We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Value, facility and ambiance blend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Combate Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Combate Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cabo Rojo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bayamon, null, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Value, facility and ambiance blend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The location of this guest house is at the edge of a federal reserve with a spectacular beach. The value comes in the way of a blending of modest basic accommodations with an outstanding tranquil and beautiful ambiance. It has a good restaurant and bar, and is located just 10 minutes away from a wide selection of other restaurants. A splendid getaway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acisclo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    144
    44
    9
    10
See reviews for
186
237
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Just visited this Parador for an anniversary get away with my wife. The perfect combination of quaintness, relaxation, cleanliness, comfortable accomodations, excelent service, good food, and other ammenities, and excelent price. Small hotel with a big personality. The staff was very friendly and helpful (hey they even had room service). Nice pool, good access to the beach, hot water, and the Parador is a stone's throw away from great restaurants, bakery, pizza place and the Boqueron "Poblado" or "downtown" as the gringos would say. Had a great weekend, and would certainly return. This sleepless beach comber was wonderfully impressed with this nice little hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sleeplessbeachcomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Just came back April, 8, 2013… hotel facilities, pool, beach, town restaurants… fabulous..
Personnel very professional and attentive. First night not so well, the brand new AC was making a weird noise, so we turned it off… the next day, the staff very concerned and they moved us immediately to another room, 2nd and 3rd nights, wonderful !!!
The rooms are remodeled, for the price do not expect a Marriott !!!, but very clean, big and conformable, half the rooms are facing the parking, which I prefer for convenience to leave the stuff at the car, but there are other rooms behind the building, recommend to ask to select a room.
TV, Wi-Fi OK !!
Is not beachfront, but is a short walk through a hotel gate, didn’t bother us…
Take your beach chair, there are no rentals, no need of an umbrella, enough natural shades if you don’t like the extreme sun. Best days… weekdays… beach almost empty, no locals… just for tourists…

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuanGDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina, null, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

In cabo rojo I have a place that I call back pack heaven... Parador: Combate Beach :) It's a very humble place, with a veryyyyyyyyy attentive staff that some BIG resort would wish for! Make sure to give them your email so they can send you an email to confirm your reservations and a reminder of your stay and directions on how to get there. I travel a lot and I don't remember the last time that a resort sent me such a warm and nice email. Special thanks to Tommy who helped me with my reservations and Franco who made sure me and my husband got there safe because I got lost @ 11pm because of a fire in the woods but they helped me so again THANKS! If you are used to big resorts and get psycho about every single detail is not the place for you. Go to Parador Bahia Salinas they have some fancy stuff but if you are like me that I loveeee to have an adventure and find diamonds in the rough this is your place to be. This parador is currently under development (SUGGESTION: Maybe the management should put some signs telling people about it and sorry for the inconvenience). I got room 16; I would recommend room from 10-13. It's the kind of small inn that for only $149 you can stay there for 3 days and have breakfast included. They have a refrigerator (Plus points to save money!!!) in the room so you can bring some food and wont go bad. It's a gem because you are next to a wild life reserve. You can rent bikes for $18 an hour and see the mangles, the beach and some rare species of birds and animals. Wear a lot of sun block it's easy to get sun burned there but the beach is amazing a great way to relax and unwind. This inn is a let your hair down kind of stop... For more click on my blog: http://barelyfamouslife.blogspot.com/2013/02/dandole-la-vuelta-part-one.html

Room Tip: Room's 10-13 (Pictures at the blog)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Most importantly the Service was absolutely amazing!!!! We showed up expecting beachfront hotel, and were a bit disappointed with 200 yard walk to the beach and a motel-like room.

Checking in and getting settled were pretty easy. There is a bar/restaurant on the premises (12 rounds).... But it closes early--930-1000pm ish, so if you need munchies and basics you need to go into town to get them. The food at the restaurant was delicious!!!! Definitely recommend it, even if you aren't staying there.

The rooms supposedly have new furniture, but the bed was like sleeping on concrete. The rooms have a small closet, 32" flat screen tv, satellite, and a small dorm room refrigerator. The water takes about 10 mins to get warm when showering.

The pool is small, but perfect for the a quick swim or just to relax. Bring Bug Spray!!! The pool is next to the national forest and there are tons of mosquitoes.

The beach was absolutely stunning. Seeing one sunset made it worth everything. To get to the beach you have to walk through the forest about 200 yards. Once you get to the beach, the water is clear and warm, with little to no waves.

Overall experience was relaxing and if you don't care about expensive hotels, this is a good choice.

Room Tip: Wait until they finish the new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PRFlyer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, NV
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

The Combate Beach Resort is a short walk to an excellent beach. Our room was very modern and clean and the onsite restaurant is very good with some excellent mixologists behind the bar.

The downside is the ambiance around the resort building itself. Rooms either look over the parking lot or a trailer park next door. Ambiance is big with us and the lack of it put a damper on our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TahoeHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spend 3 nigths at the resort and were very relaxing. Rooms are very clean and maid service is excelent. The pool is small but for the amount of rooms they have is enough. The water is always warm.... because of the hot sun.

They have a restaurant "12 Rounds" very cute and staff super nice. I did not like the food. I founded very expensive and a little lack of flavor. But near there ar a lot of great restaurants with good food and excellent prices.

The only down side was the breakfast. The offer a continental breakfast but is only toasts and beagles with orange juice and coffee.

Waking distance is the beautiful beach of Combate.... that make everything perfect.
You will enjoy a great weekend.

Room Tip: All rooms are more less equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arenasfors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Rojo
102.1 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
25.1 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 8 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
81.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.0 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Bahi-a Ocean View Hotel
4.2 mi away
Aquarius Vacation Club
Aquarius Vacation Club
#1 of 5 in Boqueron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Combate Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Combate Beach Resort

Property: Combate Beach Resort
Address: Carretera 3301 Km. 2.7 Interior | Playa El Combate, Cabo Rojo 00623, Puerto Rico (Formerly Combate Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Cabo Rojo
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cabo Rojo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Combate Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southwest coast of Puerto Rico, facing the Caribbean, Combate Beach Resort is a 47-room hotel with all the amenities needed to guarantee the most rewarding vacation experience in Puerto Rico. The hotel offers: elegant and spacious guestrooms for 2 to 6 guests, delicious Breakfast Restaurant, children and adult's pool, half basketball court, sand volleyball court, a convenience store and exclusive access to the beautiful Combate Beach, one of the island's best beaches, and the Cabo Rojo National Wildlife Refuge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone and Booking.com so you can book your Combate Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Combate Beach Hotel Cabo Rojo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing