We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cracking, Quaint Country Retreat”
other travelers have booked this property
East facing view of cottage looking onto open countryside.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
East facing view of cottage looking onto open countryside.
Horse & cart passing cottage, a common occurrence in the summer months Relax in our new all sing and dance powerful jet hot tub!!!Exclusively for guests during their stay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
East facing view of cottage looking onto open countryside.
Horse & cart passing cottage, a common occurrence in the summer months
Relax in our new all sing and dance powerful jet hot tub!!!Exclusively for guests during their stay
The jets hit every part of your body
Sounds system for iPhone or MP3 system
Our wee jasper can't understand why he is not allowed in the tub!!
Why not take in the night sky from the spa. Thanks guys for sending the pic.
We have just added an outside heated shower for a greater hot tub experience for all our guests.
Latest garden addition..guests are welcome to use and with a glass or two its perfect to chill.
Kitchen /breakfast bar with much daylight
Breakfast bar
Kitchen. We welcome guest comments for future guests to appreciate all the benefits of the area.
Sitting room with double sofa bed and arm chair seating
Sitting room
Bright sitting room with main entrance glass doors
Sitting room has staircase to additional attic room
Main bedroom, front country views
Easterly country views from main bedroom
Main downstairs bedroom, bright and airy
Main downstairs bedroom
Attic room, bright and very cosy with sofa bed.
Staircase from attic room.
Shower room downstairs
Shampoo etc supplied free.
Shower/wc room
Vintage anual tractor rally, outside cottage
Cycle Race outside of cottage. In summer months a local group compete in a cycel race in the area.
Grass is always greener!! neighbouring cow in rear garden
Small gym set up within outbuilding for use by guests if they do wish
3 Peacocks regularly visit the cottage, early morning summer
Portencross Castle, West Kilbride 15mins from cottage
Isle of Bute 20mins to ferry terminal from cottage and about 30mins on ferry
Isle of Bute
View towards Isle of Arran, Fairley Moor Rd  10 mins from cottage
Sailing around Largs, 20mins from cottage (lessons and hire available Largs marina, Scotsail
Kilbirnie loch - 5 mins drive from cottage for watersports etc
Public walk within Muirshiel country park, Lochwinnoch. 10mins from cottage
Castle Semple, Lochwinnoch. Watersport centre 5 mins from cottage
Beach at West Kilbride which is always quiet with little or no people..15mins from cottage
15mins from cottage, West Kilbride golf course with beach just beyond.
Kayak hire at Luss on the banks of Loch Lomond. 30mins from cottage
Tam festival, Ayr, Nov 2015
30mins from cottage. Free outside Burns performance
2015 Glasgow pride parade
A true white Christmas at cottage. Christmas Day 2009
Aerial view of house and grounds.Guests are encouraged to make the place their home during their sta
Equality for All....We welcome all minority groups to our safe and accepting environment.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lochwinnoch, Renfrewshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Jimbo907
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cracking, Quaint Country Retreat”
Reviewed April 13, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

It is a rare thing to find a cosy, immaculate, relaxing holiday spot with beautiful scenery, warm hospitable hosts and a cheeky little King Charles spaniel that greets you at the gate every day. Had a fabulous time, had some fabulous wine! and would recommend this diamond in the landscape to any who enquire. This is somewhere you could really unwind and let the world pass you by, I shall be back before long, R & D, I'll see you soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic hospitality
Liked least: Nothing at All
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2015
My first guests from South Africa. This group of 3 stayed here for 10days and what a pleasure it was meeting you all. Many thanks for your kind words and we look forward to a return visit. Thanks again for choosing our cottage and we wish you all the very best, R & D and wee Jasper x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neeeeeck
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing relaxing break in bonnie Scotland”
Reviewed November 6, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Spent a lovely relaxing week in Robert's cottage and had an amazing time. Lovely walks around Loch Lomond and the surrounding areas. Our first visit to Glasgow and we fell in love with the place.

The cottage itself is really cosy and comfortable and had everything we could possibly need. Robert was on hand and was extremely helpful and offered good advice.

The hot tub was amazing. It was so relaxing with a glass of wine and one night we watched the stars while relaxing in the peaceful darkness. Quite brave for a Halloween night! :-)

I would definitely recommend this lovely place for a peaceful retreat.

Thanks guys for being so welcoming.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2014
Many thanks Nick for the kind words, hope you guys will return next time you visit Scotland. Best wishes x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara T
Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
2 reviews
“Fabulous location, wonderful people!”
Reviewed September 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Spent a week here in august, wonderful location, hospitable owners very welcoming, cottage was cosy, clean and comfortable and was in a great location close to Glasgow and the Ayrshire Coast! I will defiantly be visiting again! Thanks guys!

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2014
Many thanks Sara for your kind words
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
badlydraw...
Greenock, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tranquillity”
Reviewed September 24, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My boyfriend and I were incredibly lucky to find, at last mintute this absolutely beautiful cottage to have a wee mini break in. We were greeted by the owners and treated like old family friends. The cottage it's self was so cosy and homely. Over the next two days made ourselfs at home, we were given the use of bikes and if it's your cup of tea there's a converted gym. Biggest feature and bonus of Oaktree was the HOT TUB situated in the back garden!! What a luxury!! May I just say this completely completed our holiday. So yes, if you're in the area and needing a place to stay then try this friendly, homely cottage complete with all mod cons and a luxury hot tub at your disposal. Thanks a million Robert, David and Jasper.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2014
Thanks Paul for your kind comments, hope to see you both again sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2014
Many thanks for your review Christine and I hope you will return for a third visit sometime in the future as we have now fixed the puncture lol x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gerald G
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Quality affordable accommodation in a gay friendly setting”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This cottage is a gem! Value for money plus the quality of the accommodation was second to none. As a visitor from Canada, the warm welcome from the hosts and the lovely setting in the Ayrshire countryside made this a high point of my Scottish holiday. An added bonus was that this was a gay friendly holiday rental. I highly recommend a stay at the cottage and would certainly come back again.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2014
This gentleman spent 7 days at our cottage and managed to spend a day in Edinburgh and a day in Glasgow. He visited the Isle of Arran and spent much time visiting the historic castles and sites throughout Ayrshire. Thanks for leaving the cottage in a very tidy state. Hope you visit again sometime in the future and many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2014
This family spent a week at the cottage and managed to take in many of the sites in and around Glasgow, Ayrshire and Argle & Clyde. We would welcome you back anytime, many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing