We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for the price, great location, and friendly Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Combate Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cabo Rojo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

Went with my husband and 4 yr old son. Rooms are very clean and spacious. We stayed during week so there was no restaurant at the hotel. But its location is great since it is close to restaurants and bakery. Pool was clean every mOrning we loved that (sincr other hotels don't do that). We needed an xtra bed for our kid and the front desk girl helps us right away putting us in a bigger room for a low charge. We will stay again here. It is unexpensive, clean, and located near everything we needed. Only recommendation is to make partnerships with local resautants for food delivery when your rest is closed.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoriannie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (699)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 699 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2012

From the minute my husband and I were looking for a last minute reservation during Easter week in Cabo Rojo, we had nothing but the best experience with the staff at Combate Beach Resort.

The day of our arrival, we were pleasantly surprised. The room turned out to be more than we expected. The room was super clean. It was newly renovated and the decor was very pleasant. Please note, that this is not a 5-star resort. This is a small "boutique" hotel conveniently located at a short distance from the beach. If you expect to have all the services and ammenities of a chain hotel, this is not for you.

The staff at Combate Resort made themselves available with anything we needed. They were always pleasant and answered all questions we had with a smile. We tried the food at "12-Rounds", the food and drinks are great; a bit pricey for the location, if you ask me. Yet, the service we got was what kept us happy all throughout our stay. We got recommendations from what to visit to what to eat during our stay.

This place has a pool which is super clean. My family and I really enjoyed the outdoor patio. We even had take-out from other restaurants and brought it back to the hotel's patio. They have bathrooms by the pool which are immaculate. This hotel also offers kayaking and massage service.

They also offer a "continental" breakfast. Please do not expect a menu or a big elaborate breakfast. If you are not a big eater and are happy with a bagel, coffee and a yogurt, this breakfast will be for you. The staff is very clear as to what the hotel offers. They staff speaks perfect English.

Would I stay here again? Definitely. This place makes you feel at home.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChinaDoll2Luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

The room was clean and it looked very modern. Since is so close to the beach we went kayaking and also enjoyed going to the lighthouse. All the staff were super nice and were able to help us.
If you are too lazy to go out at night, the pub at the hotel is very good, nice food and beverages ( the prices are OK ).

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LorenaRios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I paid about $340.00 for a weekend that "included breakfast Saturday and Sunday." What really is a fraud because of $340.00 is to at least provide a good breakfast. Breakfast was "continental" all cold and in bad taste. In the room the fridge did not work and was paid for a room with a fridge that obviously worked, because we have children. They never gave me an option only told me that my articles placed in the fridge that had in the hotel dining room. The service is horrible, very bad and poor. Never helped us. I really do not recommend them to anyone. Since we had stayed in that hotel but under the previous administration and management really do not work now, they just want the $ $ $ $ and the service is poor.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ymercado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combatebeachresort, General Manager at Combate Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Dear Mrs. Mercado,

We value the feedback and reviews of all of our guests, as they allow us to better the offerings we provide our guests. However, we are very surprised with inconsistencies of your recent review, compared to how things really happened. For example, the total price for your weekend stay, including taxes, was for under $282.00. Second, as soon as you notified our front desk agents about the refrigerator not cooling, they offered to take your items and put them in our kitchen cooler while our handyman could fix your fridge. Then, our hotel manager went personally to your room to offer her apologies for the fridge and see if there was anything else she could do to make your stay with us more comfortable. Also, during your stay, your family came to our front desk, so we could heat food for them in our kitchen, which we gladly did. We are very proud of our service team, as we go above and beyond to provide the best quality and personalized service to our guests, We hope that you reconsider staying with us in the future, as we guarantee you will have a great time at our resort. Have a great day!

Sincerely,

Xavier A. Ramirez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

El staff del hotel nos brindo a mi esposa y a mi un trato excelente , el lugar es tranquilo y acogedor y esta cerca de todo, La playa de Combate , restaurantes y el faro de Cabo Rojo. Las habitaciones limpias y el servicio de housekepping muy atento y servicial. De hecho les recomiendo el Restaurant del hotel tienen un menu con precios razonables y esquisito . Deveras la pasamos super ...

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Juan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Excellent Beach location, lounge, great large bar "Round 12" best drink (coconut/choc martini) ever, large TV screens , excellent food! Very clean - short private walk to beautiful beach. Renovated bedrooms - very nice decoration- comfortable beds, cable TV and flat screen. Commodities of a large hotel. Best beach front access location in Combate. Oh!!! Very friendly and eager to please staff. Highly recomended beach selection!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zulmanoemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

So we went to this hotel for one weekend, 2 nights friday-saturday, on a sudden vacation. We had 5 people so when we called to book it Friday morning they told us they were going to charge $40 for the extra bed, what they didn't tell us it was per night, so basically 40 + 40 was 80 plus taxes. We found out this when we arrived there after 3 hours traveling from the metro area all the way down there to Cabo Rojo at 11pm. On Saturday we go talk to one of the supervisors and we tell him that we were told only $40, and after a while they agree to it so we decide to trust them and paid the $40 in cash (they told us they werent gonna charge us the other $40). To our surprise we check out Sunday and the credit card bill comes during that week and guess what, a $40 charge to our credit card also! So we paid $40 in cash and we turn our backs and they charge us $40 when we leave. We call and no one can helps us, they find 1000 excuses for not giving us the credit, they said we need a receip from the $40 we paid in cash and what a coincidence that the guy that we paid to didnt give us one. So either that guy stole the money or the hotel did. Either way, their communication is terrible and if it were at least a 3 star hotel then I wouldnt have fought for my $40 back but all they gave us for the 5th person was an inflatable bed with a pillow and sheet, thats it concidering that the first night we arrived like at 12am anyways. Be sure to ask for receipts from everyone or they WILL charge you when you turn your back.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaivar91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combatebeachresort, General Manager at Combate Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2011

Dear Mrs. Cruz,
We feel very sorry for your review. The charges made to your credit card were appropriate. You were made aware of the surcharges for having a fifth guest in your room. After your check-out, we went ahead and charged the balance left pending on your account. We value our guests and feel proud of the quality of the service we provide to our guests as we treat them as family, as this is a family-run company. If you still feel this charge was unjustified, you may file a claim with your credit card service company.

Sincerely,

Xavier A. Ramírez, M.S.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Rojo
4.2 mi away
Aquarius Vacation Club
Aquarius Vacation Club
#1 of 4 in Boqueron
341 reviews
24.4 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
801 reviews
4.1 mi away
Parador Boquemar
Parador Boquemar
#2 of 4 in Boqueron
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
84.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
21.8 mi away
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa
22.0 mi away
Rincon Beach Resort
Rincon Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Anasco
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Combate Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Combate Beach Resort

Address: Carretera 3301 Km. 2.7 Interior | Playa El Combate, Cabo Rojo 00623, Puerto Rico (Formerly Combate Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Cabo Rojo
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cabo Rojo
Price Range: $107 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Combate Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southwest coast of Puerto Rico, facing the Caribbean, Combate Beach Resort is a 47-room hotel with all the amenities needed to guarantee the most rewarding vacation experience in Puerto Rico. The hotel offers: elegant and spacious guestrooms for 2 to 6 guests, delicious Breakfast Restaurant, children and adult's pool, half basketball court, sand volleyball court, a convenience store and exclusive access to the beautiful Combate Beach, one of the island's best beaches, and the Cabo Rojo National Wildlife Refuge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Combate Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Combate Beach Hotel Cabo Rojo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing