We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant in Cabo Rojo”
Review of El Gatito

El Gatito
Ranked #19 of 128 Restaurants in Cabo Rojo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Cabo Rojo”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Their seafood is very good and fresh. I had mofongo with seafood and it was the best ever. The service was great and the price is not too bad. Everything tasted so delicious.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank laamapola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    32
    12
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good seafood but a bit pricey”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Went on a Sunday afternoon and the place was packed. My brother is a regular here so we were greeted quickly and seated in the air conditioned dining area which was a bit too cold. I didn't see others receiving the same attention which would have annoyed me if it happened to me...everyone has the potential to be a repeat customer!

We ordered surrullitos (corn fritter shaped like a small cigar) which were great. The Octopus Mofongo was good but had too much sauce. The Octopus was fresh and tender...very tasty. I felt the price was a bit high considering the portion. Gonzalez seafood in Mayaguez offered larger portions with similar prices. The empanadillas of conch were awesome!! I tried going back during the week to try other items but it was closed so I'm not sure if they are only open on weekends during non summer months. But lucky me because that's when I came across Gonzalez Seafood restaurant. I would return my next trip in P.R. but only for the empanadillas for other seafood and great service Gonzalez is the place for me!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCP0424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great seafood, great prices...”
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We've visited this place for over 10 years; its a good family establishment, consistent in their offerings and atmosphere. The prices are very reasonable for the size of their portions; my all time favorite is their "conch salad / ensalada de carrucho" the kids always enjoy the "empanadillas de Chapin" the octopus is awesome as well.. The only downside is the service, most of the employees are very slow; but our favorite waiter is Omar, he is Very , very attentive.. If you are looking for fresh seafood and local fare, go to el gatito. We will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kokylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“bad food & service”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

went on a monday & it was empty. the place was jammed all weekend sow e thought that it would be good. It was not! The best thing was the octopus salad, The fried whole snapper was the worst I've had. it tasted old & under seasoned. the shrimp mofongo was rubbery. Go to Tino's, we wish we would have gone back there this night.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Luke I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This place is the place to go to get seafood at very reasonable prices. In the area, it is the one where you get the most for your money.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HENRY N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gatito also viewed

Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico
Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico
 
Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico
Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico
 
Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico
Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to El Gatito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing