We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant holiday”
Review of Socrates Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Socrates Studios
Ranked #8 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Tigaki
sheffield united kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“brilliant holiday”
Reviewed October 29, 2010

Having just got back from tigaki kos where we stayed at the socrates studios.The studios were very nice and clean could not fault them in any shape or form,the pool area and garden was beautiful.But most of all the owners were the nicest greek family you could ever wish to meet,they would go out of there way to help you.We would just like to say a big thank you to (BILLY AND MARIA) for making our holiday so comfortable and for all your help.
From the sheffield couple who stayed in number 4
YIAMAS

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christy6089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    6
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leek
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

In agreement with other reviwers concerning the attention lavished on the excellent pool area but not on the rooms, although they were cleaned every 2 days and had comfortable beds and adequate but shabby furnishings.
Main complaints are regarding the self catering side. A few things to ponder - old and cracked plates and plastic bowls, frying pan and drainer dirty, fridge required defrosting on arrival before fit for use, kettle didn't boil and hotplate flex badly repaired. Also no bag in toilet paper bin Iin bathroom and dripping taps repaired with electrical insulation tape.
Maybe the self catering side is deliberately left in a poor state to encourage visitors to use the over-priced poolside snack bar!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveBLeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2010

These studios are well appointed and clean. It is a family run business and they are very friendly and welcoming. The bar, garden and pool area are excellent. It is so nice and inviting that we spent more time than we would usually around the pool. It is conveniently located at the top of the main street which has shops and restaurants on the doorstep, but yet has plenty of grazing land at the back of it to make it feel spacious. We had a fantastic view of the mountains and sea in a spectacular panoramic view.

We would definitely recommend these Studios to anyone visiting Tigaki which is a lovely place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steampunk2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitstable kent
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2010

stayed at the socrates appts first 2 weeks sept,thomson rep was not very helpful,dropped us off and we never saw him for duration of stay which did not really matter as it was our third time to tigaki.on first impressions pool and bar area excellent,very new looking and spotless,owners socrates and vassili made us feel like a part of their family from day one,nothing was too much trouble and we had free cake and drinks most days which was nice as our daughter was 6 years old and the family made her feel special and at ease.the rooms were cleaned every other day and judging by some earlier reviews i was a bit apprehensive about this but our minds were put at rest on the second full days stay room cleaned and clean sheets and towels,only had to supply toilet paper which is fair i would say.food at pool bar very good and staff on hand until 1.00am in the morning to help if you had any problems and judging from all that stayed there when we were there ,there were none that we heard of.the views from the second and third floor balconies are fab with the mountains to the right and turkey to the front.first thing in the morning about 7.00am the sun would rise right in front of the appartments in the distance and it was stunning.the walk to the main resturant area was about 5 minutes but you had about 4 resturants across the road from the accomodation.beach is to die for with clear blue water and you can walk out to about 100 metres and its only up to your waist with views to turkey and neighbouring kalymnos a treat.never had a bad meal all fortnight and about 30-40 euros for a family of 3 with drinks is good.exchange rate was 1.18 to the £ which was the same in the uk before we left.you can go on facebook and look at this accomodation before you book,[socrates studios and appartments] where they have loads of pics of people that have stayed there.all in all a truly memorable holiday and congratulations to socrates and vassili and all the staff at this accomodation for being so friendly and helpful and i look forward to going back in june next year.[p.s try vassilis bootleg hooch,will put hairs on your chest,]

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronnietulloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beeley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2010

All negative comments have been read by the owners and any issues have been rectified, rooms are cleaned regularly and linen in fresh every couple of days.

After a disasterous flight and aggression the english should be embarrassed about, i landed in Kos for the 9th time.
I wasnt able to stay at The Mayflower due to it being full so i booked The Socrates Apts. Knowing that alot of the Greek Apts are very dated i knew what to expect, the 'Just' write up portrayed something that was totally different to what we got.
I was expecting noise, a 'bloke' and to be roughing it for 2 weeks........
The pool area was spectacular, so pretty and clean, there is a real sense of pride from the family who own the apartments.
The rooms are dated as expected but the family are getting around to changing them.
I would reccomend the apartments to anyone, especially with young children as the family are welcoming and the restaurants are so close to The Socrates Apartments.
The beach is a 15 minute walk away.
If you book trips do it through the local companies, not thomsons as we saved 30 euros for 3 of us to go to the water park! Thomsons were charging 9 euros for transfers but locally they charge 1 euro.
My 7 year old had an accident but the family took us to the hospital and stayed with us until we were finished, we were treated like family for the rest of the holiday.
I adore these people and i would book to go back.
If you pay for airconditioning in resort before October 2010 and you booked through the 'just' brochure then make sure you claim the cost back!! But you can only do this through Thomsons NOT from the Socrates apartments. I paid 70 euros and got £65 back. Get a receipt from the Apartments.
My luggage was ripped when we landed in Manchester.

Thanks to Socrates for a great view :) 'diet coke break'

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We have just returned from two weeks in the Socrates apartments, Tigaki, Koz.

We had a fabulous time, the apartments were fine, basic Greek just as it said on the website, and the pool and gardens were amazing, the family owners were so friendly and always there to help you if needed it.

We had the most relaxing holiday, lazy days on the beach and by the pool, watched beautiful sunsets and evenings eating the most amazing fresh food in the many restaurants in Tigaki.

Would highly recommend Tigaki and the Socrates appartments

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terryjoan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Just spent a week at the socrates apartments and had a lovely time. The freindliest place we have ever been. The family run apartments are basic rooms however the pool and bar area more than make up for the lack of qaulity in rooms. pool bar and food very good and service excellent. Thanks to Socrates, Billy, Sam and all the staff and family. Very quite resort, few good restaurants, only 1 cashpoint which was not working to full capacity but only a bus ride into Kos town which is lovely. will definately go back
Good luck for the future to Socrates and his family.
Keith and Julie
Gateshead

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joolsp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tigaki hotels
0.9 mi away
Zorbas Beach Hotel
Zorbas Beach Hotel
#2 of 23 in Tigaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
0.4 mi away
Smartline More Meni Beach
0.4 mi away
Tigaki's Star Hotel
Tigaki's Star Hotel
#8 of 23 in Tigaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marianna Hotel
Marianna Hotel
#6 of 23 in Tigaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Sun Apartments
Golden Sun Apartments
#17 of 23 in Tigaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akti Dimis Hotel
Akti Dimis Hotel
#5 of 23 in Tigaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Socrates Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Socrates Studios

Property: Socrates Studios
Address: Tigaki, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Tigaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Socrates Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Socrates Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Socrates Studios Kos/Tigaki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing