We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“French hospitality at its best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Marechalerie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Marechalerie
Ranked #1 of 1 Monthodon B&B and Inns
Dundee
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“French hospitality at its best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

A lovely stay and a memorable experience - thanks Danny and Patricia.

We loved the area, we loved the accommodation, we loved the breakfasts, we loved the friendly conversations with the other guests, assisted by Danny's linguistic skills and we really appreciated Danny's carefully prepared maps and itineraries.

Try the Tabac/Restaurant down in the next village, run by Didier and his charming wife - no Menu, just a fabulous 4-Course Dinner with wine and coffee included, for under 13 Euros per head!!

All in all, a super stay that we extended on the strength of our first day!!

For anoraks, Danny has an eclectic selection of Citroen cars, a Citroen 2CV based Tractor and some interesting looking vintage bicycles!

Room Tip: Choose a room looking over the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrumpyDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    18
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
54
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We went to La Marechalerie in august 2012 and we descovered a very beautiful place to stay , comfortable , warm , clean ,the living was very interesting - we really felt like home .We descovered a very quiet and picturesque place, very friendly owners who would always help you with anything. It is very easy to become friends with Dany and Patricia because they are very open , easy to talk to, sincere and poliglots. Because of them we would definitely like to be back again. You must live
this french experience !
Thats why France is beautiful - because of the people ,their imagination and their idea of living shared with others.
With friendship, Monica and Lucian- Romania

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dumitru L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We've had a very good time in this cosy little hotel. We lived in an appartment on a ground floor and really felt like home. Very quiet and picturesque place, very friendly owners who would always help you with anything, very nice and spacious room. Would definitely like to be back again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Home from home in a French rural environment, starting off with a very warm welcome. If you understand some French, the Saturday night dinner is a "must"

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDK4448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Forget the big towns and cities. If you want to experience rural France visit Dannny and Patricia.
The rooms are clean and comfortable. The atmosphere is great and the dinner on the weekends are superb thanks to Patricia , Danny is superb keeping the conversation going between guests as there is quite a mixture of nationalities and Danny translates.. it is fun evenings. Breakfast times are great too you sample the real French breakfast and sit at one table where you meet your fellow travellers . Danny welcomes you with his house wines one never knows what to expect. There are lots of interesting drives in the countryside to places of interest and Danny has them all documented. Chateau Renault is about 20 minute drive and here you can buy all your needs
Thank you to Danny and Patricia we can experience France as it should be.Price is great too not overpriced. Xx. Ian and Cath
Australia

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear overlook the lovely Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian-Cath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

the web page was great but pictures of the rooms were not clearly shown and that should had put me on alert. it is neither close ( 35 minutes) to all main points of interest as advertised..unless of course you are a formula 1 driver. The breakfast about the worse anywhere in france. Tosted old bread for breakfast???.
Dany does a good job in preparing iteneraries for you but that is not enough to compensate. the place is in a village- not out in the country side as you may gather from the web page.
If you still want to go, make sure you get a room facing the garden. ours was facing the street and had for a view my car tires. All rooms cost the same. Needless to say we cut our stay short.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mamzanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monthodon
12.1 mi away
Le Fleuray
Le Fleuray
#1 of 1 in Cangey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
4.6 mi away
Le Lurton
Le Lurton
#2 of 3 in Chateau-Renault
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Marechalerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Marechalerie

Property: La Marechalerie
Address: Le Sentier 6 rue des Rosiers, 37110 Monthodon, Chateau-Renault, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chateau-Renault > Monthodon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Monthodon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This old Farrier timbered 18th century has preserved its authenticity with its forge-fire and beams weathered by time. House of character entirely devoted to our guests, it is located in a small hamlet near Amboise, in the heart of the Loire castles. The 5 cozy guest rooms and 2 studios with antique furniture, all with shower and WC, are overlooking a beautiful wooded valley ... Breakfast included, living-dining room reserved for our guests with kitchen available, wireless access free, computer available for free, proposal from circuits visits, large landscaped garden with relax - barbecue and furniture, stream, woods, meadows . Our 2 studios (one room apartment) are each 35m2 and includes 1 double bed 140X190cm, private shower and toilet, a little kitchen with fridge and cooker, table and chairs, armchairs.... The price is the same as a room for 2 people, but without breakfasts and evening meals and for stay not less than 5 nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Marechalerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing