We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astir Odysseus, Tigaki, Kos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Tigaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My wife (who walks with a stick, following a stroke) & I came here for our granddaughter's beach wedding further up Tigaki beach. Odysseus is a wonderful hotel. Without exception, all staff, from reception to maids to restaurant & bar to general workers, are friendly, helpful & eager to please. All, even those gardening or cleaning pools, smiled with a "kali maira" or "kali spera" according to time of day & appreciated our feeble efforts at a few Greek words - tho' not all were Greek. The main restaurant offered a fantastic selection of all sorts of cuisine. We were all inclusive & made the most of it. from the Congo, who spoke fluent English, French & Greek, & exchanged a few words in Swahili with my wife. He recommended the splendid Queen of Hearts Greek white wine. Nothing was too much trouble in offering assistance if my wife needed it. The room was wonderful, with comfy bed, good shower & a sea view from the balcony. It was convenient for the tavern which provided a varied barbecue, salad & of course those sweetmeats. Our Thomson / First Choice rep was helpful & got us on to the day trip round the island, & again driver & guide were excellent, knowledgeable & humorous. The hotel's pools were magnificent - we walked along the adjacent beach but swam in the pool. Fantastic time. Just a mention of the lovely wedding at the Irina beach hotel & reception at Zorba's Hotel - great food. Amazing holiday. Eucharisto!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

676 - 682 of 1,582 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2014

My family and I stayed for 2 weeks and each day was a joy. The hotel is wonderful and has many pools which are held in good condition. If you like big pools this hotel has the bigest I yet have seen :) The rooms are clean and we never had a remark about the cleanliness. The food is good and the staff is very friendly. I would like to thank the people at the reception for being so thoughtful. There were many situations where they went beyond their duties which I won't forget. The animation team was top :) Denis, Vergil, Giri, Franceska and Naska did an amazing job to entrain all the guest in such heat. We had many good times and I hope to see them again. Hugs for all. We are definitely going back. My family and I tough it was on of the best holidays yet, if not the best.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

First time in Kos. From check in to check out hotel and all staff absolutely excellent - all pleasant smart and very helpful. Great facilities in fantastic setting. the food is plentiful varied pleasing in the eye and exceptionally tasty. The choice of drinks is very good - alcoholic and non alcoholic. Couldn't ask for more - we will be back.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Scrooge736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

The rooms with private pool are the best. Hotel outdoor pool's are excellent if you don't like the sea. Breakfast is ok, but the barbecue served during lunch in super. Staff is good, not great. The only inconvenient is the place where the hotel is located, isolated, 10 km from Kos town and 7 km from Zia village, where you can have ones of the best sunset ever

Stayed: September 2013
Thank stefanrazvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We visited a year ago and since then it has changed ownership (was formerly owned by Iberostar). We returned for one week all inclusive in June this year. I have reviewed this in terms of what could be improved. Please see my original review for a more overall picture.

Restaurant: Caters to mainland Europeans more than UK guests, so after a few days you do begin to suffer a lack of choice. If you are all inclusive, you will quickly find the same offerings for lunch as you do in the evening for dinner. That being said, the food available is good quality and the staff all work tirelessly. My main criticism of the new system being operated in the restaurant is that every time you have a meal in there (even breakfast) you are asked by a staff member what your room number is. This get's boring very quickly and is not necessary as a form could easily be filled out each time you dine rather than being disturbed when eating. The other noticeable difference is that at times you can feel rushed to eat and finish your food as quickly as possible due to the obvious high workload the waiters are up against. My main criticism of the restaurant is the dress code policy. The policy states that men must not wear short sleeved shirts or shorts to dinner. Women are free to wear what they want (including shorts).On the first evening I was stopped by a manager from entering the restaurant and was told I must change into trousers. Reluctantly agreeing, I wore jeans only to see other males allowed in wearing shorts! This happened all week with some being stopped, while others ignored.The hotel management needs to address this as people do not expect to be treated differently based on sex in 2014 and would be viewed as sexist if the other way round,

Sunbeds: The hotel has pinned a notice to every sun lounger and shade that people cannot reserve sunbeds and all towels left unattended on loungers will be removed. In practice, this is totally ignored by the management and most mornings the loungers were 'reserved' by 9 am. A lot of sunbeds had towels on them all day meaning lot of them were unavailable even though they had no one on them for hours at a time. Why have rules if you ignore them which in turn leads to people unable to get a lounger all day?

Entertainment: The entertainment team all worked long hours and did a great job professionally, but some of the evening entertainment is dated and unappealing to a lot of people. On a side note, the lobby/bar area has music constantly played on repeat (Enrique Iglesias and Michael Buble) which becomes really annoying if you spend enough time in there and is not at all relaxing.

Hotel shop: There is a small shop by the lobby run by a very welcoming lady. They have stopped selling newspapers since my last visit, which seems short sighted as you nearly always buy other things in there when after a paper.

Rooms: We had booked a sea view room and overall it was great. The chambermaids all work very hard in the heat and did a great job. Clean and in good condition.

Staff: Very polite and welcoming. With the exception of the female manager seen mainly in the evenings in the restaurant who at one point was seen visibly berating staff. Not something you want to see, especially when the restaurant staff worked very hard over long hours.

Overall we enjoyed our stay here. Kos is a lovely place and the relaxed lifestyle is something very lacking in the UK. Some of the issues I mention may seem petty, but they do make a difference to your overall experience and could do with reviewing especially the disparity in who the rules apply too.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view. Does cost more but you will appreciate the views. The rooms with a swim up pool o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Idletraveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Me and my partner had a lovely time here. The resort is very clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is of a high standard and there is a dress code for the evening meal. Towels are given out free for the pool which you can change every day. The management have a none towel reservation for the sun loungers but some Germans didn't understand this but there is plenty to go around. Overall all I would recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gixerlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

My partner and I have just got back after having an amazing week (June 2014) the resort is beautiful, the cleanliness of the hotel rooms and the hotel itself was always to a high standard. Food was lovely and always a varied choice to suit everyone's needs. Staff were so friendly and each Tuesday the management have a cocktail meeting for all the guests to introduce themselves which is a lovely idea. There is a dress code for evening meals which is nice to see. There is a policy that no sun beds are to be reserved with towels, however, some Germans didn't understand this. Only downside was we didn't stay longer but will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denia V, Sales Executive at Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are really glad that you had a wonderful stay at Astir Odysseus Kos Resort & Spa.

We are pleased that the facilities of the resort, the cleanliness of the rooms, the food choices and above all the staff of the hotel, met your expectations. We are delighted that you enjoyed the cocktail meeting with the management.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Astir Odysseus and offer you once again a memorable stay.

Sincerely,

Denia Vrettaki
Sales Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tigaki
2.8 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
6.4 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
6.2 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,461 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
6.6 mi away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa

Address: PO Box 359, Tigaki 853 00, Greece (Formerly Iberostar Odysseus)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tigaki
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tigaki
#3 Family Hotel in Tigaki
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tigaki
Price Range: $120 - $667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star Astir Odysseus Kos Resort & Spa, located just 5km. from the historical Kos town and 20km. from the airport, is an elegant and luxurious resort. Its contemporary services and facilities include stylish restaurants and bars, conference rooms, 5 swimming pools, tennis courts, climbing wall, mini club and playground, open air theatre, water sports, spa center with indoor pool, outdoor parking, 5x5 mini soccer, multi court, car and bike rental service. All the rooms and suites are equipped with LCD satellite TV, mini safe, coffee & tea making facilities, bathroom amenities and free Wi-Fi access. "Achilleas" restaurant offers delicious buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The "Argo" waterfront restaurant serves lunch and dinner. At lunch, guests can taste Greek specialties as well as freshly prepared barbecue dishes. The restaurant reopens its doors in the evening with especially designed exclusive menus. At the "A la Carte" restaurant "Ithaka", creative dishes are masterfully prepared for dinner. At dinner, dress code is required in all the hotel's restaurants. Beverages and refreshing cocktails are served at the "Sirens" bar and at the pool bar "Dawn". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa Kos/Tigaki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing