We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Time Unlucky!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunshine Hotel Apartments
Ranked #6 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Tigaki
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Third Time Unlucky!”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This was our third visit to these apartments. We had forgotten how very basic the kitchen facilities are. Our daughter had a studio, whereas my husband and I had a one-bed apartment, albeit only about three apartments away from hers. Her kitchen area was superior to ours in terms of available workspace. However, since the only pots and pans provided were one battered once-non-stick frypan, a large saucepan and a Greek coffee pot for heating on the very small front ring (of two), that wasn't really an issue. The cutlery and crockery were tatty and mis-matched. We had to go for our showers at around 5.00pm to ensure hot water, and that was in mid-October at the end of the season. We managed to "acquire" a 2-slice toaster (bought from Asda!) to make toast for our breakfast, but did not have the facilities for anything more adventurous. Bread is astronomically expensive in Tingski - even the local brands. Do take good mossie repellant with you, containing Deet, as there is no pharmacy there and the only repellants you can buy aren't good enough. Tingaki is brilliant - it was our daughter's first visit and she can't wait to go back, but we all three said that we would never go back to the Sunshine Aartments. We had most of our meals at Dana on the seafront - fantastic food and service.

Room Tip: If you don't need a separate bedroom, you may well find a studio apartment is quite adequate, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bosmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    35
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
41
47
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Byfleet
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Absolutely wonderful apartments. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The bar and restaurant were very reasonably priced. These apartments are nice and quiet, being slightly outside of the resort but within a very easy 5/10 minute of all the bars, restaurants and beach. We would definitely consider going there again as we go to Greece at least once a year and these are some of the best apartments we've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: If you are self catering, rooms 10-15 are good sized studios, on the ground floor, and look over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auntie Jam Jar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed from the 31/08 - 7/09. This is the first time my wife and I have been to Greece, and we didn't really know what to expect, and since our tickets were cheap last minute deals we didn't have very high expectations, but we were pleasantly surprised. From the outside it doesn't look that welcoming but is in a good location, about 5 mins walk from the main strip with bars and restaurants and 10 mins from the beach.
The room itself is very basic but has everything you need and is cleaned once every two days with towels changed. The shower is rather small and it requires you to hold the shower head whilst you shower. On several occasions though there was only mildly warm water and on the rare occasion would you get hot water. The stove and kitchen utensils were adequate enough for you to make breakfast which was convenient. Note: there is no kettle!
If you are a target for mosquitoes, we would advise you to purchase air-conditioning for 6.50 euros/day because its not worth leaving the balcony door open while you sleep!!
There is also free wireless internet if you have a laptop which is good since there isn't a tv in the rooms.
The restaurant offers a decent selection of food choices at a very reasonable price and there is also a 10% discount of food and drink for residents of the hotel. We dined at the restaurant twice (breakfast and dinner) and found both meals pleasing.
Overall we enjoyed our stay at the sunshine apartments and would recommend it for any couples looking for a quiet relaxed holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Stayed end July/Aug for 2 weeks, but very disappointed this year. Stayed last year and had a great room (see last years glowing review below), but this year we had room number 1, I think this may be the worst room, it was about half the size of the apartment we had before, we only had hot water in the evening (at 19:00) twice in 2 weeks, had to shower by 17:00, think our water tank was shared with the communal showers, so on transfer days, there was a lack of hot water.

There was no privacy in the rooms as the balcony was on a walk way, had to keep curtains closed otherwise everyone looked in.

If you opened the wardrobe door you couldn’t get in or out of the bathroom.

We asked to be moved, they said they would try, but said they were full up and it wasn’t possible.

We loved it here last year and couldn’t wait to return, so we did, but we won’t be able to stay again as you can’t be sure what type of room you will get.

Such a shame, because it is an excellent location and very quiet at night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesleyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

New apartments are a great stay. Tigaki offers everything you need on a summer holiday. Great beach, many taverns. You can eat at sunshine or in any of the 20+ places in town. Compact town. Apartment staff can help.you with rent of bikes, scooter, car. Book directly instead of via a tour operator and save 100's. Transfer can be arranged by the apartment owners

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cajl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

I've just come back from the Sunshine Apts in Tingaki and loved it. Have been to Greek Islands for approx 16 years now and thought it was lovely. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable. If you haven't been to the Greek Islands before obviously you're not sure of what to expect and having been lots of times, I was pleasantly surprised at the apartments. They are lovely people there and the cleaning lady was lovely as well. Ref the remark about taking drinks and food to Pool, you'll find this at most the places you stay in Greece. The staff couldn't do enough for you and I will definitely go again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathycatsgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We have travelled in Greece for self catering for many years and have not stayed in such abysmal accommodation, cockraoches in our apartment, very poorly equiped, no kettle , toaster, cooking utensils, insufficient crockery&cutlery , broken fridge, dirty rooms, frayed and grubby towels, bedsheets with holes, broken terrace table, not enough chairs, 4 person apartment what a joke! not the Greece I know.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank banksia49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tigaki hotels
0.2 mi away
Marianna Hotel
Marianna Hotel
#7 of 23 in Tigaki
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tigaki's Star Hotel
Tigaki's Star Hotel
#9 of 23 in Tigaki
175 reviews
2.9 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sunset Hotel
Sunset Hotel
#13 of 23 in Tigaki
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
More Meni Beach
More Meni Beach
#11 of 23 in Tigaki
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oasis Studios & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Hotel Apartments

Property: Sunshine Hotel Apartments
Address: Tigaki 85300, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Tigaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunshine Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunshine Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Apartments Kos/Tigaki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing