We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aspro Spiti Apartments
Ranked #13 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Tigaki
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked these apartments even though they were relatively cheap , based on reviews on here,but have to say we were rather disappointed with the quality of the room.
Weve been to many Greek islands over the last ten years so we know not to expect 5 star accomadation but this fell way short of our expectations.
We booked as 4 adults and a child but when we arrived we found 2 single beds and a camp bed in one room and a set of very old worn out bunk beds in the kitchen area.This meant 2 adults would have to sleep on bunkbeds but luckily because we have 3 teenage girls we were able to move the campbed into the kitchen area so the adults had a room (albeit with two single beds) to ourselves.
There was 1 wardrobe between all five of us and that had no door handles or bottoms in the drawers so we had to live out of our suitcases for the 2 weeks. The rest of the furniture was 2nd hand with other hotels names on it , and quite honestly wasn't fit for use (no handles , bottoms in drawers that kept falling out) and also made all of your clothes smell damp. The kitchen was so dark you couldn't see what you would have been trying to cook and the utensils that were provided were stuck to the shelves !
The bathroom was very tired but did the job, and apart from the odd night mostly had plenty of hot water.
The patio area outside was mostly covered by overhanging plants which constantly attracted wasps , and the property next door kept chickens which were always pecking through the fence and by 5pm the smell which came from them made it impossible to sit outside(we were in room 25).
The pool area was lovely,but the beds were always reserved by people ( I am ashamed to say mostly Brits ) laying their towels out on them then not using them until late in the afternoon.
Tingaki itself is a brilliant base for your holiday,plenty of bars,tavernas etc to use a different one every night in a 2 week stay, It has a brilliant beach with lovely calm sea ,plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas (we paid 12 euros for 6 beds and 3 umbrellas) .
I have to say the family that run aspro
Spiti couldn't be nicer and work tirelessly to ensure that you have a great holiday , so it is hard to leave negative comments about the room but we regularly go by reviews on this site to book our holidays so feel it only fair to be honest.
Overall I would say Kos and Tingaki is a brilliant holiday destination,and if you are on a tight budget Aspro Spiti is ok but if you can manage it I would
pay a bit extra for a higher standard of accomadation .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 142 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

A family-run hotel. Poppy, Nikos and Maria were mother, father and daughter and very friendly. We arrived in the middle of the night and phoned Nikos from reception, who showed us to our room. The breakfast was tasty and simple. Yoghurt, honey and fruits were always available. Nice local pastries, bread rolls and cakes! The juice was ok and the water was from the tap. The room was simple, but cleaned on a daily basis. You have to clean your own crockery and cutlery (so need a sponge and detergent), but there is a supermarket adjacent to the hotel - very convenient. The hotel surroundings had a lovely smell because of all the herbs in the sensory garden, displaying descriptions in English. It is a nice walk to the beach, you do not feel it much because of all the shops and restaurants on the way there.

Overall, everyone was very friendly and willing to help. Very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruna21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed in this hotel August 2013 for one week with some friends. Yes, we are in our 20s, but we didn't want the 'brits on tour' week of clubbing that is available in Kardamena so Tigaki seemed perfect.

The hotel is at the top end of the main street in Tigaki, so the location for our group was excellent. It's about an 8min walk to the beach and 1-2mins to the bars and shops, but with no impact on noise or privacy in the hotel! A few metres from the front entrance is a 'supermarket' equipped with the basics as well as some completely bizarre but rather entertaining finds (if you want a selection of furry fluorescent orange photo frames this is the place to go!!). There is also a bus stop right by the hotel and that route will take you to Kos city and other local stops (around 3euros for most bus journeys around Kos we found). So location = great.

We arrived at about 3am local time but had no problems checking in at that time and the owners were very welcoming. The hosts in general were so relaxed and sweet!

Our room was fine, I'd say it was closer to a hostel than hotel as it was quite basic but had everything you really need (fridge/kettle/few pots and pans/cutlery) and was large and clean. A/C is additional (5euros a night) but works efficiently and worth it in the height of the summer. Beds were comfy, there's a little balcony in every room and it was quite quiet. My only complaints (very minor points) would be that the shower didn't have a wall mount which made washing hair slightly awkward and the curtains were sheer so there was alot of light from about 6am. Solution - take an eye mask to sleep and hook up the shower to the towel rail. Sorted.

The best bits of this hotel - THE POOL!! It's lovely and there were always plenty of sunbeds around. And there's a pool bar. Oh and the wifi works around the reception and pool.

We paid 64euros per night for our triple room (21euros pp) and I think the price reflects what you get.

TOP TIPS from our Kos stay:
- Taxi from the airport to hotel was 27 euros (standard set price, trust me we tried to haggle)
- Meni restaurant is the swanky one towards the beach end of the street but not too pricey. Great food!!
- Mamas cooking 7dayz is the best traditional greek Meze we found
- rent a car and drive up to the mountains (we paid 30euros for a day and a half) - Zia is a lovely village to watch the sunset, but we drove all over Kos to explore other towns. Tigaki is ok but it's not traditional greece so if you want to see more culture it's a good way of doing it. There are scooters/bikes/quads available but it actually works out cheaper to rent a car if there are a few of you. And you get A/C. And you can actually get enough speed to make the most of the fantastic mountain roads.
- Best beaches are around Kefalos area - highly recommend Magic beach and Camel beach, but they are all relatively similar in that area just depends how busy you like your beaches (Paradise is very busy).
- Kos city is a good day trip and the bus is an easy cheap way of getting there - see the port, castle, shops.
- We did one night out in Kardemena and Status club was good fun. Taxi home was about 25euros but you can get the bus there to make a cheaper night.
- Would recommend a day trip excursion on a boat, great way to have a relax and a swim and see some of the smaller, more remote islands.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sc1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We spent a wonderful two week with Nikos, Poppy and their lovely family our hosts at Aspro Spiti. They are so friendly and welcoming nothing was to much trouble. Our room was spacious and well equipped, and kept beautifully clean by Anna the housekeeper who even washed our beach towels. Breakfast was very good with a nice selection of homemade food, and reasonably priced. Life around the pool was sheer bliss, The bar open all day serving a good selection of food and drinks and wonderful ice cream. It's just short walk through shops and Taverna's to the beach. DO NOT miss the BBQ, a fantastic night with an amazing live band.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trudi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks at these apartments after having a wonderful time.
We have 3 boys ages 2, 4 and 8 so we had a one bedroom apartment. (Room 15) which was plenty big enough for all of us. There were 2 bunk beds in the kitchen area and a separate bedroom with 4 other beds in.
Accommodation was typically greek with some nice additional touches provided such as hair dryer, electric bug killer (plug in tablet type) and a microwave (that we didn't use!) The cleaner came in every day and even washed up when we forgot once!

The pool area is great for kids with a separate child area with plenty of sun beds and nice bar area.
We only ate once at the apartments at the BBQ night which we can fully recommend. 15 euros for adults.

The apartments are far enough from the bars and clubs to avoid any sleepless nights but close enough to all amenities (beach is a 10-15 min walk with 3 little ones.)

There is a large supermarket next door but we found it expensive in relation to Oneiro's supermarket next to the restaurant of the same name down the road on the left.

We also found a little fruit and veg shop run by a lovely elderly couple about 100m from the apartments going towards the beach, next to the sagittarius restaurant, who couldn't have been more friendly. Our 4 year old took to them straight away.
The Yia mas taverna on the beach front (go down to the fountain, turn left and its the second taverna on the left) was our favorite taverna of the holiday. The staff, especially the waitress Arta gave us a welcome second to none, so much so that we we went back on 2 other occasions. (We normally eat at a different place each night)

Over all we had a fantastic time at the apartments. Thanks

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chilleddevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We opted for the separate bedroom apartment but were put in a studio apartment the first night which wasn't particularly nice. No problem as the next morning we were moved to a one bedroom apartment which was much better.

Very basic accommodation but very clean and the cleaners were in every day with fresh towels etc. the owners Nikkos and Poppy are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We had one evening meal at the restaurant and it was very good and reasonably priced.

Go for the air-con as it is very warm in the nights. Costs 5 euros per day but was money well spent.

Always managed to get a sunned of our choice even though it got busier as the week went on. There is a large supermarket right next door which is handy for water etc.

The beach is 1 kilometre from the apartments but it doesn't take long to walk there and there are plenty of sun beds for hire. If you turn right at the beach head for the Esperos beach where there is free wifi and a nice restaurant to eat in.

There is a bus stop right outside the apartments with hourly buses to Kos town which is well worth a visit or two.

We had a late night transfer and we were allowed to keep the room on and there was no charge.

Would probably go again in the future.

Room Tip: Lower numbers are closer to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed here for one week. The beach is about a kilometer down the road. If you take a left at the beach (facing the water) there is a long stretch of beach that has less seaweed and is less crowded. There is a large market next to the hotel that has decent prices. The bus stop for the bus to Kos is near the front of the hotel. There was a peach tree in the back of the property that was regurgitating fresh peaches every day (I took a couple of peaches that fell to the ground to the local goats). There are some community books in the lobby; I read Grisham's "The Partner". It's about crooked lawyers, crooked politicians, bullying FBI agents, and something known as a qui tam suit. Having worked for the US government for ten years it was something with which I was a little too familiar. The rooms had televisions with mostly local stations. A couple of stations aired reruns of US programs and movies. The room had a refrigerator, hotplate, and an electric kettle. Breakfast was served out by the pool and included serve yourself coffee that was good and strong. I didn't require the attention of the staff and had no interaction with them other than check-in, which was quick.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tigaki hotels
2.8 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Marianna Hotel
Marianna Hotel
#7 of 24 in Tigaki
353 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akti Dimis Hotel
Akti Dimis Hotel
#5 of 24 in Tigaki
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
More Meni Beach
More Meni Beach
#10 of 24 in Tigaki
115 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oasis Studios & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Golden Sun Apartments
Golden Sun Apartments
#18 of 24 in Tigaki
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspro Spiti Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspro Spiti Apartments

Address: Tigkaki Kos, Tigaki 853 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Tigaki
Price Range: $24 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aspro Spiti Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aspro Spiti Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspro Spiti Apartments Tigaki
Aspro Spiti Apartments Kos/Tigaki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing