We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fili apartments”
Review of Fili Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fili Apartments
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Tigaki
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a week owners and staff were brilliant. The apartments were typically Greek,very clean and adequate
If you like pools the Fili as 2 + 1 for young children. The food was great with lots of choice. The sea is a 5 minute walk, the centre of tigaki is approx 2.5 km the route is very flat and follows the beautiful coast line.The easiest way of getting about is to hire a bike they are very cheap and great fun, on your way into tigaki stop off at The King Size Bar great service and value. All in all a brilliant holiday made even better by the great people of Kos (Tigaki)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cazo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 273 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

Travelled with a 4 year old and a 5 month old and can honestly say the Fili were excellent. Apartments cleaned every other day, beds changed every other day and bins emptied daily. The pools were good with a baby pool, a pool with a slide and another pool set away for those without children. Food was good, especially recommend the Mousakka.
The only downfall for us was the walk into town. It takes a good 25 mins to get to the edge of town and 35 minutes to get to the centre, which is where you need to be. The bus runs hourly but watch out, some hours are missed and you could be caught out. Bus was just under 2 euros per person per trip so it does add up over the holiday.
Best restaurant by far for us was Esperos, which is just before the town centre. The Kleftico here is the best I have ever had. The staff are friendly and can't do enough to help you - it was the only restaurant we actually went to more than once.
We went to by beach in front of the Irina Beach hotel and at any one time there were only a maximum of 10 people there - it was really private and secluded, although abit rocky in places.
But back to the Fili - couldn't fault them and if they were just that bit closer to town, wouldn't hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Returned 25/8/12 after 10 nights at the Fili apartments,and found them very good.Basic greek style apartments,but all you need is a bed, a shower, and a fridge.Staff and owners very friendly.Nice pools to sunbathe around if your not bothered by little kids.Food and drinks are on par with many of the bars/tavernas in Tigaki,but at 8 euros bbq night on a tuesday is good value.The walk into tigaki takes about 30 minutes,which can be a pleasant stroll in an evening,but the bus stops at the end of the road 2 euros and your in town otherwise 7 in a taxi.I would advise hiring a bike/car/scooter/quad or buggy to get about on though. Nothing worse than getting glammed up for an evening out and walking to town and being a sweaty mess. Eating out we found Esperos very good,which is on your left as you head from Fili into town,also Ampeli just behind the Fili very very good.Best bar for us was Mickis beach bar i cannot speak highly enough about Micki and his staff,friendly,kind and with a beach front location just brilliant.Back to Fili the rooms again basic and clean towels changed at least every other day and room cleaned every 3 days.The location is just secluded enough so that you are not bothered by traffic etc,but not to far from things.All in all defo a 7 anda half maybe 8 out of 10.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StuartJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Just returned from a brilliant two weeks. Travelling as a family of four with children aged 6 & 8. Firstly, this was one of the cheapest places we could find to stay in Greece during school hols and we were impressed with the facilities. Bear in mind this is Greece so the rooms are very basic but clean. Self Catering facilities are very limited as ther are only two rings and a kettle so it would be difficult to rustle up a meal. This didn't bother us as we ate out every day.
Air conditioning available at a cost of 5 Euro a day. We suffered for 4 nights and then paid for the air conditioning as the heat was intense. What a difference, sound sleep for the rest of the holiday.
Two pools were lovely with a slide that the kids loved. The only downside is the pool turns everyones swimwear green. Washed out when we arrived home but looks odd while you are there. The grounds, restaurant etc are kept clean.
Staff were lovely and friendly, Paul is very friendly as are the rest of the staff in particular Sophia who works non stop. The food in the restaurant on site is good and pretty cheap. Pitta Gyros is gorgeous for lunch and only 2.5 Euro. Main courses between 4-7 Euro. Bar offers good selection of drinks and cocktails for 4.5 Euro.
Now the walk in to town is a bit of a hike. It takes 30 minutes to walk to the main square in Tigaki at an average pace, whoever said it takes 50 minutes must be a very slow walker. We would walk in and then get a taxi back which cost 7 Euros, or the bus runs every hour and stops outside the hotel.
We had a fantastic relaxing two weeks, never had to fight for sunbeds and didn't see a cloud the entire time. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank karendav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

arriving on the coach I never thought we would get there it is extremely far away from town it takes at least 50minutes to walk to the town or decent beach dont believe anyone who writes differently, you will need to hire a car or pay for taxis as we did as we had 2 children who couldnt do the walk in the heat and to be fair to the i hated the walk too!
owner Paul checked us in I immediately thought he was ignorant, took our passport, handed us a key and that was it, didnt even give us a clue where our room was ect.
Room: typical greece but worse. forget trying to have a shower, you have to hold the shower head standing in a tiny shower tray with a shower curtain that was no use at all. the bed was the most uncomfortable Ive ever slept on and to use a plug socket you had use the plug socket that the kettle was plugged into right over/next to sink, not great. I had no intention of cooking and its a good job as it would be near enough impossible. The air con worked fine you have to pay per day upfront to get the controller, i knew about this beforehand and had therefore wasnt an issue.To turn the fridge on you have to flick the fuse down by the front door, thanks to our neighbours for telling us as paul never mentioned it.
the pool was fine but the slide was a waste of time as the water coming down it was so slow the kids were coming down too slowly to have any real fun.
bar prices and food prices were ok but what i will say is eat at the vine yard round the corner, prices the same but with much nicer hosts, better food, amazing wine and a gorgeous setting.
paul only really gives you the time of day if you stay at the fili and never go out.
the horrendous non stop music all day was really not necessary and after a while seriously irritated me.
free wifi in the bar area which was my life saver with the kids as the were so bored otherwise.
Tingaki itself is great I really wished we had stayed in town. The beach in town by the roundabout was amazing and the restaurants were great, our favourite being the blue and white one, their lamb is to die for!
we did the little train trip which was well worth the money.
this was a cheap trip for us as our main holiday isnt till september so im glad we went but the fili was just way too far out for us. we will return to kos but will definately avoid the fili

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EBTX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Never normally write a review but had such a good holiday felt we had to. Not that we had lots of chit chat with the owners but found them always welcoming. Rooms basic but clean. And very peaceful at night time. And always a lovely atomsphere around the bar and pool. Probably because a little out of town people are always having a drink before going into, or when they come back. Tigaki is 25 minutes walk if you keep up a pace and as others have said, a fairly quiet road, listening to the sea (compared to dull england) beautiful. We had a 4 year old with us and put him in the (borrowed pram) much to his resistance on the first morning but soon we were enjoying our morning strolls to the beach. Buses leave from the end of the road (200m from the hotel) 20 past the hour into Tigaki. Apart from 7:20pm when it is 7:50pm! They don't charge for children under 6 - so 2 adults cost 3 Euros 20 cents. So there is always that option. A taxi costs 7 euros. The pools are fab. OK some white things turn yellow (my bikini for some reason was fine) but the fun we had who cares. Using the slide on rings, inflatables (we are 40+) happy kids again. Drinks maybe slightly more than other places but cheaper than back home, 2 pints under 5 euros, a wine 2 euros and when we had any food beautiful - the Gyros (yummy). We will definitely got back if we come to Kos. If you have kids over 4 they will love the pools and to get to the beach there is the bus. The lido water park - book at tourist information in the town 17 euros for an adult, 12 euros for kids over 4 - ok kids over 10 might get bored if they are that type after half a day but we had an amazing time. The train from Tigaki to Pila was fun to - cheap drinks in the village. Never had a bad meal following what others had recommended on trip advisor - all in all a really good holiday. Oh and the turkish bath place - Haman - 30 euros - I personally had full Haman, with mud and then oil massage - nearly 2 hours - £44 - bliss.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bellingham-kendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Just back after a fantastic 2 weeks at the Fili Apartments with Family.. Seven of us went and we arrived at around 21:30 hours and met Paul the owner at the reception bar. Slight hick up as we paid for 3 rooms but Paul only had paperwork for 2. This was no fault of the apartments as when I produced the paperwork showing the 3 rooms the problem was resolved. The boys got to know a lot of the other familes as they were all so friendly. Every Tuesday they do a Greek night where there is traditional Greek food and drink, also traditional dancing. The bar music varied from the 50's up to the present day so there was something for everyone. The rooms were quite basic but you only need a bed. There was a fridge & a 2 hot plate cooker. Toilet paper goes in the waste bin next to the toilet as in most parts of the Mediterranean. The cleaners came every day to take the rubbish and every other day to mop through and change the towels. Aircon was 5 Euros per night, I feel you only really need it for the first week as after that you climatise to the the heat. 2 swimming pools to relax in, the smaller pool even has a safe water slide for the liitle ones, or a sunlounger to relax on. A short walk down the road to the corner and you can catch a bus to Kos for just 2 Euros each way (Kos is about 9km away from Fili Apartments). or you could do a 30 minute walk along the road to the main town of Tingaki as I did several times and timed it. If you get too hot on the walk you can always pop across the road and dip your toes into the warm sea. As for local shops, if you come out of the complex down to the bus stop an turn right, there is a mini market about 50 yards along the road. Along the main road to Tingaki there are Mini markets and places to hire bicycles Quads mopeds sand buggys and cars. As you get to Tingaki town you are spoilt for choice for gift shops Restuarants Tavernas and even a take away. This was also the only place I could find a cashpoint. At the top of Tingaki town is a supermarket like the English supermarkets. The only downside is my partner likes coffee whitener in her coffee not milk, we didn't find any coffee whitener in the shops. Temperature were like Hells kitchen with a hairdryer in your face, so factor 50 for the first few days is a must or turn into a Lobster it's your choice. Gyros Pitta is a must try it's only a couple of Euros and is filling. The beaches are long in some parts you can walk into the sea where it it soft sand a good 200 yds and its still quite shallow, other parts are quite rocky and get deeper quicker but these are the best for snorkeling. You cannot go to Kos without visiting the main Kos town which is full of Greek history, Restaurants and the night life is all night. Where else can you walk into a bakery shop after midnight and buy a tall ice cream of your choice, where there are so many flavors to choose from. Between Fili apartments and Kos you can find a Lidl & a Carrefour. That's about it, it's an ideal choice to holiday at as we are all going again next year. As they say in Greece Yamas.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tigaki
0 mi away
Golden Sun Apartments
Golden Sun Apartments
#19 of 24 in Tigaki
18 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marianna Hotel
Marianna Hotel
#6 of 24 in Tigaki
354 reviews
1.1 mi away
Akti Dimis Hotel
Akti Dimis Hotel
#5 of 24 in Tigaki
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
More Meni Beach
More Meni Beach
#10 of 24 in Tigaki
115 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mariliza Beach Bungalows
Mariliza Beach Bungalows
#6 of 15 in Marmari
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fili Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fili Apartments

Address: Tigaki 85300, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tigaki
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tigaki
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tigaki
Price Range: $22 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fili Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
relaxing place, big gardens, view to Aegean, friendly staff, family business ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fili Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fili Apartments Tigaki
Fili Apartments Hotel Tigaki
Fili Apartments Kos/Tigaki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing