We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Will Definately Not Return to Sunshine Apartments” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunshine Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunshine Hotel Apartments
Ranked #6 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Tigaki
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We Will Definately Not Return to Sunshine Apartments”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

We have travelled in Greece for self catering for many years and have not stayed in such abysmal accommodation, cockraoches in our apartment, very poorly equiped, no kettle , toaster, cooking utensils, insufficient crockery&cutlery , broken fridge, dirty rooms, frayed and grubby towels, bedsheets with holes, broken terrace table, not enough chairs, 4 person apartment what a joke! not the Greece I know.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank banksia49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    32
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
34
44
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

My first impression of the greek island was amazing, with this being my first time to greece i didnt know what to expect.

We arrived at the apartments and were shown our rooms, in which we was amazed by the size. The apartments are very basic, which we expected anyway, few plates, hop, glasses and fridge.

The air con is priced at 85 euros for 2 weeks, but you can only use it when your in the apartment because there is a magnet on your keys to activate the power supply in the room. The safe is 15 euros for 2 weeks which is not bad.

Sunshine sell water at the reception which is 2.50 which is brilliant, also selling may other drinks from coke to beer. But there is several signs saying "YOU CAN NOT TAKE THESE DRINKS TO THE POOL AREA, YOU MUST BUY DRINKS AND FOOD FROM THE BAR". But they will gladly sell you bottle of water for 2 euros from the bar!

We used the Sunshine as mainly somewhere to sleep, we got the impression from all the staff, if you wasnt using there taverna, they wasnt interested! One of the waiter Vergelis couldnt do enough for you, he was brilliant!!

Down the strip there are several places to eat we found a few:

Meni
Vossills
Dana (on the beach)

These places were so welcoming and always treated you as if you were the only customer in the place. Food was very reasonable and very big portions!!

Sorry but we will never use the sunshine again, we walked down to the Mayflower and also we seen some very nice accomodation in the area which puts sunshine to shame. When we arrived we notice 2 seperate blocks, we were informed one was for the dutch, after speaking to a nice family, they informed us they have coffee makers, kettles, toasters, air con, mossie nets on the doors. They do cater for the dutch more and you can tell the level of service between the british and dutch from the staff.

The only positive thing about it was the cleaner was fantastic, so welcoming, friendly and always smiling!

Room Tip: room 19, room 17.... staff away from room 1!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrwallcc1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

The Sunshine apartments are excellent, they are in the perfect location down a side road so nice and quiet, they are very clean, bins emptied every day. They have their own taverna which is excellent and is very popular.

We had a 1 bedroom apartment on the ground floor which had 2 patio doors onto a large balcony. The aircon worked very well and was definately needed, the safe is in the wardrobe. The apartment is very basic, but this did not bother us, the main thing is it is very clean and very spacious. There are alot of sockets, which is very unusual. The shower had hot water every day.

The shower hook in our apartment was broken but luckily I took a suction shower hook called 'SHUC' and this worked perfectly - would recommend one of these as alot of apartments in Greece don't have shower hooks they are just hand held.

The supermarker, shops, bars and restaurants are 2 minutes walk away and the beach is about 5 minutes walk, the high street is flat so a nice easy walk. When we went in July there were a lot of Mosquito's, but we used 'Buzz Off' spray from superdrug and neither of us got a single bite.

The owners are extremely friendly, we would love to go back, hopefully this year.

The transfer time was about 30 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LesleyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

We have stayed here a couple of times now and we are due to go back again in a couple of weeks. The apartments are spacious and very clean. The only problem was no kettle, you have to boil water in a saucepan, it does the job, just takes a bit longer !!! The apartment is in an ideal setting, quiet but only a 5 minute walk from the shops / bars and beaches. The owners are very friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. The pool was clean and the bar serves snacks and meals in the evenings. You have to pay a little extra for air con (it was very effective !!!) and a safe, but the cost is reasonable. There is a small shop but we only really used it for water as there are much bigger supermarkets etc close by. We were able to stay in our room a little longer which helps when you have a night flight. All in all, this was a fab place to stay, and every time i head back to Kos im planning on staying here, surely that says it all !!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cazb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2010

Great service, Excellent food, Great rooms, Great prices.... What else? We just could not ask for better... We will deffinitly go back any time and stay with them.

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank lprn1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tigaki hotels
0.2 mi away
Marianna Hotel
Marianna Hotel
#6 of 23 in Tigaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tigaki's Star Hotel
Tigaki's Star Hotel
#8 of 23 in Tigaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akti Dimis Hotel
Akti Dimis Hotel
#5 of 23 in Tigaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Ilios Hotel
Ilios Hotel
#17 of 23 in Tigaki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smartline More Meni Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Hotel Apartments

Property: Sunshine Hotel Apartments
Address: Tigaki 85300, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Tigaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Tigaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunshine Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sunshine Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Apartments Kos/Tigaki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing