We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Golf overnighter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Taverham
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Golf overnighter”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here over night for a golf trip. Staff all v friendly golf pro shop attendant was very helpful went to swimming pool and spa late afternoon. Was very nice. evening meal was a set menu but can't recommend it enough was amazing! Very nice stay! Only downside decor v dated and beds were very hard. Other than that was a fun day and night

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacdadyMunf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    151
    60
    50
    34
See reviews for
109
92
16
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here recently on business & found it generally just ok - although it could do with improvements here & there.

When we first pulled up at the hotel I was a little concerned at where we were staying. The whole building was red brick & could only be compared to a prison!

However we proceeded to check in at reception with no problems & relatively speedy.


When I entered my room my first impression was it was good - abit old fashioned (bed linen, furnishings, bathrooms etc) buy it was clean. The bed was huge & I was looking forward to settling down for the night. The TV was tiny! It looked really out of place in such a large room. The welcome tray was ok - bottled water & biscuits would have been warmly welcomed though!

The bed was easily the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in. I think it may have been a zip-linked bed as one side seemed a higher level than the other, & the middle felt like you were sleeping on a plank of wood. I was seriously considering sleeping on the floor!

The walls were incredibly thin. I must admit I didn't hear much the first night, but the second I could hear next doors TV, shower & opening & closing of the wardrobe & chest of drawers!

I really enjoyed both breakfasts I had at the hotel. The waitresses are very attentive & the cooked breakfast was lovely. There was also plenty of choice & they kindly reserved us a table each morning.

We ate at the hotel for one evening & the menu seemed fine, plenty of choice & the food wasn't bad. The bar staff were helpful.

My colleagues used the swimming pool & said they were put off because the water was very cloudy! That put me off trying it out!

I think with a refurbishment of rooms & dining areas the hotel could be very good. The patterned red carpets & curtains made it far too dated! I found it hard to imagine many weddings take place there?

Overall it was fine for us as we were on business, but I wouldn't choose to stay there for a holiday!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Accompanied my husband on a 25th golf society Anniversary golf break with 30 others. They played one course on the Friday afternoon and the other course the morning of the second day. Stayed one night only.
Staff all very friendly and excellent service. Decor a little dated but all clean and functioning well. Room 52 was very roomy, had a bath and shower and good view over one of the courses. Comfortable bed, a settee in front of the TV and chairs and dressing table. There was actually a plug socket for my hair dryer right next to a mirror! That makes a nice change from other hotels.
Pool water warm. A little crowded on Sat morning as it is used by locals as their gym/pool also. Sauna lacked a bucket and water for the coals. Changing rooms huge. Access to beauty salon for treatments was in same building as spa and pool/gym. Had a luxury spa treatment of back massage, manicure and eyebrow shape. Not a great deal of choice of nail colours so take your own if you have a favourite. No direct inside access to spa from rooms. Rooms also across courtyard from main hotel reception/restaurants. Lunchtime bar sandwiches/snacks all excellent. Our society eve meal was excellent too. Breakfast cooked to order including cereals, juices, fruit etc. Quite substantial. Also, it is only a short drive/walk to a good garden centre/craft shops area for the golfing widows!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course. I believe some face the car park or courtyard so not so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2013

could not have asked for more , a great weekend great staff greAt food, and a well priced bar saveing us a trip to nowrich ,, 18 of us had great time the golf pro shop assistant bent over backwards to help as did the reception staff, both 18 hole coursesany where great.
Any bad feed back from others would only be on there because thats all they want to do , moan and find fault , sad peopel sad people with sad little lives..
110% fantastic from steve and 17 other 40 + men .
THANKS

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Usually stay at Premier Inns but wanted an alternative to the repetitive restaurant fare offered - was a little apprehensive given some negative remarks left on this site. Plenty of car parking, new deep pile carpeting in corridors and room. New Panasonic flat screen TV with good reception instead of the dated set shown in photos. Room newly decorated and very clean - plenty of tea & coffee etc with a large kettle. No hair dryer provided. Heated towel rail and offer of daily towel replacement if required. Unlimited free wi-fi access in room obtained via password etc from reception - worked fine if a little slowly at times.All the numerous members of staff were friendly and helpful at all times. Food excellent and always served piping hot and in our experience very quickly.Breakfast menu offered is not as extensive as a Premier Inn but is more than adequate & the 2/3 scrambled eggs and smoked salmon on toast is highly recommended. Staff continually on hand to top up with fresh coffee and provide any other requirements. Cannot fault the service from all members of staff. Did not use the restaurant in the evening, preferring the food on offer in the bar, which is comfortable with both sofas and tables & chairs. The bar is large, and has an area of seating around the bar where Sky Sports TV is on offer, as well as a quieter area away from the bar overlooking the practice chipping green. Good selection of Specials daily on the board.as well as the bar menu - plenty of staff serving even when the bar was very busy with a large birthday party so waiting was kept to a minimum. Bar food well priced, well presented with good sized portions and made a nice change from constant grilled food. Euro Pro golf tournament in progress during our stay but as residents we were not inconvenienced at all, and the second course was in use for those not in the competition. Driving range OK, practice putting green & chipping green excellent. Had no disturbance or noise from other guests whatsoever in our room - slightly larger than a Premier Inn - no bath but a huge double shower cubicle with an excellent power shower that was very easy to use. Soap and gels etc provided daily. Did not use spa or gym/pool facilities. Absolutely no question that we will stay here again - have already booked for 6 nights later in the year and will return annually.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Had Sunday lunch here with relatives celebrating their Golde wedding, tables beautifully decorated, pleasant staff, nice couple pints of woodforde wherry, and an excellent Sunday lunch, really well cooked meats, yorkshires fantastic and good roasties. Lovely cheesecake for dessert. Toilets pristine! Not cheapest Sunday lunch in Norfolk but I bet its one of the best!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lincolnhatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

With two courses to play One of which is a championship course this is the place to visit for your holiday break.With 90 odd rooms Friendly staff including the owner and family make this an excellant venue

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taverham
9.0 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
5.3 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
6.8 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club

Property: Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club
Address: Beech Avenue, Taverham NR8 6HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Taverham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Taverham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 350 acres of breathtaking Norfolk countryside you’ll have plenty to choose from at Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club. Perhaps you are thinking of taking a weekend break in Norfolk, or a Golf break in Norwich, and would like to be only 5 miles from Norwich’s nightlife, shopping and culture and just 30 minutes from the beautiful North Norfolk coastline. Our convenient location and transport links make us the perfect Norwich Airport Hotel. Whatever the purpose of your visit, anything is possible at Wensum Valley Hotel, Golf and Country Club.Wensum Valley Hotel offers 2 of the finest golf courses in Norfolk. Both 18-hole courses are free draining, meaning they are playable all year round with no temporary greens! Our 90 en-suite rooms are both comfortable and welcoming after a round on the course, fishing on the river Wensum or a day out in Norfolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wensum Valley Hotel And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing