We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for a wedding!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location for a wedding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We got married here in November 2011, and it was a wonderful experience. Their package included everything we needed to enjoy and remember our special day. I only wish we'd known that we could fly out to the Rockwater resort, but we had already booked on the ferry.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W2MORA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank You very much for a kind review. Yes, The Rockwater Resort and Spa is known as one of the top wedding ceremony locations in British Columbia. As a matter of fact Wedding Professionals of BC voted us as being the number one location for 2012 and 2013.

Guests wishing to fly directly to our destination on a charter float plane may do so via Harbour or Tofino Air. Also there are regular daily flights in and out of Sechelt which is approximately 20 minutes south of our location.

Wishing you all the very best.

Dikran Zabunyan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    166
    112
    57
    54
See reviews for
105
529
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the tent suit for 2 nights. It was a great experience ! The tent is well kept and luxury. We are really impressed the heated floor, the Bain Ultra tub and the nice mattress. The view from the tent is phenomenal !!! We went there in March, so that we had experienced sound of rain drops, wind and also some sunshine on our last day! We love this glamping /outdoor experience but cozy and comfortable. Service are great. Staffs are very friendly and efficient. Ivan, the manager, he is great and very accommodating. I feel like we are in 6 stars hotel. He made our stay really smooth and enjoyable. We definitely will go back again soon.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Carmen L,

Thank You very much for posting a wonderful review on line pertaining to your stay with us.

Ivan, our Guest Services Manager is a tremendous asset to our resort and thank you also for recognizing him as such.

We look forward to be at your service again in the future.

All the very best.

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We just returned to San Diego from a long weekend staying in one of the Tenthouse Suites (#65 to be exact) and had an amazing time. From the rainstorm on the day of our arrival, which would generally put a damper on things, but made for an amazing ambiance in the Tenthouse, to being woken up by the sounds of the waves beating on the shore and calls of Bald Eagles, I would give Rockwater Secret Cove 10 stars if I could.

Never having been to the Sunshine Coast before, we were awestruck by the beauty of the area and will definitely be returning...not just to the area but to stay at the Rockwater. The staff was super friendly and accommodating and made our stay special.

Thanks again Rockwater!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kitty Hawk Cove Tenthouse (#65). Would recommend this Tenthouse to anyone for the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Jacob S,

It was our pleasure to be at your service and from all your friends here on The Sunshine Coast we thank you very much for a wonderful review.

Wishing you all the very best and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

after seeing the resort a few years ago while on a weekend on the the sunshine coast, we had always wanted to stay here. So last september we got our chance when we got married and decided to spend the two nights after our wedding here in one of the so called luxury tents. I have to stress the word tent. The weather was a typical west coast fall weekend, full of rain and all that makes the coast such a great place to live. When we checked in the front desk lady told us that quiet time was at 10 pm and that if we had any complaints to call the front desk. We settled in well and everything seemed fine. We were in some serious need of some quiet and relaxing time after the wedding madness. This was not going to happen here. we were rudely awakened by our neighbours who came thundering down the wood walk way and proceeded to be as loud as could be. We put up with the noise of them having sex for the night as we were to tired to deal with it and the rain started to drown some of it out. the next morning we were woke by them again being loud and obnoxious. we went out for the day so we didn't have to deal with them. that night we had a pretty nice meal at the restaurant and retired back to our tent. again we were disturbed by the same couple who didn't understand that the tent walls aren't sound proof. another guest at the other close tent yelled to them to be quiet and they ignored them. we called the front desk several times with no answer. we even called the hotels emergency phone number with no answer. My wife got up and walked to the front desk to find the night manager but to no avail. She was able to find the young kid left in charge in the kitchen who appeared drunk. when we confronted him to do something about the neighbours he kept saying what can he do. the obvious would have been walk down and listen for him self. but he seemed very reluctant to deal with the situation in a professional matter. we had to call the front dest several times again that night and still nothing was done other than a phone call to the tent which was making all the noise who then blamed another tent and that they were respectful people and they would not make that kind of noise.

We complained to the manager of the hotel and he basically shrugged it off and said they get lots of complaints about noise there due to the tents not being sound proof. We spent a lot of money there that weekend and were treated like crap. I would not recommend this dump to my worst enemy. I have since managed to tell several friends who had planned to go and stay here who will not now after our experience.

exceptionally poor management.

Room Tip: a good room would be one not at this resort. Spend your money on a nicer place with better managemen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cmdrtron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Cmdrtron,

Thank you very much for posting a review pertaining to your September 2013 stay at The Rockwater Resort and Spa.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the excessive noised caused by the couple who was occupying a nearby canvas made tent house suite to yours which was definately uncalled for. Unfortunately loud noise travels in that part of our Resort.

The young person who you alleged to be drunk in the kitchen happened to be our competant Night Supervisor who at the time was cooking a late night room service meal for another couple staying with us.

Wishing you all the very best.

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were excited to stay here after seeing all of the good reviews and pictures on the website. We booked in to a cabin for one night as a more expensive stay on a road trip in August.

While the location is beautiful and the resort itself had such potential, we found that the cabin itself fell short. Perhaps it was that they have put their attention mostly to the tent cabins. Our cabin was very muggy (to be fair, it was BC in August so we could expect that) and the ceiling fan shook when it was used. We moved the corner table to play a game and found several dead insects underneath. When we called to have it cleaned up, however, the service was fast and friendly. I found it a tad disconcerting to have building materials leaned up against the exterior of our cabin. When we took a walk around we could see that the area where the tent cabins were was much better maintained with less clutter.

The view from the cabin was fantastic and we enjoyed having breakfast out on the balcony and playing cards while the sun was setting. The resort itself felt very secluded.

The map showed a horseshoe pit and fire pit - neither of which seemed to be in service and were overgrown with grass.

We really enjoyed the outdoor massage we had. Again, the service was friendly and fantastic. Nothing like having the waves in the background to relax you during a spa experience!

Overall, we would likely stay again but direct our money toward a tent cabin.

Room Tip: I suspect that splurging on the tent cabins would give a significantly better in-room experience tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CK101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear CK101010

Thank You very much for taking to post a positive review pertaining to your August 2013 stay at Rockwater Resort and Spa.

Please accept our apologies for our Housekeeping and Maintenance shortcomings and be assured that I have passed on your comments to them to avoid future incidents as such from repeating themselves.

Kindly note that we continue to work on renovating our Rustic and Cozy Cabins every year and I am pleased to let you know that we have recently upgraded our cabins 3,4 and 5 to ensure a more pleasant experience to our ever valuable guests.

Wishing you all the very best and we look forward to seeing you at Rockwater again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We ventured aback again for our 4th trip to Rockwater in as many years. Had an excellent stay. We loved the tents so much. The rain at night was very peaceful. Ivan and Andrea and the rest of the staff were quick courteous and polite. We'll be back again for sure.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cameron-Lola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Cameron-Lola,

Thank You very much for posting a wonderful review on Trip Advisor pertaining to your Fourth Stay with us.

We look forward to be at your service for many years to come.

Our sincerest thanks again and wishing you all the very best.

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was the best place we've ever stayed. The staff ( Ivan ) was incredible and we will definitely be back for years to come. The tent house suites are so amazing. Going to bed each night to the sounds of the ocean waves was so nice.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brains1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Brains 1984,

Thank You very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor pertaining to your recent stay at the Rockwater Resort and Spa.

We were delighted to read that you had a wonderful time with us and we look forward to be at your service again in the future.

All the very best.

Dikran Zabunyan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halfmoon Bay
5.8 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
22.5 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
20.3 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
1.4 mi away
Secret Cove Cottage Suites
Secret Cove Cottage Suites
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockwater Secret Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockwater Secret Cove Resort

Property: Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Address: 5356 Ole's Cove Rd | Halfmoon Bay, Halfmoon Bay, British Columbia V0N 1Y2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Halfmoon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockwater Secret Cove Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort is the Sunshine Coast's Premier 4 star year round resort, featuring 38 ocean front rooms, suites, tenthouse suites and cabins. The resort features a restaurant, lounge, and seasonal outdoor swimming pool. Ideal resort for getaway, corporate retreats and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Rockwater Secret Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockwater Secret Cove Hotel Halfmoon Bay
Hotel Rockwater Secret Cove
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort Canada/Halfmoon Bay, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing