We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunshine Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunshine Hotel Apartments
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Tigaki
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great apartments - good location as its a little away from main road so not noisy at night but only three or four minute walk to tavernas and beach. Lovely family run place and spotlessly clean. Apartment was large and had all we needed. The girls welcomed us off the transfer and kissed us goodbye when we left. Tigaki is a lovely village and all the tavernas serve great food and service is excellent with friendly waiters. It has (in my opinion) the best beach on the island with soft white sand and lovely little trees on the beach. Kos Town is beautiful and only 2E bus ride away. Hired a jeep120E for three days. Mountain drives were spectacular. Other end of island wild and beautiful with pretty coastline. Have a look at the ruins on the beach in Kefalos bay and get a bacon sarnie at the beach bar in Kamari. Would definitely recommend these apartments, this resort and Kos island to anyone!

Room Tip: Room 24 was large and comfortable and a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blondieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    32
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
34
44
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We visited Sunshine for the fifth year between 3rd and 17 August 2013.
I believe this is graded a 3 star accommodation but to Gloria and I it has a 5 star heart.

Normally, we would book through a package, but this year decided to travel independently. Xenia gave me a lot of help and advice via email regarding, flights, room rates and taxi transfers.

Throughout our stay, Xenia Maria and the whole team made every effort to make your stay memorable, relaxing and truly enjoyable.

Katarina keeps the rooms very clean and tidy.

Michaels (probably spelt wrongly) helps to fatten you up with his wonderful range of cooking. Prices appear a little higher than other places, but after seeing the portion sizes and taking account of the 10% discount for residents the prices are very good.
Do not miss the BBq’s. Lamb on a Sunday and chicken on a Friday. Be round the pool at 15.45 to see the magic begin setting your taste buds alight for dinner in the evening.

We always get a very warm welcome from all the team.

I recommend these apartments to families with young children and older couples looking for rest and relaxation.

Gloria and David

Room Tip: Request a room on the upper floor or annexe to maximise privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davifagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from Sunshine with my mum , service can be a little slow if the taverna is busy , though if you are a resident there you do get 10% discount on all food and drink . Would I go back ? Maybe not to Sunshine , I think it's nicer for families ! Tingaki , yes , because it caters for all ages and its my third time there

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saranorthwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Just back from an excellent week at Sunshine Apartments in Tingaki, Kos.
We arrived at 12.45 am, the lovely staff were waiting outside to greet and welcome us, couldn't have been friendlier. Asked what time the bar closed, and was told that normally would have been closed by then, but they had kept it open for the new arrivals, and an ice cold beer was very much needed and appreciated after a very long day travelling.
Apartment (studio) was basic but functional, do take a travel kettle, and the incredibly friendly cleaners came in every other day.
If you have a problem with insects do keep your doors shut, there are some very interesting (large) crickets, and some little geckos around, not to mention frogs and toads.....luckily, we all love wildlife and see it as part of the Greek experience. (the local cats are very friendly too,and can be very vocal!!!)
Nothing was too much trouble for the lovely staff, from sorting out a glitch with our electric key, to making a cocktail not on their menu, And you get 10% off all food and drink in the family run taverna if you are staying there.
The pool is 1.55 metres deep all the way along, though there is a small, shallow kids pool too. The apartments are set back from the main road, so very quiet (no traffic noise) although the donkey on the adjacent meadow and the next door cockerel can be a bit noisy in the day time!!
All in all, a fantastic week, great people, lovely chilled atmosphere, not over crowded, and a perfect base to explore Tingaki and the rest of Kos.
The road train from the sea front takes you around the local area and up into the hills to a traditional village, 10 euros, kids free, and a trip to Zia (highest village on the island ) to watch the sunset is fab. Also a trip to Nissyros (volcano) is highly recommended. We saw a sea turtle swim past the boat!!
You wont get luxury here at Sunshine, but the beds are comfy, the apartments are clean, the bathrooms are Greek!!!!!! and the people are possibly the nicest I have encountered. Top place :-D

Room Tip: we had an inland facing studio, sun on the balcony all afternoon and evening. (room 12)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pinkhippychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraków
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

It was our first time in Kos Island and hopefully not the last one. We booked a studio and we got a big apartment for 4 people with separate bedroom, well equipped kitchen, bathroom and a nice balcony. It was a great time, staff were absolutely commited to their work, very helpful and outgoing. The restaurant run by the family serves traditional greek food - really worth trying. Apartments are located around 500 meters from the beach, there are also lots of places were you can hire a bicycle - you can easily see the whole island riding a bike, because it is quite small and flat. Anyway, fantastic place to go. :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cieszek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had a one bed apartment (no23) which was very spacious and fairly clean. The sheets didn't fit the beds and the towels were old and ripped. The cooking facilities were minimal, so make sure you take tea towel, scourer, kettle etc with you, especially if going very late in the season when almost all the shops are closed.
There are plenty of electric points so take at least 4 mosquito plug-ins because the rooms have high ceilings.The proximity to the salt lake and farm animals attract lots of flying insects.
We did get a few creepy crawlies like cockroaches and locusts because the cleaner left the door open but nothing to really worry about.

We had an absolutely fabulous time and Late October is a great time to go because there are so few people and very little traffic. The buses from the resorts stop in Oct, so hire a car or bike from Kos town or the airport. Nikos was the only vehicle hire shop still open and his insurance was not comprehensive and his mopeds were VERY dodgy!!

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor so less likely to get stray frogs, cats etc!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank welshladyNewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I have visited many Greek Islands and this was my second time on Kos, my last visit was to Mastichari 8 years ago which I loved. I had chosen this resort as it is flat and as my husband and I enjoy walking, knew that I would have no hills to slow me down.
We had a one bedroom apartment (no 23). It was spacious, had a nice size bathroom and plenty of wardrobe space. The apartment was spotless, the bins were emptied every day and the towels and sheets changed every 2 days. On the downside the kitchen equipment could have been better, there was no kettle and it took an age for the little pan to boil water and then not enough for 2 mugs of coffee, there was no cork screw and if you wanted to cook, little in the way of spatulas etc. However the food in the restaurant downstairs was very good (especially when dad was cooking) and we ate there on quite a few occasions. Xenia and Maria were friendly and helpful and very eager to please.
There are many small lanes around Tigaki and we had some very enjoyable walks of between 2 & 10 miles a day. A very pleasant walk around the salt lake (be aware there may be naturists at the next beach along) and watch out for cyclists. We also hires bikes for a day which was great fun, although I am a bit wobbly having not ridden one for years.
The resort itself was a bit too commercial down the main strip for us, we don't want wall to wall loud music, we prefer the traditional greek taverna's, but these were to be found and Alexis along the beach (go left at the roundabout) was one of these. Great food, great prices and friendly family.
The little train which runs up to the village of Zipari is a nice trip, but you don't really have long enough there. We asked if we could wait for a later train back and that gave us time to see more of the local attractions and enjoy lunch at the taverna on the square.
A must see if you are interested in archeology is the Asklepielion, a taxi from Tigaki will cost about 20e, but there is a lillte train from there which will take you into Kos Town. As it was all downhill to Kos Town we walked (30-45 mins, some of the roads quite busy). There are also some excellent archeological sites in Kos Town, however be aware that some of them are closed on a Monday as is the Castle. The Castle is only open until 3pm the rest of the week, last entry at 2.45pm.
If you have never been to Turkey, then it's easy to get to Bodrum from Kos Town. Many day trips available on the Harbour for about 10e per person. Buses from Tigaki into Kos Town about every hour and 2e per person.
Overall a good varied holiday, lovely beach (great for Kids due to shallow water) We paid 5e a day for 2 sunbeds so shop around.Plenty of bars and restaurants if you want them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SemiRetiredCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tigaki hotels
0.2 mi away
Marianna Hotel
Marianna Hotel
#6 of 23 in Tigaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tigaki's Star Hotel
Tigaki's Star Hotel
#8 of 23 in Tigaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akti Dimis Hotel
Akti Dimis Hotel
#5 of 23 in Tigaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Ilios Hotel
Ilios Hotel
#18 of 23 in Tigaki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smartline More Meni Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Hotel Apartments

Property: Sunshine Hotel Apartments
Address: Tigaki 85300, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Tigaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunshine Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sunshine Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Apartments Kos/Tigaki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing