We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find another hotel”
Review of Ilios Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ilios Hotel
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Tigaki
diss
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Find another hotel”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We have just got back from an all inclusive holiday at this hotel. The Hotel is clean and the majority of the staff are friendley and helpful. The hotel itself was ok nothing luxurious, but then for the money we knew it wasnt going to be, what we didnt expect was to have to go into to town everynight to eat because the food was awful. When you pay for all inclusive you expect edible food and a variety of drinks. There was no fresh vegetables at all, i was hoping to eat lovely fresh fruit for breakfast, you got tinned apricots!! (you could eat fresh melon for lunch) The choice was so limited and all food had been cooked for so long even my children refused to eat the food, and they are not fussy eaters. The all inclusive drinks are a joke, watered down beer, ouzo, cold red wine or warm white wine and paint stripper of a brandy. If you wanted vodka, whisky etc you could purchase them for three euros. Limited soft drinks. There are no snacks served in the afternoon as with other all inclusives we have been on. We ended up spending a lot of money which you dont expect to have to do when it should all be in the package you have paid for. There is no entertainment within the hotel for adults, again we would walk into town for this. They do have a limited childrens club. We met a lot of people that said the same as us. We met a family who had been there for two weeks, they were so excited to be going home and a family that had another week to go and wished they were going home. This could be a very nice hotel if they could just get the little things right, the food needs a total overhaul and the drinks package needs to be looking at too. I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tad1tad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    76
    54
    25
    19
See reviews for
82
74
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2011

I went on this holiday not expecting much after reading some of the bad reviews on this site. I was pleasantly suprised. I'll admit that it should be called Full board with drinks as opposed to All Inclusive, but everything else was perfect. Rooms were clean, food was nice although it was a bit samey, but this often happens with all inclusive hotels. Pool and beach fab Plenty of loungers. Plenty of excursions. People were nice. No mosquito problems, just sprayed some mossie stuff on ourselves in the evening and had no problems. Please don't be put off. For the money we paid, this was a really lovely holiday.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 363Cymraes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

just got back today (24/08/11) after two weeks, i agree with everything that http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/members/Budgyb has posted.

bad points

food although fresh could do with being a bit more varied
Not enough entertainment (did have a kids club, but nothing for the adults!!!)
beds and pillow were hard
no ice cream for the kids ( you had to pay)
no vodka ( you had to pay)
gym could do with some new machines
swim up bar was closed (shame looked nice)
queuing for a drink (only allowed 2 at a time)

good points

the staff are some of the best i have come across very helpful
room cleaned every day apart from Sunday
fresh towels apart from Sunday
bus stop right outside the mini market (good for Kos town 2 euro each)
pool nice and clean
loads of sunbeds ( still get the Germans putting towels down!! )
if your not in the main hotel you have a fridge, toaster and a kettle all rooms have a tv

hint and tips

SMILE and have manners...these cost nothing and get you alot!!
if you want a hire car go to reception they will sort it for you (small car for one day 50 euro)
get your supply's from the big super market up the road much cheaper
does not cost much to eat out if the food gets a bit tiresome 25-35 euro for 2 adults & child
Sagittarius is super! but there are a quite a few along the strip
paradise beach (bubble beach) is lovely
we had a Mossy machine that we brought with us (you can get these at the supermarket for about 4 euro, well worth it )
go for the air con

Dont go thinking all-inclusive

Think full board with drinks

all in all not a bad place

this review is my genuine opinion of this hotel,

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thrapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We nearly changed hotels but sooo glad we didnt, the hotel was spotless and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Especially Dimitri, Florin and Eugene. The food was beautiful, a bit repetitive but very tasty. There was 2 pools and the whole area and grounds were well kept. Our room had a private balcony and a lovely view. The drinks were good too just not much of a selection. There was a bus going to the beach 4 times a day. The beach was lovely and sandy and very clean. There was a bar in Tigaki called Rendezvous which had something on nearly every night and very friendly and a guy from wales called Colin worked there who was funny on his quiz nights. If you go there you must go on the Greek night to Zia to the fantasia restaurant. Angela hotel did a fab english breakfast for 5 euro (main street Tigaki). Also went on the 3 island cruise which was great well worth the day out. I would definately recommend it, it was a lovely hotel and very accommodating, enjoy your time there. Sharon & Paul

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We were unfortunate enough to have booked a week at the illios for our honeymoon, big mistake!
On arrival, we were shown to our room by a young obnoxious man.
The room that they expected us to stay in for a whole week had no balcony, as promised, no terrace, as promissed in fact it didnt even have a window! therefore, no natural light what so ever!
The smell as we entered the room made us feel fisically sick.
The wardrobes and all the cupboards and drawers, were full of old clothes, shoes, toileteries and other rubish!
It took us 24hours of trauma and upset to finally get moved to a proper hotel ! Not the best start to our honeymoon.
If you are thinking of going, DONT!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank angelajohn800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tigaki hotels

England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We chose this holiday as a last minute trip to the sun, it was cheap and we really didn’t expect a lot.

The good bits by far outweighed the bad bits so I’ll start with those:
Lovely relaxed atmosphere, the staff all seemed wonderfully friendly, especially the lovely lady in reception. We had no problems making ourselves understood and although the other nationalities were predominately German or Italian a smile is always universal.
Although we don’t have children it is worth remarking how good the facilities at the hotel seemed for children who all seemed to be having a great time. There was even an open air cartoon cinema for them in the evenings. The fact that there were separate kiddie’s areas in the two pools meant that they were never intrusive if you wanted child free time. The food was basic, not masses of choice or variety from day to day, but always tasty the restaurant was clean and had a nice ambience.

Location wise, I was a bit worried that we’d have to walk a way to the beach but it was a lovely walk past the little shops and there was a free regular bus that the driver made into a fun experience all by itself. The beach was lovely. It was also easy to get round the island with a handy bus stop right outside and plenty of car, bike, and buggy, quad hire places minutes walk away. Health and safety rules seemed non existent and the first buggy thing we hired was certainly an experience! But at least it was all cheap. Kos town and the mountains were amazing and the thermal beach was definitely worth a look (take off any jewellery before going in). Round the corner from the hotel is a great supermarket where you can get anything you need at very good prices. We only did one excursion – the 3 island boat cruise. The boat was utterly packed and whilst we enjoyed it I am not sure I could recommend it. Transfers are also easy and if I went again I wouldn’t pre-book, I’d hop in a taxi from the airport.

The downside were the rooms, which were adequate but very basic (and we’d paid for an upgrade!) and the all inclusive drinks (hardly any choice and finished at 11pm exactly). The wine was surprisingly agreeable so this didn’t bother me overly but it all seemed a bit tight and unnecessary.

For such basic accommodation and poor all inclusive I would have normally downgraded the score of this hotel but we had such a great time, and it was such a lovely atmosphere we had to give it 4 stars. If you want a manic night life and luxury this isn’t your place but if you want a lovely quiet family holiday I am not sure you’d do much better for the money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mick0forest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deeside
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Hi. We just returned from a week there (20/7 to 27/7). The hotel is basically OK and the staff are friendly. However - it is not an all inclusive hotel. It is full board, i.e. breakfast 7.30 'till 9.30, lunch 12.30 'till 2.00 and dinner 7.00 'till 9. Outside of those times you cannot get anything to eat. Drinks are limited to local brandy, white/red wine, larger, coffee. After breakfast ends at 9.30, you can't get a drink until the pool bar opens at 10.00 (there are actually two pool bars, however the swim up bar was not open at all during our stay). Air conditioning is 35 euros and a safe is 15 euro. Now to the food !!! It is really not good, so much so that we ate out most of the time (Sagittarius restaurant and Angela's Hotel (for breakfast) both really good and reasonable). Some people may find the food ok, but it is very poor (mainly aimed at German guests - of which there are lots). Things like german sausage, pasta, salad covered in oil. No ice creams and the only desserts are jelly and blamange. NO entertainment whatsoever. It is a shame because the hotel is nice, the pools are good and our room was basic but clean and acceptable, however the beds are rock hard, ok if you don't suffer from aching joints!! For what we paid, I would say it marks 7 out of 10. I am sure if you go with this in mind, you will enjoy this holiday. Kos is lovely, Tigaki has a fantastic beach (the hotel does operate a mini bus down the the beach and back three time a day). If you walk ? its a good 20-25 mins. You may have read previous reviews about plagues of mosquitos, but we didn't encounter hardly any. Just make sure you spray yourselves with a repellant at night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Budgyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tigaki
1.6 mi away
Summer Village Hotel
Summer Village Hotel
#5 of 15 in Marmari
400 reviews
3.0 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Tigaki's Star Hotel
Tigaki's Star Hotel
#9 of 23 in Tigaki
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Roselands Hotel Bungalows
Roselands Hotel Bungalows
#14 of 15 in Marmari
248 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pyli Bay Hotel
Pyli Bay Hotel
#10 of 15 in Marmari
198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marianna Hotel
Marianna Hotel
#7 of 23 in Tigaki
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilios Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilios Hotel

Property: Ilios Hotel
Address: Tigaki, Tigaki 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tigaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ilios Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ilios Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilios Hotel Tigaki
Ilios Hotel Kos/Tigaki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing