We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and romantic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Cabo Rojo
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

What a charming hotel!. Very tropical and romantic and its very close to a goregous blue pristine beach. Also the cliffs near by are stunning! Food is excellent bit pricey though but worth every penny.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank anapr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 376 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

my family was in need of a get away just the 4 of us and ended up in this hotel. At first i wasnt happy with some details like the "beach", some tear up furniture, and the undered staff. every thing changed when Angel the owner informed us of the renovations! Angel make sure my dad (handycap) had a great time! breakfast and dinner is included and the food was amazing (i work in a hotel in condado so im very demanding) the staff like Osvaldo and Joel from the restaurant, Jose the handyman the girls in front desk and the housekippers where very friendly. i know the hotel need aome repairs in some details fot the better of them but overall im gonna go more often just cause its the perfect spot for a getaway!!

thanks for everything!!!
Carmelo, Sandra, Sandra, Karla from trujillo alto :)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SandyJan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

The Bahia Salinas is set up all along the Caribbean shore, so it starts off with the fresh scent of the perfect blue Caribbean Sea as a backdrop. They are mangroves and it's a little icky to swim - in fact you sink up to your knees but the Bahia has gorgeous infinity pools scattered around with lounge chairs. The salt flats are near by as well as a nature preserve and a beach where you can take long walks to the lighthouse. The restaurant is wonderful, the service was excellent - the staff is professional - friendly, helpful and the servings generous fresh and beautiful. The morning buffet was great, hot, lots of coffee and fruits. Off season the place feels like it's yours. My only discomfort was the room. You had to have air conditioning on - the pests didn't allow for open windows and it was too warm for that anyway, and although I felt it was like sleeping in a cement bunker and didn't sleep, I would go back in a heartbeat and probably opt for a second story room with ceiling fan and blast the buggers out. This probably wouldn't bother most people and the place is very tranquil, beautiful and the staff top notch. Our meals were average restaurant price, a little on the high side but for the quality and variety well worth it. In spite of the feeling of being in a cement bunker at night, I love this place.

Room Tip: If you prefer open windows and don't like being hermetically sealed, the second story rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Pros:
1. Dinner and Breakfast that were included in room cost were descent.
2. Kayaks were available to rent onsite (For $15/hr extra charge)
3. Rooms were clean, Bathrooms need major renovations.
4. Not too far of a drive to the lighthouse (only attraction around)
Cons:
1. Very High security which makes it very inconvenient if you want to enter your “Resort” after 8 PM. (No Guests ALLOWED at any time of the day)
2. Was not allowed to bring luggage cart out to my car to retrieve suitcases.
3. NO COOLERS… even though there was no refrigerator in room.
4. Staff does not maintain poolside furniture. (Tears and rips in lounging furniture)
5. Beach maximum of 2 ft. deep… Not swimmable.
6. $25 EXTRA charge if you do not turn off your room lights and AC when you leave the room.
7. Restaurant was open air which was hot and no fans, lots of small mosquitos that bite.
8. Bar was not open a lot of the times we went up to get drinks. (Place seems under staffed)
9. Very secluded from everything (nothing to do in the evening as the pool closes at 7PM!)

For the cost of the room I was expecting A LOT more. We were thoroughly disappointed with our stay. I would not recommend any travelers to stay here. Keep searching for another place to stay as this place is NO RESORT…

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FLWorldTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We happened to find this hotel after a full day in Playa Sucia (one of the best beaches in the main land, if not the best). We just needed a place to crash for the night and leave next day so I had no expectations at all. I was delightfully surprised when we passed the check in area and found a hidden paradise in the middle of nowhere. Clean and warm infinity pool overlooking the Caribbean Sea, flowers and coconut palms in every corner, sun beds, canopy beds and lounge chairs everywhere. We witnessed a beautiful sunset from the pool and thought that this is a great place for couples to retreat from routine. Very romantic, especially at night when you can lay down on one of the lounge chairs right on the beach and watch the stars. Lots of mosquitos on the evening/night due to the nature of hotel's location. Bring Off! and problem solved.

We were 3 ppl and room was spacious for all of us. It was not fancy, luxurious or cozy, just sufficient for it's purpose. Here is where I think the hotel should make improvements. I don't think the rooms keep up with the beauty of the hotel grounds (at least our room). They can have better amenities, decor, illumination, overall make them more appealing. The price for one night was not exhorbitant but when you pay over $150 you expect good amenities and a room that invites you to stay in at least. Granted, the room, bathroom and towels were clean; bed was comfortable (Queen size) but I am not sure if I would pay 2+ nights for that room. Maybe they have better rooms, I like to give the benefit of the doubt!

Full breakfast buffet was included in the price (all you can eat). I am not picky with food so I enjoyed my breakfast very much. Scrambled eggs, bacon, potatoes, waffles, bread, cereal, fruits, coffee, tea and orange juice. They also make omelettes for an extra price ($5 I think). The view from the breakfast terrace is beautiful and is a nice add-on to the experience. Restaurant and bar close strictly at 8. Can't comment on food and beverage as I didn't try either of them but the Piña Colada my friend ordered was tasty. Reception will give you good recommendations of where to eat and what to do in town. Kayak and bike rentals are available for a very reasonable price. They have Spa services for a reasonable price as well but it will depend on therapist avaialbility.

I found the staff to be more prompt and diligent rather than nice. They don't exactly go out of their way to cater all your needs so if you're one of those people that require tons of attention and royalty treatment I recommend you to book somewhere else. Yes, they have school-like rules like returning the control remote at check out or not going to the parking lot with the pool towels but I understand businesses need to keep track of their inventory. Would you let people take stuff that belong to your house?

I wouldn't choose Bahia Beach Resort for a 2+ nights stay unless I make sure I have a very nice cozy room that invites me to stay and sleep in there. Grounds, breakfast and location are the best this hotel offers in my opinion. If you're laid back and don't mind about top notch service or how your room looks then go for it and book this little gem now.

Room Tip: Rooms have no fridge which can be a downer if you're staying for more than one night. We didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LylyM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Great location, awesome beach...
The management is short on staff, that leads them to be slow on service and also tend to be angry and not so friendly. Maintenance is not as good so there are a couple of broken things. Facilities are nice but they need remodeling. You also can't stay after you check out or you will be charged extra for using the facilities. The new administration turned the place unappealing, cause I visited a while and service used to be decent

Stayed: April 2014
5  Thank Eljoch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I been going to Cabo Rojo for years 8 times, twice this year, new owner is a thief! he charged my credit card after leaving $25 for AC use! unheard of! also $26 for a check that was paid for in cash at the restaurant! some belonging went missing during my stay!
the bed had hair and brown stains all over the covers and sheets it was disgusting!
consider staying at Combate resort which is few miles away and right on the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank moe410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Rojo
2.1 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Cabo Rojo
704 reviews
5.3 mi away
Aquarius Vacation Club
Aquarius Vacation Club
#1 of 4 in Boqueron
342 reviews
5.3 mi away
Parador Boquemar
Parador Boquemar
#2 of 4 in Boqueron
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.4 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
26.3 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
803 reviews
9.7 mi away
Parador Villa Parguera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel

Address: Carr 301 Km 11 | Sector el Faro, Cabo Rojo 00622, Puerto Rico (Formerly Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Cabo Rojo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Cabo Rojo
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Salinas Beach Resort And Spa
Bahia Salinas Beach Hotel Cabo Rojo
Hotel Bahia Salinas Beach
Bahia Salinas Puerto Rico
Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa
Salinas Beach Hotel Bahia
Bahia Salinas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing