We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More full board than all-inclusive, terrible food, bring bug spray!”
Review of Ilios Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ilios Hotel
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Tigaki
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“More full board than all-inclusive, terrible food, bring bug spray!”
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We had a great time in Tigaki and found the hotel to be very nice; great value, clean (but not immaculate) and generally well presented with very pleasant helpful staff. We were on our (budget) honeymoon; we knew that the food at the hotel wouldn't be great and we were planning to eat out, at least some of the time.
However, the food totally failed to live up to even our modest expectations. It really is horrible and we found the only palettable options were boiled egg for breakfast and chip butties for lunch. Then go out for dinner! If you're hungry outside of the stipulated mealtimes then you're out of luck. The selection of drinks is VERY limited - lager, red wine (undrinkable), white wine (apparently ok but neither of us drink it), Ouzo (enough said) and very nasty local brandy. And the promised swim-up pool-side bar was not open.
The hotel have obviously been trying to save money and the grounds were poorly kept, with weeds everywhere and totally overgrown benches, etc. The outside lighting was only half populated with bulbs and the food was awful. Did I already mention that?
The only other thing to be aware of is the incredible number of mosquitos. Not the hotel's fault, obviously, but they really should provide screens for the doors/windows and they don't. The only option is to keep everything closed to keep them out - not great news when it's very hot!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 7769ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    74
    54
    24
    19
See reviews for
81
73
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cupar, Scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

This is a very nice hotel but the down side is the awful food. Do not go if you have children who like variation ie ice cream - none! This is classed as an all - inclusive package, untrue, it is local produce only, no Vodka, diet coke etc.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meercat43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Just returned (01/06/11) Please don't go here if you wan't "English meals",or love puddings" This is greece! (try Benidorm).
Yes we had a tiny lizard in our room,ah! cute.We also had the joy of watching a hedgehog or two snuffling around the gardens,and petted "Timmy" the hotel labrador.
The food was all fresh,every day,and my grandaughter and i have eaten enough to sink a ship in a week.
The pools and jaccuzi are divine and spotlessly clean.
The air conditioning was repaired the instant we reported it.Sorted by FLORIN.He's the best receptionist i have EVER seen in many years of travel.
All of the staff were always friendly and very helpful,appart from the owner who was fine but very preoccupied and on the phone / racing around so fair do's to him for that.
I CAN'T WAIT TO RETURN,didn't want to leave.
Oh and for the people who say there are loads of Germans,yes there is.But a kalimera and a smile,or a kind gesture or two won't kill you.we met lovely little families and had the pleasure of watching little children play in the paddling pools (cos thats what us old grannies find pleasure in).My nineteen year old grandaughter also had a great holiday,but then she has loved greece ,her people,and food all her life as she has always holidayed with me.
Take a cheap cushion with you as greek pillows are always hard,you can always leave it and make more room for your gifts/duty free.
Go to the Lido waterpark,it's brilliant whatever your age as long as you still have nimble legs,if not forget it.
And above all remember this is a three star Greek hotel,with three star prices.and as such much more than than i payed for.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank grannygrewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

i came with 'ellovenice' to ilios, and as we arrived early hours of the morning, we were lulled into the false sense of security that the hotel was nice and stuff, however, it all began when a DOG JUMPED INTO THE POOL the next day as we were leisurely laying by the pool being beach babez, as ya do on your hols yanno. why would any normal hotel let dogs roam the place? nevermind go in the pool! then dinner time emurged, and well, its a jolly well good job that the food was RANK cos martina, was a smelly lady. she reeeeeeked im not even joking. but then we met florin, and hes the only nice babe because he just was okay :) scary julian then served us a nice cocktail but this does not disguise the fact that he wanted to 'sex us' which is not what you expect from hotel staff..... on our last night he was a threatening man because we would not 'sex him' , and he told us to 'f**k off*, and thats not nice is it :( this hotel is only nice if ya german, because they seemed to like the germans more than any one else. on a positive note, 'mickeys australian bar' is the best because its full of real ozzy land people and they are nice and normal not like julian :( also mel from the kareoke bar is nice, he has nice snake skin boots so keep your eyes out :) oh oh ohhhh and the man on the beach gives you a free pedalo if ya nice xxxxxxxx

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank i_am_casper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tigaki hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2010

hello, i stayed at this hotel with my gal pal and we found that martina was a smelly babe and the food was horrible and always tuna, however the receptionist FLORIN was the best and he was extra helpful. The hotel was full of doggies and tezmain germans they are quite hairy and unkind. lastly the bar man julian, watch out for this little tezzer please he claims to many girl he wants to 'sex them' in the pool at night which is scary he also puts ice on your back in order for you to jolt up whilst laying on your front to get a eye full! all in all i wouldnt go back to this hotel as it has a discusting sex pest there! i would recromend tikaki though as there is a australian bar with real australians ect who say 'crikey crocodile in tha warda' for you if you ask, also there is mel and his shoes but i orgot what that bar is called now sorry! if you have booked in at this hotel then be safe dont let the albanian bwaboi get you! greetings loved ones lets take a journey xoxoxoxox

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ello-venice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

I've just read the previous reviews on the Ilios and am shocked! I'm 21yrs old and and have just got back from a weeks stay at the Ilios with my best friend and we had a lovely time. The Ilios is just off the main strip so about a 5min walk away from the bars and clubs. The hotel was absolutely spotless, it was sooo clean i could believe it. The maids do a fantastic job :) It has 2 pools which are both gorgeous, one has a jacuzzi and a pool bar. Only one problem here is that even if you are all inclusive you do have to play cash at the pool bar. There are plenty of loungers for everyone and good entertainment in the evenings gotta love a bot of karaoke!! The food was nice, a little bit repetitive but if you like fish, meat, pasta, potatoes, salad and fruit you'll be okay. The only problem with going all inclusive is that the alcoholic drinks are very limited, so much in fact you have a choice of beer, brandy, wine or Ouzo that's it! The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful especially the lovely reception staff Dimitreous and Flourin and the great bar staff, especially Dana, who was a joy to be around. Me and my friend really did have the best time, I'm so confused by bad reviews but there you go, i definately give The Ilios Hotel a bog thumbs up =D

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HollieRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

My friend and I stayed here for a week mid Sept 2010 and we found the hotel clean, comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms spacious and we were impressed by the standard of cleaniness. My friend and I would have appreciated softer pillows! We went All inclusive and thought the menu was limited and the deserts lacked imagination. The guest were mainly German but this was not a problem. There was no entertainment in the evening apart from a Karoke evening on Wednesday. The beach is a good ten minute walk, but the hotel has a bus service to the beach and Kos Town is a 15/20 minute journey on local bus. We enjoyed our week and would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tigaki
0.5 mi away
Tigaki's Star Hotel
Tigaki's Star Hotel
#8 of 23 in Tigaki
169 reviews
1.6 mi away
Summer Village Hotel
Summer Village Hotel
#5 of 15 in Marmari
388 reviews
1.8 mi away
Roselands Hotel Bungalows
Roselands Hotel Bungalows
#13 of 15 in Marmari
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
5.8 mi away
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#14 of 48 in Kos Town
591 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pyli Bay Hotel
Pyli Bay Hotel
#11 of 15 in Marmari
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilios Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilios Hotel

Property: Ilios Hotel
Address: Tigaki, Tigaki 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tigaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ilios Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ilios Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilios Hotel Tigaki
Ilios Hotel Kos/Tigaki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing