We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Wedding location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
1 review
“Best Wedding location!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We recently had our wedding at Rockwater resort on October 5th, 2013. We could not have dreamed up a better place to do it then here. From the first moment we visited Rockwater, a year ago, we fell in love and have never been disappointed. The staff are so warm and inviting, the food is AMAZING and the scenery is beautiful. There are so many great people who work there but 2 very special people stand out in my mind. Firstly, is Ivan, the front desk manager. He is the nicest most genuine person and always manages to make you smile. He goes above and beyond to make sure you are taken care of and comfortable and makes you feel like you have known him forever, instantly you feel his warmth. Secondly, I would like to take the time to mention Rhian, the most wonderful wedding coordinator. She truly is a wedding angel, our wedding angel. Without Rhian, our wedding at Rockwater resort would not have happened, or at least how we would have liked. She really went above and beyond dealing with whatever we threw at her. She managed to be a mediator with family when we were fed up and felt like it was all too much. Rhian truly is a 'mother type' figure but in the best way possible. She is stern and forceful when she needs to be but comforting and caring when she feels you need someone to lean on. She went threw a lot of stress and headache (sorry Rhian!) to make sure we had the very best wedding possible. She far exceeded our expectations and we can not thank her enough. All of our friends and family who attended our wedding had nothing but good things to say about all the staff. We left feeling happy, relaxed and overjoyed with the experience we had there. We only wish we could do it all again it was so wonderful. We know that we will be back up there however for our first anniversary, and maybe sooner, and so we have that to look forward to! Thank you to all the staff at Rockwater Resort!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiaSophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write an Amazing review pertaining to your recent experience at The Rockwater Resort and Spa.

It was our pleasure to be at your service and thank you also for your kind remarks about Rhian and Ivan which I have relayed it to them as such.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

All the very best.

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    175
    124
    61
    55
See reviews for
115
553
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had our wedding here in August. It was perfect for us - a combination of a "camp" type feeling because of the cabins, which was great for the kids (they spent half their time in the pool), but also a nice, civilized resort setting with great food and comfortable accommodation for the older folk. The famous tenthouses more than live up the the hype. A splurge, for sure, but more than worth it for a very unique once (or maybe twice :-)) in a lifetime experience. The accommodations overall were probably a little on the pricey side, but in my opinion worth it especially if you are attending a wedding. I thought that the cabins were very cute, and romantic in their own way.

The restaurant food was excellent, especially considering that Rockwater is a fairly remote location. The service could be a little spotty, but everyone was clearly trying their best . Our guests raved about the food at the wedding buffet, and the rehearsal poolside BBQ was amazing. I felt the food and beverages were reasonably priced, and more importantly the staff at Rockwater (we dealt mostly with Rhian) were more than upfront about cost estimates. For example, if I told Rhian we'd like to order 10 appetizer platters for the cocktail hour, she said we'd be fine with 8. Not only is this ethically correct way to work with guests, it ensures future recommendations instead of complaints...smart!

Speaking of Rhian, she is Rockwater's secret weapon for weddings (Ivan at the front desk is also unforgettable!). From when I first called her in February to when we said goodbye after the ceremony, I truly felt that she had our backs and wanted us to have a fabulous wedding almost as much as us. She even "fluffed" my dress just before I walked down the aisle. Now that's service! All of her tips and recommendations were beyond perfect. I have to give a shout-out to Chris Mortensen of Lucid Imaging (photography), Nanci at Les Fleurs de Fi (flowers) and Jeannine at Creekside Salon (Hair). Each one of them did outstanding work at very reasonable prices.

To sum up, I'd say that if you want a destination wedding in a gorgeous location that's not too far away, Rockwater is your place. If you're looking for a romantic getaway and can splurge on a tenthouse, there's nowhere (anywhere) better than Rockwater. If you're on more of a budget or travelling with family, a cabin or room at Rockwater is still a great option, but there are also some other nice Bed and Breakfast places on the Sunshine Coast that might be worth a look as well.

PS I did not have any of the spa treatments, but the wedding guests who did loved their massages.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YVRGRLTRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
You are Fantastic!

Thank You very much for an amazing review pertaining to your recent experience at Rockwater Resort and Spa.

Please note that your shout-outs will be personally relayed by me to all concerned.

Thank you again and wishing you all the very best.

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I attended a friends wedding and its was a beautiful location for a wedding, a very romantic setting. Everything was excellent from the service, the great food and beautiful scenery. The rooms over look the water and I enjoyed sitting on the deck in the morning having my coffee. The tents are so beautiful and ideal for a nice romantic get away.

Pricing was fair but I didn't get an opportunity to use the spa but those who did said it was wonderful.

Room Tip: I had a room on the second floor and it was quiet and I had a great view of the ocean. Bathrooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Sharon L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at Rockwater Resort and Spa with all on line readers.

We look forward to be at your service again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The location is beautiful as is the scenery and views of the ocean. We came for an elopement, and feel the package price is a little high for the value we received. If you are considering the elopement package, get a breakdown of the pricing in order to make the best decision possible. The boardwalk out to the tent houses is spectacular, but over a 5 minute walk to the furthest ones, so get help with your luggage from the staff. Also, although incredibly well appointed, keep in mind that these are still tents. If it rains you will be kept awake, and you can hear your neighbours, so they can also hear you! Staff are very friendly and generally accommodating.

Room Tip: Tenthouse 60 is right on the ocean and probably one of the most private, but the deck felt too small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello Ron D,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review pertaining to your recent stay at Rockwater Resort and Spa.

I was delighted to hear that you found our staff to be extremely helpful and accomodating.

After reading your comments about Our Elopment Package although very comparable to other resorts in British Columbia, we have decided to review it in order to make it more structured.

We wish you all the very best and hope to see you at Rockwater again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodview, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Beautiful location & the tent rooms are lovely. Especially good for a large group occupying the whole resort. The food is excellent & the spa staff are great as well. The BC ferry ride adds to the experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Nancy M.

Thank you very much for the kind review pertaining to your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you found our food and our spa staff to be excellent. Our location is also second to none on the Sunshine Coast of British Columbia.

We certainly hope to see you here again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Rockwater is a nice resort if you are looking at taking advantage of their spa and assortment of activities otherwise it is overpriced. The service at the hotel is great but the older cabins are somewhat dated. We didn't stay in one of the newer tent rooms that appear to be nicer as they were already booked.

We had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant and were somewhat disappointed. The view and ambiance was great but the food was below what we had experienced at other establishments on our boat trip on the Sunshine Coast.

Room Tip: The older cabins are somewhat dated and have very small showers. These rooms do have great views tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank You very much for your candid review of our services here at The Rockwater Resort and Spa.

I have noted your dissapointment in regards to our food served during breakfast as well as dinner and advised our Chef the same.

Please accept our apologies for our shortcomings and we are hoping that you will provides with an opportunity to make amends in the future.

All the very best.

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed in one of the tents and had a fabulous time. It was our last vacation before having our first child and was appropriate - we spent a lot of time together. It's the kind of place where you can spend a lot of time on the porch or in your room and feel great about it. Only complaint would be that we could hear sounds from other tents.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenricae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank You very much for your kind review pertaining to your stay at The Rockwater Resort and Spa.

We wish you all the very best and much health as well as happiness with the arrival of your first child.

Our team looks forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halfmoon Bay
5.8 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
356 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
22.5 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
15.1 mi away
Backeddy Resort & Marina
7.1 mi away
Pender Harbour Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockwater Secret Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockwater Secret Cove Resort

Property: Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Address: 5356 Ole's Cove Rd | Halfmoon Bay, Halfmoon Bay, British Columbia V0N 1Y2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Halfmoon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockwater Secret Cove Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort is the Sunshine Coast's Premier 4 star year round resort, featuring 38 ocean front rooms, suites, tenthouse suites and cabins. The resort features a restaurant, lounge, and seasonal outdoor swimming pool. Ideal resort for getaway, corporate retreats and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rockwater Secret Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockwater Secret Cove Hotel Halfmoon Bay
Hotel Rockwater Secret Cove
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort Canada/Halfmoon Bay, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing