We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS PLACE IS UNIQUE AN AWESOME”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Cabo Rojo
Reviewed March 1, 2010

This is my favorite place in Cabo Rojo, Its very nice and clean. The pool is absolutely beautiful and relaxing, the restaurant, "Con el Agua al Cuello"is excellent, great food, great service. I will return as soon as possible with my boyfriend, maybe we will marry here (who knows), I recommend this 110%. If you want to have a unique and romantic experience this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia_Salinas, Asistant Supervisor at Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2010

We are happy that you have the best experience of your life. We are going to make new changes in our Parador to make it more comfortable to our guest. Thank you for your review and have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 376 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2010

My husband and i staed here last month --it was great, we stayed 2 extra nights. They had a great weekday rate of $81 including tax and a sumptuous buffet breakfast. We raraly needed lunch. Down the potholed unpaved road to the faro(lighthouse) lies what is to me the loveliest beach in Puerto Rico, clean, wavey but protected by a reef, enclosed withing a cove of high red cliffs. looks like a Monet in Brittany painting. We had to walk the last 1/2 mile as our car could not manage the holes. There are large sea grape trees for shelter from the sun. No facilities-bring water food etc. pack it out pack it in.
The hotel had a great pool overlooking the ocean--it gave the illusion of flowing right into the sea. Beautiful sunsets. On clear nights the stars wrere great. The rooms were fine, comfortable. No one would go to stay inside. The dinner menu was fusion, I guess. mofongo stuffed with squid in a mushroon wine sauce. That was a little weird. if you want more typical food, you could eat in Combate or even Joyuda. This was a very relaxing pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia_Salinas, Asistant Supervisor at Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2010

We are happy that you have the best experience of your life. In our restaurant they serve international and local food and you can choose a variaty of meals but thank you for the review. We are going to make new changes in our Parador to make it more comfortable to our guest. Thank you for your review and have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

We stay for weekend during Christmas at a great price. I love the location because is so close to one of the most beautiful beaches in Puerto Rico and far away from everything else. The staff was really friendly and the pool is awesome. The place is really quite and nice. Love the hammocks and the rocking chairs! The furniture at the pool is great and really comfy!

Breakfast was good, never really tried the restaurant. Had some trouble with the internet, and the bathrooms could use a remodel. Besides that, I love this place.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank califun019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia_Salinas, Asistant Supervisor at Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2010

We are really happy to know that you have a great time at our hotel. Were going to make new changes in our facilities to make it more confortable the next time you visit us. Thanks for your suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

I consider that this hotel has great potential, but it needs more remodeling. I stayed last weekend it was a romantic getaway for me and my husband. Our room was a little too small and the bathroom was outdated. The bathrooms for the public and the use of those in the pool were much better than the one in our room. The place looks romantic and cozy which I liked a lot. We had a 1/2 hour massage in which I personally think the messause does not have the experience and they used to much oil. What we liked the most was the food it was great and the waiter who attended us "Kenneth" was very friendly and helpful, good service. They should have more parking space. Overall we think its a very nice place for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linserpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia_Salinas, Asistant Supervisor at Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2010

I'm glad that you have a great stay at our hotel. We are making new changes during this year to make our room more elegant and modern. We hope to see you again and thanks for your staying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

The setting is beautiful other than the odor from the mangrove but that is understandable. The hotel is old and run down and they charge like you were in a 4 star resort. The pool was always cloudy and the room was awful complained about the bed spring various times always the same answer, the resort is full, even though it did not seem to be many people walking around.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rman971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia_Salinas, Asistant Supervisor at Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2010

Were sorry that you didn't have a good time at our hotel. We took out the kind of locks because they were getting old and rusty but you have a lock on the door that is why you have a key. Our hotel concept is to have a relaxing week or weekend far away from the routing day and we do care about the place and that is why we are making new changes to the hotel so that we can make it more modern and beautiful. Thank you for your review and have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

An absolute rip-off! An over-priced, over-marketed, poor-on-delivery old parador under new management hoping to pull the wool over the public! At $250/night, it was underwhelming and extremely disappointing. The formerly free, open and warm mineral bath is now $25.00 for 25 minutes, COLD, and enclosed in four walls and the obviously untrained and non-certified massage therapist ushered us out after only 15 minutes! Her massage at $75.00/hour/person was nothing more than pouring lots of oil on our skin and lightly rubbing it for only 35 minutes in a very cold room which we were happy to leave. While this "spa" promoted "one towel per person for the swimming pool," for each of our three days there, they could never supply more than one. "Meals included" was nothing more than a $12.00/dinner/person allowance against much higher prices and a breakfast allowance of $5.00/person -- we paid an expensive net for otherwise plain ordinary Puerto Rican food -- albeit well-prepared. Our second floor tiny room "overlooking the ocean" consisted of one queen bed, ONE chair, two uncomfortable aluminum lawn chairs on a narrow "deck", a noisy air conditioner, a fuzzy picture TV and an ill-fitting "fitted" sheet that we had to continually readjust throughout the nights. The two free drink coupons yielded cheap drinks from a very limited menu. For dinner entertainment, they played a televised DVD like a "broken record," that they kept forgetting to re-set and played so loud we needed ear plugs to have a quiet dinner. A lousy excuse for a Spa in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PallidinMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia_Salinas, Asistant Supervisor at Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2010

We are sorry that you have a bad expririence in our hotel. In our spa the employee all of them have their own certificate and diplomas we only contract person with expirience. In this year we are going to make new changes to the hotel and rooms to make them more modern and beautiful. We have the music on the restaurant because most of the people like to hear music when they are eating. The parador have the same owner for almost 14 years. Were sorry for your bad expirience and have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

This is a review of the spa only. Six of us visited the spa and had a variety of services. The visit was a mess from the time we check in until we finished the last service. Now I know why you have to prepay for the services, because after the first service, we would have left. The checkin was a disaster and it took 30 minutes just to get straight the services we wanted and got the receipt to go and pay for them. We had two spanish speakers so that wasn't the problem. Stay out of the mineral bath--filled with bugs. The treatment rooms were freezing and one of the technicians had clearly not been trained as a masseuse. She was only interested in making sure we had tipped her, and whether we could buy products, and telling us she gave us extra treatments, looking for more tips. No blankets in the massage treatment wrrooms, only BEACH TOWELS. During one massage, when a client was laying pretty naked (which should never happen with a proper massage), someone came in to talk to the technician and they carried on a conversation with the door open! They clearly don't know what a real spa is and the way services should be performed. We do not need constant chatter during the facials and massages. This spa is an imposter. Very expensive. The only positive was the beautiful setting at the pool, waiting for our services. The lunch was only adequate and there was not a bartender at the bar. Service is just lacking everywhere.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fabbiola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia_Salinas, Asistant Supervisor at Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2010

Were sorry for the bad expirience in our spa. The mineral water looks like that becuase all the minerals that have on the water and the more pinky she look the more mineral have. The reason why they but one on the mineral water when the other have the massage is because you won't feel like you weren't atended and wait a long time at the lobby. Thank you for you review sorry for the inconvinience and we are going to take action on the situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Rojo
2.1 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Cabo Rojo
708 reviews
5.3 mi away
Aquarius Vacation Club
Aquarius Vacation Club
#1 of 4 in Boqueron
346 reviews
9.7 mi away
Parador Villa Parguera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
804 reviews
5.3 mi away
Parador Boquemar
Parador Boquemar
#2 of 4 in Boqueron
204 reviews
18.8 mi away
Mayaguez Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel

Address: Carr 301 Km 11 | Sector el Faro, Cabo Rojo 00622, Puerto Rico (Formerly Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Cabo Rojo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Cabo Rojo
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Salinas Beach Resort And Spa
Bahia Salinas Beach Hotel Cabo Rojo
Hotel Bahia Salinas Beach
Bahia Salinas Puerto Rico
Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa
Salinas Beach Hotel Bahia
Bahia Salinas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing