We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location - glorious sunset”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Taverham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Highlight was a window seat in the restaurant with a view of the beautiful valley and an amazing sunset as a backdrop! The staff were friendly and the menu choice extensive. We enjoyed our meal and the relaxing atmosphere. We had a swim and the facilities were clean. Room was clean, bed was comfortable. Breakfast was good but coffee a disappointment.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked a courtyard. If you want a view you'll have to pay more.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fiona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
There are newer reviews for Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 524 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

I have been organising a Golf society event here at the beginning of October for the last 8 years and Wensum Valley G&CC in my opinion cannot be beaten for value anywhere.
Accomodation is always clean and comfortble, the food is always very good and plenty of it if you have carvery. The bar is is comfortable and with a very friendly atmosphere. Spa always very relaxing
If you are into your golf the two courses on site are excellent.
The Valley course being great, if like myself, you are not a regular golfer.The Wensum course is a great test for the competent golfer but still has something to offer for the high handicapper.
Both courses are a pleasure to play as the scenery and setting on both is lovely added to the fact they are always both in great condition.
All the staff including those on the golf side are extremely pleasant helpful and accommodating, cannot wait for our trip again this year.
Well worth a visit for golf or pleasure

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This hotel is a bit of a little gem. Staff are friendly and helpful. Beds were comfortable and the room was huge for a standard double! The food at the bar was fantastic! We ate breakfast and dinner for two days and had trouble deciding what to have as the choice was so good. We made good use of the pool and gym both of which were clean and pleasant to use. Yes the rooms are dated in their decor as is most of the hotel however this was not something that bothered us. If you are worried about appearance then this is not the hotel for you however if you want some RR in a clean comfortable well facilitated hotel with great food then this will suit you down to the ground as it did us.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnyholidaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I stayed here as a little treat to myself. Having read the blurb, the idea was that I went for a lovely country walk then used the leisure facilities, followed by a meal in the 'friendly' bar. Well two out of three ain't bad.

Despite their boasting of walks along the river, there is no information on how to get there across the golf course in any of the literature in the room. So I went to reception, and was told to ask in the golf shop. So I did. I was told "I wish reception would stop making out this is a nice little country retreat. This is a working golf course. You need to follow that track by the sheds, at the bottom of the hill you turn right, and then walk along a bit and then I think you turn right again. When you come out of the trees you need to treat it like a main road, and look both ways. If you hear someone shout 'fore' you need to crouch down and cover your head with your arms. And it's up to you to look out for your own safety".

Scared the, well you know what, out of me. So I did walk down to the bottom of the hill. But to be honest I was so busy worrying about golf balls I walked back to the hotel. Where I used the pool and hot tub, which were both fantastic.

Later I had a, very nice and reasonably priced, meal in the bar and I saw the chap from the golf shop in there. He asked "did you get to the river"? I said no. You scared the life out of me. "Just telling you the truth" he told me. So I told him, I will come back. And will do the walk. But next time I'll bring a tin hat with me!

But moving on. The room was lovely, and I had a fantastic view of the valley. Though I could see a lot of the rooms don't. The receptionist was friendly and professional, and the bar staff were great. I was a lone lady, and not bothered by that, but the bar staff really made an effort to make sure I was ok and enjoying my, very tasty, meal.

I'd quite happily go back. My only gripe is that the website 'sells' you country walks. But in truth they don't really want you to do it. It's really aimed at golfers and people who like looking at the countryside through a window.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank Debs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed here for just one night with friends for a silver wedding function and enjoyed it very much. Room was very large, clean and comfy. Bathroom was quite adequate, maybe needs brighter lighting and another shelf for wash bags. The evening function food was excellent, and the breakfast very pleasant - plenty of choice. Staff were pleasant enough on Reception, and very helpful elsewhere. The pool was great, can't comment on the gym as we didn't use it, but these facilities are shared with the Leisure Centre facilities so can be quite busy. Would stay here again if we wanted to stay over when in this area.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank carltondave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed for one night with our 4 year old and the hotel staff were amazing! EVERY single person we met was friendly, welcome and particularly accommodating with our little girl. She was allowed to dance to the band who were warming up for a party that night (we were the only ones in the restaurant but still!). She never received a glare or second glance as she bopped away. She was given colouring in and a lovely meal and drink.

The room was HUGE! She had a single bed while we had the biggest double bed I've ever seen! There was a little TV area with a sofa and a massive walk in shower. The room was a little dated decor wise but absolutely immaculate and comfortable.

The pool was lovely but the changing area was freezing even before we'd got changed or wet and the jacuzzi area was a little mouldy but this would be the only fault I could find if really pushed.

Breakfast was perfect and good portions with fast service.

Would stay here again at the drop of a hat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank g0rga78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel, food very good and bar and restaurant staff were very attentive. Room was huge, and well appointed, although the shower head was broken which was reported on the first night but still not fixed by our departure. I think the reception staff could learn a lot from their colleagues in the bar and restaurant. All in all a good weekend. My rating would have been excellent for service if it were not for the lack of attention paid by the reception staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DebWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taverham
9.0 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,692 reviews
5.3 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
903 reviews
6.8 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
17.3 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
741 reviews
12.5 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club

Address: Beech Avenue, Taverham NR8 6HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Taverham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Taverham
Price Range: $90 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 350 acres of breathtaking Norfolk countryside you’ll have plenty to choose from at Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club. Perhaps you are thinking of taking a weekend break in Norfolk, or a Golf break in Norwich, and would like to be only 5 miles from Norwich’s nightlife, shopping and culture and just 30 minutes from the beautiful North Norfolk coastline. Our convenient location and transport links make us the perfect Norwich Airport Hotel. Whatever the purpose of your visit, anything is possible at Wensum Valley Hotel, Golf and Country Club.Wensum Valley Hotel offers 2 of the finest golf courses in Norfolk. Both 18-hole courses are free draining, meaning they are playable all year round with no temporary greens! Our 90 en-suite rooms are both comfortable and welcoming after a round on the course, fishing on the river Wensum or a day out in Norfolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wensum Valley Hotel And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing