We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Hotel but slightly marred by my previous stays with Iberostar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Tigaki
Certificate of Excellence
Chester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice Hotel but slightly marred by my previous stays with Iberostar”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Very good hotel with probably the friendliest and helpful staff I have come across. First floor sea view rooms are the best with views over to Turkey. Hotel spotless and maintained to a high standard. The only issue I had, after my trips to two other Iberostar Hotels, was the variety of food on offer in the main restaurant – it was very much the same every night. My previous trips to the Malaga Playa in Torrox, Spain and the Suites Hotel Jardín del Sol in Majorca had a far more varied menu every day, with a choice of different seafoods and meats. Quality of food was better as well. Saying that, the barbeque every lunchtime was a refreshing change, but again the food on offer was much the same every day. I would say that the other two Iberostar’s that I stayed at were better. Puddings at the Odysseus were very nice though!

Even so, the hotel was in a very picturesque location, and even though it was a bit isolated (but I knew that before I went!), it was a pleasant and peaceful break.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms around the main pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Budr32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    935
    372
    96
    25
    10
See reviews for
493
676
22
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here early June 13 and overall this was an excellent place to stay. The hotel itself is located about 4km outside Tigaki town and about 7km from Kos town so not too far to travel. (Took around 40 mins transfer on the coach from the airport)
The staff were great and worked hard, so make sure you tip! The hotel itself seemed to be host to mainly German guests as well as the usual mix of English etc. The food was plentiful but did seem to cater more for European tastes rather than what you may be used to but overall you wouldn't go hungry. (There was always pizza and chips).
The only issue we had during our stay was that on arrival guests were handed a sheet that among other rules stated the sun loungers by the pools were not to be reserved by putting towels on them. This was completely ignored by the management and the majority of loungers were 'reserved' very early on every day we were there. Bit annoying and selfish of people who often would leave the loungers for long periods of time then return hours later. Something the management should act on as nobody gains from allowing it to happen.
Travel wise you can hire bikes from a company in the hotel lobby (cheap) or use the bus which stops just past the hotel itself. (The bus to Kos town is the number 4 and the hotel reception sell tickets).
Tip: The bus stop/shelter itself is on the other side to the hotel (turn right as you walk out the hotel complex then cross over. If you see the old BMW behind the fence and the big yellow truck you are in the right place). (This is the same stop you need when returning as all stops are on the same side, not on both like the UK)
We had a great time overall. Special mention to Karim (hotel entertainer) who worked long hours from what we could see and was a real nice guy. Cheers!
Kos itself is great. Scenic,relaxed and they still get decent weather. Great nude beach which we used as well which you should try while there. Its located in Tigaki itself on the section of beach directly in front of the old salt lake. Overall holiday was great. Nice place, recommended!

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view. Great views over the water to Turkey and other Greek islands!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Idletraveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimavska Sobota, Slovakia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I recomend to everybody this great hotel.Good service , good personal , great food and good location only the beach was poor to me .I prefer more beaches then pools when I travel for summer holiday but there is too many pools in hotel area .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KingT0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

After holidays in Turkey for the last three years, we thought we would go back to Kos and this time to the Iberostar Odysseus.

If you are looking for non-stop entertainment on a plate, then this hotel is not for you. This is a place for those looking for peace and tranquility! Firstly almost all staff are very friendly, especially the cleaning staff and many of the restaurant staff. All are happy to help and most speak very good English (although I'm sure they would also appreciate guests attempting some Greek)

The hotel is spotlessly clean as was our room. We chose the room with one of the swim up pools. We would definitely do this again as it became our little retreat at times during the day were we could be on our own, relaxing on the sofas and chairs, swimming in our own little part of the pool, enjoying a drink from our mini bar. If you choose one of these, try to get one facing away from the sea as these get the sun for most of the day whereas the ones facing the sea do not (although all of the pool does). The quieter rooms are those nearest the sea as this is far enough away from the entertainment up by the bar and reception area. Entertainment is very low key. A pianist plays/sings on most nights. There's also a karaoke on one evening which was quite fun to watch. There's also a belly dancer and strong man on another evening. (We didn't watch this)

There are two main pools each with a children's pool. For us, the beach pool was by far the best as it was the quietest, right next to the see which had views across the see to Turkey and the small Greek Islands of Pserimos and Kalimnos. Most of the daytime and pool entertainment happened by the pool nearest reception. The animation team was also low key and were not pushy if you chose not to get involved with activities (archery, shooting, volleyball, water polo, and of course shuffleboard)

I did note from other reviews that there is a €20 charge for the hire of pool towels. I'm not sure if things had changed since those previous reviews but our experience was that a €20 deposit was charged to our room for each towel and then removed once the towels were returned. No money changed hands.

Kids club was available from 10-12 & 3-5. This was also low key, but my 9 year old daughter enjoyed going there from time to time. The whole place felt very safe and we were happy for her to walk back from kids club to the beach pool.

Food was excellent and well cooked. There was always a good choice each lunchtime and evening. I agree with previous posts that lunchtime at the beach restaurant was probably my favourite meal because of the location.

We were there for 10 days and wished we could stay longer and would definitely return. We did however make some observations: while most staff were impeccable, we noted that the waiters/waitresses did seem to be under some pressure. On one occasion during our Greek evening meal at the beach restaurant one waitress began shouting at other members of staff allowing all guests to hear. While we all laughed, it did seem a little unprofessional. Also, one of the animation team can be a little too overfamiliar with male guests. (You'll soon learn who he is) My father-in-law and me did not appreciate the innuendos and him always wanting to massage us!!! The two barmen at the beach bar during the day could be a little hit and miss. We were never quite sure if they were happy to be serving us.

Special mention though to Aris who looks after the beach bar in the evening (always happy and a perfect gentleman), Kelsie, lead member of the kids club who was always happy to see our daughter and the waiters in the main restaurant who, despite being under pressure did their very best to make our experience a good one.

If your looking to completely relax, you will not be disappointed with this hotel

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank distantshores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here for one week as a group of four (two couples) and were allocated rooms 024 and 025, opposite the smaller of the two main pools and on the ground floor. Rooms were a little more spacious than I expected; there is a small space by the front door allocated for a third sleeper and separated from the main sleeping area by folding doors. Those doors got on my nerves by the end of the week - you couldn't open the wardrobe if the room dividing doors were open, and vice versa. The bathroom was lovely, although the shower has a tendency to leak through the curtain and over the floor. The hairdryer was a little more powerful than ones I’ve used in other hotels. I would have liked more hangers in the wardrobe, but there was plenty of space otherwise. The beds were very comfortable, although they were two single beds pushed together, each with its own single cover. The verandah had direct access to the smaller of the main pools as well as being close to the bar and restaurant. Overall, I really liked our room and positioning within the resort.

The staff were, on the whole, excellent. Our maid was lovely - spoke not a word of English but very obliging. Wait and bar staff seemed to be in their allocated place all day, every day, but they were lovely. Reception was always very helpful and great with recommendations for things to do. The two bartenders at the pool bar made me smile. The younger one because he thought he was God's gift to women; the old other because he was very friendly and chatty and nothing is too much trouble.

Achilles was a great place to eat. Breakfast was nothing remarkable – usually continental/British variety with cakes and croissants etc. The evening meals were often themed. During our stay we had an Italian, Far East and Greek night, with the head chef making up a specific dish to order at one station e.g. sushi or chicken gyros. Each night, there was a good selection of salads, desserts and generic foods such as pizza, chips, pasta etc. We also had an a la carte meal, included in the all-inclusive package, at the beach tavern, Argo. This served a set menu with limited choice within each: either Greek or Italian food, with two options for each of the five courses. I enjoyed the Greek meal, particularly the vegetable and herb balls and the baklava and ice cream, although the beef was a little chewy for my liking. We also ate lunch at Argo twice, and it served a small yet tasty selection of chicken skewers, chips and salad etc. Watch out for the menus though - the food to order was not included in the all-inclusive package.

There was an animation team which ran around daily organising activities such as water polo, archery, rifle shooting, aerobics and table tennis. Leo deserves a special mention for his enthusiasm and unrivalled cheeriness. There’s a noticeboard in the foyer detailing what takes place and when. There was also some form of entertainment each evening from 9:30pm, varying from a Miss Iberostar contest, a fire-eating/belly dancing couple, bingo and a disco. The Music Maestro piano playing chap deserves a very special mention: his singing is an exceptionally acquired taste. Aside from that, it’s either get out and see Kos, or chill out by the pool. The pools were not too cold and were never full, and we only had trouble getting sun loungers toward the end of the week when it seemed like the number of guests had increased by 50%. The indoor pool at the spa, however, is tiny and ice cold, and they charge you for the use of the sauna which is located in the changing/shower room, unlocked and does not notify you of the cost until you’re in there!

The lobby contains all the travel rep folders, as well as reps from car hire and bike hire companies. There’s plenty of car parking space and I would have liked to rent a car but time was against us in the end. There is an hourly bus that runs, seemingly circular, from Dolphin Square in Kos Town to Tingaki and back around via the Iberostar. The hotel is located between Tingaki and Lambi and is only served by one bus – other buses to Tingaki will probably involve a long walk. If you’re with Thomson, their buses pick you up from outside the hotel, and I’d recommend a trip up into Zia and over to Nisyros if you can.

Slight negatives: there was an awful smell of drains near the entrance, but one or two evenings the smell had moved to around the outside of the Sirens bar area (not near the restaurant). It's not major - you can move a foot in one direction and the smell is gone, but it’s worth a mention. Additionally, the music played quite late each night. This didn't matter to us because we tended to stay up late and sleep late, but if you're aiming for a nice 10pm bedtime, like I did on the first night, and your room is near the bar, you're probably not going to get it.

Overall, the hotel is very good with just a few niggles. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a chill-out week.

Room Tip: Beach rooms if you want the quiet before midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pro_extra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Best hotel we ever stayed in.beer and cocktails the proper stuff.cocktails made fresh.they must be 100%.we were tipsy most nights.food the best ever.most days.chicken.pork.rabbit.cannot fault it.staff so friendly.hotel so lovely.only downside is kos far away.bus every hour.takes 15 minutes to town.kos town so friendly.people work so hard to welcome you.we ve back hopefully next year..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JohnandJaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Just returned from holiday on 5th June 2013, to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. What a fabulous hotel, staff, everything just perfect, we arrived to Champagne and fresh fruit in the shape of a heart in the room, room cleansed daily, immaculate, lovely friendly staff, at all levels, nothing too much trouble, beautiful location. Thank You .

Room Tip: room 580 over looking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tigaki
2.8 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
6.4 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
6.2 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,286 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
9.6 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#2 of 39 in Kardamena
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa

Property: Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Address: PO Box 359, Tigaki 853 00, Greece (Formerly Iberostar Odysseus)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tigaki
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tigaki
#3 Family Hotel in Tigaki
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tigaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star Astir Odysseus Kos Resort & Spa, located just 5km. from the historical Kos town and 20km. from the airport, is an elegant and luxurious resort. Its contemporary services and facilities include stylish restaurants and bars, conference rooms, 5 swimming pools, tennis courts, climbing wall, mini club and playground, open air theatre, water sports, spa center with indoor pool, outdoor parking, 5x5 mini soccer, multi court, car and bike rental service. All the rooms and suites are equipped with LCD satellite TV, mini safe, coffee & tea making facilities, bathroom amenities and free Wi-Fi access. "Achilleas" restaurant offers delicious buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The "Argo" waterfront restaurant serves lunch and dinner. At lunch, guests can taste Greek specialties as well as freshly prepared barbecue dishes. The restaurant reopens its doors in the evening with especially designed exclusive menus. At the "A la Carte" restaurant "Ithaka", creative dishes are masterfully prepared for dinner. At dinner, dress code is required in all the hotel's restaurants. Beverages and refreshing cocktails are served at the "Sirens" bar and at the pool bar "Dawn". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa Kos/Tigaki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing