hotel
#6 of 24 in Tigaki
352 reviews
2.9 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Akti Dimis Hotel
Akti Dimis Hotel
#5 of 24 in Tigaki
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tigaki's Star Hotel
Tigaki's Star Hotel
#9 of 24 in Tigaki
184 reviews
0.7 mi away
More Meni Beach
More Meni Beach
#12 of 24 in Tigaki
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Hotel
Sunset Hotel
#13 of 24 in Tigaki
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayflower Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayflower Apartments

Address: Tigaki 85300, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tigaki
#1 Family Hotel in Tigaki
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Mayflower Apartments Tigaki
Mayflower Apartments Hotel Tigaki
Mayflower Apartments Kos/Tigaki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing