We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of power 3 times in 8 hours! What a joke!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rockwater Secret Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Out of power 3 times in 8 hours! What a joke!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Firstly, I can not believe the room and resort worth 270cad per night. The mainbuilding and its room design are overall like a MOTEL!

Horrible!!

Within 8 hours, the power was out THREE times. We didn't even turn on the tv. We only plug in one appliance. Power just went out!

Do NOT stay at the main building. Cabin looks cheap too.



  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uske823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear uske823,

Thank You very much for your review.

We sincerely apologize for the unexpected power outage in your room and thank you also for accepting a 10% discount on your room rate of 239.00 during yesterday's check out for this inconvenience.

As we explain to all our guests who are calling in for reservations that our lodge rooms as well our rustic cabins which are part of the original buildng are three star standard hotel accomodations and their price points have been positioned as such depending on the time of the year.

I welcome you back to stay in one of our world famous 5 star tent house suites in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    163
    106
    57
    54
See reviews for
105
520
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed in Cabin Number 6 which was a great spot for views of the ocean and privacy. The cabin is nicely renovated and very comfortable. One downside is that it is located next to the sewage treatment, and when the wind is blowing in the right direction the smell drifts up and if you are sitting on the deck it can be unpleasant. Absolutely love the grounds, very "west coast". The location of the property is excellent in terms of proximity to explore the entire Sunshine Coast. Check in was great, Ivan is wonderful! We had two dinners at the resort and have to say the quality is comparable to high end restaurants downtown Vancouver, at a very reasonable price, huge portions, and lovely presentation. We will return again and again! Next time we will try one of the tents!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RubyCoquitlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear RubyCoquitlam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a wonderful review on Trip Advisor pertaining to your recent stay with us.

I have already passed on your kind remarks to Ivan our Guest Services and Tour/Travel Manager.

Also I apologize for the odor generated by our sewage treatment plant which is located very close to Cabin 6 as we try to minimize this inconvenience by more frequent maintenance during our very busy summer season.

It is in our master renovation/expansion plan to move this away from our guests view to a non public area of our resort.

We look forward to seeing you again at Rockwater in the future.

All the very best.

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay in this wonderful resort for a friends wedding and in doing so, was able to get a good idea of the full resort as I was in a number of rooms through out my stay.

My accommodations were in the Honeymoon Cabin which is apparently the only cabin that has a king size bed. I booked the stay some time ago but added a day through the resort about a month before my stay. The staff was helpful and accommodating.

Check in was very good. We were given a map with directions to the cabin as well as checked in for reservations for dinner. Check in was extremely quick. I would have appreciated help with our bags upon check in and check out but the service was never offered. The cabin was tucked away however on a rocky pathway which wasn't ideal for our bags.

The cabin was rustic but nicely appointed with a great deck overlooking the shore. The room as described had a little sitting area on the deck and inside the room with a flat screen TV (although we never turned it on), mini fridge and cabinet.

While the room had the king bed, there wasn't a lot of space on one side of the bed which often required us to leave via the foot of the bed in order to get up during the night.

The bathroom was very small with only a shower. If you’re a bigger person, you might be better off looking into a pool side room as the bathrooms are larger.

Our meals at the resort were extremely good. Our breakfast servers seemed highly inexperienced as we often had to ask individually for milk and sugar for our coffee, then again for spoons. It was towards the end of breakfast service but we felt rushed.

The service for the wedding was excellent.

I would definitely stay here again but would likely seek a Tent suite although the cost is somewhat prohibited. All in all, we had a great time in a beautiful location.

Room Tip: The tent suites are definitely the way to go if you are looking for a spectacular view. The Honeymo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stumblehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Stumblehome,

Thank You very much for your kind review pertaining to your recent stay with us.

I have passed on your comments regarding the inexperienced server during breakfast to our food and beverage manager and I apologize for this shortcoming as such.

We look forward to having you stay with us in one of our five star tent house suites in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

My friends and I have visited Rock Water resort from Vancouver for lunch.
We waited 45 minutes for our lunch, which did not matter as we had a table with beautiful view of the ocean, neighborhood islands, trees...food was good (not outstanding) our waiter very pleasant and attentive.
We are looking forward to come back in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Dasha M.

Thank You very much for the " beautiful " review pertaining to your recent lunch experience at The Rockwater Resort and Spa.

I have passed on your comments to our Food and Beverage Manager and our new Chef for future reference and action.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

All the very best.

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was my first time back since the remodel and new ownership. Location is superb, especially if you can get out on the water (if you are son inclined..). We were also blown away by the quality of the food and presentation. As my friend remarked: "They really know what they are doing in the kitchen."

We rented the two bedroom suite and while it was clean, it's basically a painted up motel room. The bedding was comfortable. To bring the resort up to "luxury" standard would mean a multi-million capital project and likely shut it down for a season. While the room was ok, it was expensive and didn't take full advantage of the amazing views - again, a major reno would be needed which could be hard to justify...

Highlights:
- Friendly staff
- Excellent food
- Comfortable bedding
- location, location, location

Improvement areas:
- Expensive room for what you get

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thirty-something72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear thirty-something72,

Thank You very much for the kind review pertaining to your recent stay at The Rockwater Resort and Spa on Trip Advisor.

We recently brought in a very highly qualified Chef who has worked in Four Diamond Plus Hotels and Resorts throughout the world in order to refine and enhance the overall culinary experience of our guests.

Also, there are plans in the future to fully renovate our current three star Cabin and Lodge accomodations in order to bring them up to the same five star level of our Tent House suites.

Our team looks forward to be at your service again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

1. Stayed in cabin. Overall resort did not look like the website. Would be better marketed as an up-leveled camp. It was not as plush or as luxurious as resort is expected to be, especially at prices charged. Housekeeping did a great job, but there were tons of mosquitoes in the room. Rooms are small, mattresses are poor.
2. Made reservation this past winter. Confirmed my reservation. Arrived and realized there was a tent - inquired what was going on, and was then notified there was a wedding. I assumed that it was a day wedding, or other measures were being taken to ensure a good experience for everyone. It was not until 11pm that night when I called the front desk to ask when the pounding music was going to stop, that I was informed that the resort was actually under a buy out for the wedding, EXCEPT for our room. At no point was I informed that a wedding was going to be happening right next to our cabin, until 2:06AM. We drove 6 hours for rest and relaxation, and came home totally exhausted. When checking out, one night was credited, and an apology was offered as an after thought. I was informed that their notes indicated that someone had notified me, and the staff had tried to find alternative accommodations in June, but everything was sold out. No one notified me or even suggested an alternative weekend. Also, it seemed to be almost implied that I was lying that I did not know. Why would my husband and I drive 6 hrs to sleep next to a party that went until 2:06 in the morning. Clearly there are some huge management gaps - really sloppy, and easily avoided.
3. Website and guest folio implies a certain level of service and knowledge of local activities. Attempted to book horseback riding via guest folio, was given their phone number and told to call them directly. They should just get rid of the guest folio because it sets an expectation of a level of service they do not provide. Their website also advertises local activities. When inquiring about mountain bike trails and lakes at the front desk, we were handed a packet of pre-printed materials from a local website and a map. When I asked for location of one of the spots in the materials, the front desk person said they did not know. I then had to ask them if they could ask someone who would know...
4. Attempted to order room service for breakfast as we had our dog with us. Was told someone would call us back. After 10 minutes, we called again, and was told someone would call us back. We then just walked to the restaurant and ordered room service... Someone should have just taken our order on the first call and handled it - that is resort service.

Overall, really disappointing experience. We were so looking forward to this past weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lksr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear lksr,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review pertaining to your recent stay at The Rockwater Resort and Spa.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused as it is very abvious that our team failed to deliver what we preach every day prior to your arrival as well as during your stay.

I have discussed your experience with every member of our staff to ensure incidents as such are not repeated in the future.

I was also pleased to hear that we were able to extend you a one night complimentary accomodation for our shortcomings prior to your departure.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had our Daughter's Wedding at Rockwater.
Everything was wonderful! The setting is beautiful! Have no idea
why people travel so far for a "Destination Wedding" when we have
such amazing scenery right here.
Thank you to all of the staff for making it "The Best Day Ever", especially
Rhian who made sure everything ran smooth!

Room Tip: First night we stayed in the resort. Our room was a one bedroom suite. It was large, comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hailey Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Hailey Y,

Thank You very much for sharing your recent experience at The Rockwater Resort and Spa with all of our on line community.

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. It is by comments such as yours that our Resort was voted the top wedding ceremony location in our beautiful Province for 2012 by the Wedding Professionals of British Columbia.

Our team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

All the very best.

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halfmoon Bay
5.8 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
22.4 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
20.5 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,846 reviews
1.3 mi away
Secret Cove Cottage Suites
Secret Cove Cottage Suites
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockwater Secret Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockwater Secret Cove Resort

Property: Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Address: 5356 Ole's Cove Rd | Halfmoon Bay, Halfmoon Bay, British Columbia V0N 1Y2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Halfmoon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockwater Secret Cove Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort is the Sunshine Coast's Premier 4 star year round resort, featuring 38 ocean front rooms, suites, tenthouse suites and cabins. The resort features a restaurant, lounge, and seasonal outdoor swimming pool. Ideal resort for getaway, corporate retreats and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rockwater Secret Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockwater Secret Cove Hotel Halfmoon Bay
Hotel Rockwater Secret Cove
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort Canada/Halfmoon Bay, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing