We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Painted Boat Resort(Madeira Park)
$225
$218
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina(Madeira Park)(Great Value!)
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ruby Lake Resort(Madeira Park)(Great Value!)
$70
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$116
$99
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Gibsons Garden Hotel(Gibsons)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (868)
Filter reviews
868 results
Traveler rating
414
192
133
70
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
414
192
133
70
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstent suitessunshine coasttenthouse suiteheated floorssecret covethe main lodgebeautiful locationget awayjacuzzi tubour honeymoonunique experienceceiling fanromantic getawayon the rockscouples massagemini fridgespa services
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
841 - 846 of 868 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2007

as most of the other reviews note, the fabulous new tenthouses are beyond luxurious (and quite a steal at the price). they feature huge down blanket covered beds, amazing views, heated slate floors, fireplaces, rainfall showers, mini fridges, gigantic soaking tubs (with jets!)...extraordinarily clean, completely elegant (without sacrificing rustic charm), totally worth the surprisingly small nightly rate. the food in the resort restaurant was very expensive and left much to be desired, as did the restaurant decor. the staff was a bit uneven, some of them were extraordinarily friendly and helpful, while others were the exact opposite. i think the transition to a more in-demand, luxurious place has been a bit bumpy and the staff may not be used to delivering a slightly higher level of service. we booked outdoor massages before we arrived and were told that we could have them on our tenthouse deck (the resort website also features lots of pictures of guests receiving massages on their decks or on outdoor platforms), but when the time came, we were told that we could only enjoy our massages inside the main building's massage room. we were also not warned that the restaurant would not be open for lunch for much of our stay, due to construction. this would normally be a not-so-terrible oversight, but there aren't many options for dining in the area. all in all, i would absolutely recommend this place for a romantic getaway (we eloped here!), but stop by a good market on the way there and pick up some snacks and treats to have in the room, because dining in the hotel and the surrounding area was surprisingly terrible.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank k_cooper_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2007

We stayed in the tents here over the summer and were just enchanted. They are beautifully appointed and have awesome rain-showerheads and an incredible spa tub. You could spend days just sitting on the deck looking out over the strait. I definitely didn't want to leave.

Our only complaint was that one of the women who works at the front desk (*not* the owner's wife, who was very gracious) was so rude--to us personally and, we observed, to other guests. Our dealings with her were slim, fortunately, so it didn't color our whole stay, and the rest of the staff were just great--especially the restaurant servers!

If we lived a bit closer, we would definitely get away to this place often, it's just so beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Roadsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2006

We stayed in one of the new "tents" at Rockwater. This is the place to stay in Halfmoon Bay! The tents are located on the rocks overlooking the bay. Needless to say, the view is fantastic, especially at sunset. This is the only way to go when staying in a tent. We had a king size bed with feather comforter, a shower, bathroom and an unbelievable jacuzzi soaker tub, fireplace and a large deck with wicker furniture. The floors were stone and we also had a ceiling fan. Almost everything, including the soaker jacuzzi, is remote controlled. The staff were friendly and the restaurant was excellent. We rented a kayak, located right at the resort. You'll need a car so you can drive along the coastline, see the scenery and the small towns. This is a place to relax - hike, kayak, fish.
I've read the other reviewers concerning the rooms at this resort. Hopefully, they will be updating them soon so that they match those fantastic tents!
NOTE: The wood walkway to the tents is very long. It wanders through the beautiful trees and is very romantic at night. However, dragging luggage over that long walkway is a chore. Pack light or if you have a lot of luggage, let staff take it to your tent.

Stayed: August 2006
3  Thank tutravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2006

The newly opened tent style cottages are wondrous. Remotes control imaginative lighting, a fireplace, and a super jacuzzi tub. There is a private furnished deck overlooking the ocean. The plumbing and all other details have been well thought out. The bed was the best I have ever had in a hotel. The floor is even heated which will indicate to you the care that has gone into designing these buildings. The walk through the forest is also beautiful. The scenery is unsurpassed. I would love to be there in a rain or windstorm. I did not want to check out in the morning!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Marydele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2006

This was a great place... I stayed there for a confrence and it was lovely. It has recently changed owners and they are doing a fabluas job. They are building Zen Tents, which are amazing with soaker tub, fireplace, and slate floors. I stayed at one of the cabins which was nice. Each room comes with a mini fridge, kettle, coffee machine, tv, some rooms have DVDs.
My recomondation is to take some of the teas from the Food area because the teas offered in the room are Red Rose and English Breakfast. We went swimming, and some swam in the ocean. I had a "bliss massage" which you go to a gazebo and have a massage on the shore.

There is a Kayak rental and lesson shack next door which you can rent from. There is a vollyball court, and horse shoes. The new owner is making the place great and it is on a beautiful private cove.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel_BC_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews