We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Bad Experiences”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Cabo Rojo
McDonough, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Bad Experiences”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Lack of maintenance, food was cold and waited more than an hour for the food. When it finally arrived was awful. The customer services were terrible. They closed everything at 11:00 p.m. including the bar. We were with a couple of friends talking and laughing in the terrace and they turned the lights off in our faces and told us to keep it quiet since they were people sleeping. I did not make a trip of more than 2 hours from my home to sleep at 11:00 p.m. in a hotel I was paying for. The rooms were not clean and they spa was awful either. They were cockroaches. I will not recommend this resort ever

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DafnesIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    102
    48
    54
    70
See reviews for
83
171
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Located off the beaten path down a road that dead ends at Punta Jaguey Lighthouse and Crescent Beach (rated one of the worlds top 10 most beautiful beaches). Only 25 minutes to Laja/La Parguera for bio bay night time 'glow' swimming- a once in a lifetime experience (search paradise scuba). About 20 minutes to Boqueron, 40 minutes to Ponce and one hour to Rincon. (You can fly into Ponce and Aguadilla for a faster comute.) The resort is a little tricky to find coming from the Ponce side. Keep looking for lighthouse signs- it is on the 301, 11.4 km past the 303(look for km signs- like our green mile signs). This resort is BETTER than any pictures can describe!! Romantic cabanas everywhere to lounge and enjoy the view. Awesome infinity pool and onsite spa. As for food dinners range from $14-$40 and are absolutely amazing! Restaurant is open air on the water with a great sunset view. Breakfast at the resort is $10 each and the best I have ever had anywhere. Breakfast chef Jose is outstanding! All staff is very friendly and helpful. Evening dinner supervisor Oswaldo is also a great help. Rooms are very clean, hot water, great a/c systems. Internet at the restaurant or on the outside couches near the office. Less people early in the week and more on weekends. A place I will dream about returning too!

Room Tip: There really isn't a bad room in the whole place. We went with the cheaper 'garden view'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia_Salinas, Front Desk Clerk at Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We are grateful for your visit to our Parador. Our concept is to spend a few days of peace and tranquility surrounded by flora and fauna that distinguishes us. Thanks for visiting and we hope to revisit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck NJ
Level Contributor
170 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for a late lunch. The food was amazing- probably the best Eggplant Parmesan I've ever had. Great coffee. The restaurant manager was so warm and friendly. Though we were not staying at the hotel, it looked like a great place to spend a few nights.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank LuvTaTrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia_Salinas, Front Desk Clerk at Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for visited our restaurant Agua al Cuello, our specialty is the seafood and the Paella. We hope for your next trip you can stay and enjoy the accomodations in our Parador.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebradillas, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We want a few days to relax and this is a very good place.
Great view.
Excellent service.
The breakfast was great and the dinner was very good.
We went to El Faro and to Playuela. You have to go there!

Room Tip: We went for an upgrade to the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pastormonchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia_Salinas, Front Desk Clerk at Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We are happy that you enjoy your stay in our Parador. We work everyday to make our Parador a place to relax and enjoyable for our guest. Thank you for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Excellent location, hotel staff were friendly. Restaurant service was a little slow but the food quality was great and it included fresh seafood. Amenities were beautiful and very clean. Deluxe villas were pretty decorated (take in consideration it is not a luxury hotel), awesome balcony view and always had hot water . I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alopr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia_Salinas, Front Desk Clerk at Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are happy to know that you have a wonderful experience in our Parador. We work day by day to make our guest feel like home. Thank you and we hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

The setting for this older hotel is spectacular. Right on the sea, with a beautiful pool, bar, restaurant - all open air. The rooms were sparse, not luxurious, we had no hot water (they use solar only), and one night the kitchen closed so there was no dinner on site...which leads me to one of the plusses (or minuses) of the place - it's really in a very "untouristy" area of PR and there is not much else to do. The lighthouse and adjacent beach (Suchia) are really gorgeous, you can drive up the coast a little and have lunch or supper at Annie's (quite good, try the Fish Nuggets). The food on site is quite good. This is a great place to rest, relax, swim, watch the sunset from the bar or the beach,and nap. We loved it there for 2 nights, more might have been pushing it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelmolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia_Salinas, Front Desk Clerk at Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are happy that you visited our Parador. We work day by day to make the visit to our guest a pleasent one. Sorry for the inconvience in our restaurant, there was a gas leak and for the security of our clients we decied to close to fix the problem. Our Parador is located inside of a natural reserve and that is why we work with solar system. Thank you for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stopped here to eat and to check out the grounds. The place is stunning with cabanas that have white curtains and comfy chairs by the infinity pool The service at the restaurant was very slow, but worth the wait. The food was top notch. I had veggie mofongo which was fantastic, best on I have had in the Island. My husband had chicken dish which was awesome, and my friend had the penne alfredo which was delicious as well. Pina Colada was good too. Stop by and spend a few hours here. You could order and take a dip in the pool before the food is done ;o) But oh so worth it. We did not stay overnight so I can't comment on the rooms. For a lover's weekend or longer stay, this seems like a wonderful place to spend a getaway,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonic67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahia_Salinas, Front Desk Clerk at Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are grateful that you have visited our restaurant. We hope you come back soon so that you can stay with us and to enjoy romantic sunsets and our flora and fauna. Thanks again for visiting .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Rojo
2.1 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Cabo Rojo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
5.3 mi away
Aquarius Vacation Club
Aquarius Vacation Club
#1 of 5 in Boqueron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
17.7 mi away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 8 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
9.7 mi away
Parador Villa Parguera
5.3 mi away
Parador Boquemar
Parador Boquemar
#2 of 5 in Boqueron
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel

Property: Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel
Address: Carr 301 Km 11 | Sector el Faro, Cabo Rojo 00622, Puerto Rico (Formerly Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Cabo Rojo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Cabo Rojo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Salinas Beach Hotel Cabo Rojo
Bahia Salinas Beach Resort And Spa
Hotel Bahia Salinas Beach
Salinas Beach Hotel Bahia
Bahia Salinas Puerto Rico
Bahia Salinas Beach Resort & Spa
Bahia Salinas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing