We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grate view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Cabo Rojo
Reviewed August 30, 2010

It was not the first time on this hotel. We loved the view from the pools and love the fact that my baby had one pool to play with near chairs to watch him. The mosquito where everywhere at any time that was really horrible for me and my family... everyone was nice with us, the food was ok, the room where clean, but they had some problems with the electricity, in once my baby felt and hit his head with the furniture and that really upset me... Overall... is a nice place to spend with your familiy, but need to carry with a bug spray a candel or a flashlight!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marginet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia_Salinas, Asistant Supervisor at Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2010

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you have a great time. We are so sorry about the incident with your baby but we already fix the problem with the light going out. Yes we do have some issue with the mosquitos and small bugs but we bought some liquit for the bamboo stick that at least we can control the mosquitos.

We just hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 376 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2010

Not a resort by no means! The pool area is attractive with pretty white couches, and beach chairs and strategically placed awnings for shade as you walked along the pathways, I did appreciate that for the when it rained. However, if you hang around make sure you put on massive amounts of bug spray over your sunscreen. But buyer beware! I was in a King bed room. Before you entered you had to move quickly in the room because the door frame was covered with insects! It had a separate living room. The lighting in the bedroom was extremely dim, annoying. The bathroom had a shower with barely any water pressure. It was decent overall. The living room to me was the worse part.They had a large console table with mirror, that was the nicest thing in the room. I think the couch, if you can call it that was more like a bench, was worn with wicker or bamboo with wood (so called Spanish style furniture). Very uncomfortable, it had dilapidated cushions on a hard surface. A rocking chair, same style. And an old TV set. I didn't have a window in any part of the room. I never felt relaxed except when we left the grounds. WHY you ask! Because I was constantly swatting off mosquitoes! I stayed their four nights, we used the pool once. We ate at the restaurant once, the mosquitos did enjoy their meal more than we did. The waiters and bar tenders were charming, the meal was ok, the lights went out as we waited to pay our tab. The breakfast buffet was cold and not very good especially for Puerto Rico. Every morning I couldn't wait to leave the place. The hotel had a tiny office to check in, etc. I asked a few questions about the area, not very informative. The hotel should supply their guests with bug spray. The best part was the drive to the Cabo Rojo Lighthouse and checking out!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creativeoutlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia_Salinas, Asistant Supervisor at Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2010

We regret that you had an experience not very good in our Parador. We are located in front of a mangrove through which we find it difficult to control the mosquito. We bought a liquid for at least control mosquitoes. The problem we had with the light was of a short circuit on the outskirts of our Parador that was out of our reach and we used our electricity plant to provide light for guests. Our rooms are 1 to 2 queen size beds and if we have a King size bed that was what you asked us and also the style of the rooms are Spanish antique and contemporary at the same time. It will be making improvements to our Parador and to our rooms will be making new changes. Thank you very much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

This is not our first time.But it was our first dissappoitment .The location is beautiful.Our aircondition broke on the second day! In July!! Notify eraly in the morning so they can fix the problem ,it was midnight before they did something about it All day we coolant go inside it was so hot!.nobody to give a straight answer . Spa services Overpriced,had a manicure and pedicure for almost the price of the room,did not even got the massage with it.Good luck if you want something from the bar.Hospitality from the staff is almost none.hopefully they read this reviews and do something to improve.This is a beautiful place but not the only one.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amapola23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia_Salinas, Asistant Supervisor at Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2010

We regret that you have not enjoyed your stay. We are making improvements to our Parador for the enjoyment of our guests. We always treat the guest with kindness and respect. Fixed the problem we had with the air conditioning. We have economic packages in our Spa. Thank you for your review and apologize for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

The overall service was good. We were received with a candid smile in front desk. At breakfast time the service was a little bit slow. The employees were very friendly. The room was very accomodating, we were place next to the pool and very near the restaurant, it was perfect for us. The furniture is all spanish looking. The resort is small but they have these gazebos all covered in white fabric all over the property which makes it the more romantic. The pool is great and it seems neverending. The service at the Cuni Spa is great they treated me like a queen. They have complimentary coffee in the rooms and the resort is located next to one of the most beautiful beaches in the area "Playa Sucia'' which is gorgeous. It is also close by to Combate and Boqueron which are another two beaches and were you can find lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita2386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia_Salinas, Asistant Supervisor at Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2010

We are happy to know that you have a pleasants days in our Parador. We are making improvements to enjoy our guest. Thank you for your review and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Nice facility, clean except for the pool. Beautiful infinity pool with great lounging areas.....but. The water was cloudy, so bad that we didn't go in. Except for the bugs, the restaurant was nice. Buffet breakfast and dinner was good. I had a fish filet with garlic sauce that was delicious. But over priced at $175 a night even with the included meals.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FullMoonSJU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia_Salinas, Asistant Supervisor at Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2010

We are glad that you had a great time in your stay. We are located in front off the salt mines as well as our road is not paved and the wind brings the dirt andthe flying animals sometimes fall into the water and we always keeping swimming pools cleaned. Thank you for your suggestions and have a good day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Great hotel if you pay less than 125 a night. The hotel is great but its in the middle of mangroves. Bring lots of OFF if u dont want to get bitten. Not a true beach but there are a few beaches nearby. Make sure u get a room with a terrace. Also the pool bar and grill is closed on the weekdays.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtaandysoto1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia_Salinas, General Manager at Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2010

I'm glad that you have a nice time in our hotel. We just re-open the Balahoo's Pool Bar for the delight of our guest. We are going to make new changes to our hotel and we have a small beach when you pass the dock is like 15 or 20 minutes distant by walking. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

the hotel is in a good condition, a good place to relax beautifull view of the ocean. However the rooms needs an upgrade to a modern style such as lcd tv. In addition the restaurant requires more variety in the menu. A more lively atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nakarieuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Rojo
2.1 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Cabo Rojo
718 reviews
5.3 mi away
Aquarius Vacation Club
Aquarius Vacation Club
#1 of 4 in Boqueron
351 reviews
26.4 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Mayaguez Resort & Casino
9.7 mi away
Parador Villa Parguera
26.3 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel

Address: Carr 301 Km 11 | Sector el Faro, Cabo Rojo 00622, Puerto Rico (Formerly Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Cabo Rojo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Cabo Rojo
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Salinas Beach Hotel Cabo Rojo
Bahia Salinas Beach Resort And Spa
Hotel Bahia Salinas Beach
Bahia Salinas Puerto Rico
Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa
Salinas Beach Hotel Bahia
Bahia Salinas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing