We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away from the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Amazing experience. Super friendly staff. Tent cabins were a little cold at night but amazing design and view.perfect place to reconnect with your partner.tried both the tent cabins and the hotel rooms. The food was some of the best we've had in BC. The chef was fantastic and every meal was delicious.

Room Tip: Tents super romantic, a little cold.amazing view. Hotel rooms on lower level not good wifi connecti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikingdan1771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Vikingdan1771,

Thank you very much for your kind review on Trip Advisor pertaining to your recent stay at The Rockwater Resort and Spa.

I was delighted to hear that you had a fantastic time with us.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (851)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

574 - 580 of 851 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

This resort matched its beautiful views with its great staff. We had great help with directions and ideas for adventure from Toni at the front desk. She was very helpful when I needed to use her laptop for a few important emails. We had two five star meals in their restaurant. The crab stuffed mushrooms beat "Seasons In the Park" staple mushrooms. Our server Bree was great and very informative with the menu. This was a great romantic weekend!! Thanks Rockwater !! We will be back

Room Tip: You cant miss with any room. All great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Adam O,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Rockwater Resort on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us.

I have passed on your compliments to Toni and Bree.

Our team looks forward to being at your service again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My fiance and I were looking for a couple of days away from the Vancouver. We found a deal through BC Ferries Vacations to stay at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort. It was relatively inexpensive and definitely in our budget.

The ferry ride was fantastic and shorter than the route we are used to, Tsawwassen - Swartz Bay. It was long enough to enjoy the beautiful sunny day and a glass of water, Dave, my fiance chose a short nap, but short enough not to become annoyed by the screaming children.

The 45 minute drive from the ferry to the Resort was pleasant enough. On our way through Gibsons we noticed a learn to curl lesson occurring during our stay on the Sunshine Coast; we later went and very much enjoyed the lesson and the curling.

The Rockwater Secret Cove Resort is surrounded by beautiful scenery: trees, water, rocky cliffs. It's quite picturesque. Checking in was friendly and professional. I inquired if it was possible to change from the "waterfront room" to a cabin and the friendly front desk lady said of course! She even allowed us to check out both rooms before deciding.

One of the rooms near us had a family with two smallish children staying in it. I was concerned that they would ruin our calm but luckily we only heard them running around a couple of times. The Rockwater has a iron-clad noise policy that you must sign when you check in (YAY!). Other places we have stayed, such as Yellow Point, have age restrictions that the Rockwater might consider.

The cabin was quite nice. New paint job, big windows over looking the water, comfortable bed, cute bathroom. Take slippers because the tile floor isn't heated.

The restaurant was amazing! The food was beyond all expectation! Though it is quite expensive and there are quite a few alternatives if you are willing to drive into town. We had two breakfasts and two dinners during our stay. I ordered the Classic Benny for breakfast both times. I couldn't get enough of the hollandaise sauce. It was absolutely delicious. Dave had the Ham and Cheddar Cheese Omelette the first morning and the BC Smoked Salmon Bagel the second morning and was happy and full. For dinner they were running a deal with a small plate or a dessert and a main for $29 (which is a good deal when you look at the pricing of the main dishes). We had Antipasto, Lamb Shank, Pork Chop, and Creme Brule the first night and House Greens, Pork Chop, and Prosciutto wrapped Salmon the second night. It was fabulous beyond words. And I can't say enough about Levi, our waiter. He was friendly, professional, and has a very long memory. After our first visit he remembered us and our names and what we like to drink. Levi also brought us our first ever room service. I'll always remember him.

The views are breath-taking, the surround area has amazing hikes and outdoorsy things to do, the rooms are comfortable and private (stay in a cabin like us if you can't afford the tent cabins), the food is beyond words, and the service is out of this world.

Room Tip: If you are booked in a "waterfront room" in the hotel, ask if you can stay in a cabin. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catakii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Catakii,

Thank You very much for your very kind review on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to hear that you had a pleasant experience on the Sunshine Coast and at the Rockwater Resort and Spa.

I have personally passed on your complimentary remarks to Levi Lubis who is our Food and Beverage Manager.

As for our age restriction policy at Rockwater Resort, I am pleased to advise you that our five star Tent House Suites are for adults only.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed in tent cabin #60 - it was his birthday and I treated him to a romantic getaway here. We loved it! Tent cabin #60 was right down on the water and the view was spectacular. When we went to dinner I didn't have to tell the server it was his birthday - he automatically brought out champagne for both of us and a nice touch was surprising my husband with a chocolate truffle cake with a candle. It was nice to go somewhere where you didn't have to pull someone aside to ask them to do something for his birthday (like most restaurants don't pay attention to your booking even though you specify it's a birthday). Everything was just perfect! We had a wonderful time and would and have recommend this place to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bamccarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear Bamccarthy,

Thank You very much for taking the time to share your experience at The Rockwater Resort and Spa with other Trip Advisor readers.

I was delighted to hear that You and Your Husband had a wonderful stay at our resort.

I have also passed on your kind comments about the special birthday dinner service to Levi who had the pleasure of serving you that particular evening.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Food, service and tent suite were all perfect. View from our tent and deck was breathtaking. Comfortable bed and huge tub fit two 6 foot people with room to spare! West Coast comfort at its best. Will be back for sure..........

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Emily,

Thank You very much for taking the time to submit a review on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to hear about your experience at The Rockwater Resort and Spa.

Our team looks forward to being at your service again in the future.

All the very best.

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Rockwater is one of those places that made me think twice about submitting a review...for the longest time I wanted to keep it a secret since it is such a special place. We wanted to get away at the last minute in August and couldn't find much availability on the Sunshine Coast. We came across Rockwater via a random internet search and called for more info (was having trouble believing that they were offering tents as accommodation). They were able to fit us into one of their 1 bedroom cabins for two nights then move us to two different tents for the next two nights. At first I wasn't happy about all the moving but it ended up being the best possible way to experience the different personalities of this resort.

The cabins are small, quaint and cozy and sit on the lower part of the resort close to the ocean. They are nothing fancy but a perfect welcome after a day of traveling via plane, car and ferry. Sitting out of the rocks watching the sunset was extremely peaceful, as was waking up with the sunrise and sitting out on the small porch curled up in a wicker chair with a blanket, a cup of coffee and a book.

The grounds are not extensive, but pretty and well kept. We went sea kayaking with Halfmoon Sea Kayaks on site and had one of the best mornings of my life. Seals, fish, dolphins/porpoises and even a small whale swam around us as we paddled the coastline and explored the many intriguing and breathtaking coves along the way. We also went on a horseback/trail ride coordinated through the resort and I can't recall the name of the outfit since I have blocked it from memory - not a great experience (lack of safety measures, zero cleanliness, poor horse matching to riders plus the trail was very ho-hum); your time is better spent hiking or kayaking or having one of the most magnificent massages ever! There are two massage tents right on the edge of the ocean that create the most amazing and memorable place to experience relaxation...a ocean-side massage is well worth doing, especially with a special someone.

The move from cabin to tent was completely handled by the resort staff, quietly and seamlessly. The first indication that I knew we were in for a treat was walking on the boardwalk from the main building back through the forest to the hillside tents. The boardwalk alone set the stage for what felt like walking into another world. Our first tent was set back into the trees and felt completely private, which is weird since it really is a tent (a very well-made. high end luxurious tent). I loved sitting on the deck at night looking up at a sky-full of stars listening to the sounds of the ocean, and the incredibly comfy king size bed made for a solid night's sleep.

The next day we were moved to another tent (moving was an exciting prospect rather than an inconvenience) which truly was breathtaking. The tent was perched on the rock cliff directly overlooking the ocean and the view was stunning. We could watch the ocean "traffic" of boats and seals, dolphins/porpoises and whales pass by while sitting on the deck. Its hard to put the experience into words that do it justice...you really just need to go and experience it yourself. This is one of those special places that can spark the deepest of emotions, inspire the mind to expand and warm the heart and soul. We'll definitely be back...Rockwater is a new favourite!

Room Tip: The tents are worth every penny for both the unique experience, the location and the views. The cabi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLT69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear LLL69,

It was our pleasure to be at your service and thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to hear about your fantastic stay at The Rockwater Resort and Spa however very dissapointed about your negative horseback trail riding experience. I have spoken to the owner of this particular enterprise relating to your unfortunate adventure and he has assured me that incidents and experiences as such will not reoccur in the future.

Wishing you all the very best and we look forward to seeing you again here at Rockwater.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We choose to stay at Rockwater because of the photo's of the beautiful views from the luxury tents. Those photo's don't even come close to capturing the stunningly serene and beautiful sunrise and sunset views from the tents. Definitely do everything in your power to get into one of the tents near the ocean furthest away from the hotel - they are private and peaceful. The tents are quite a walk away so ask for a porter otherwise you will be in need of a spa massage in the tent house. The luxury tents were interesting - heated wood floors with canvas walls and roof. It rained a couple of days and the drops hitting the tent was quite loud. If you are a light sleeper, the tent (when raining) may not be for you. The bed was large, comfortable and warm. The heater worked well at night and early in the AM. The floors weren't the cleanest, but what do you expect from a tent. The shower was actually quite strong and water hot. While the toilet is close to the walk way with canvas thin walls! Our college ages daughters stay in the hotel. They loved the large room and privacy. We had breakfast and dinner at Rockwater's restaurant and the food and service was very good. The selection wasn't large, but adequate. The massage was weak and very expense, and not worth the cost. The girls loved the kayaking and is a must. The water very calm with great little coves to explore. If you have extra time, rent a skippered yacht at the Sunshine Coast Resort. The skipper is very cool and the yacht so much fun to sail, and it is cheaper than one might think. Our daughters had a grand time! We also had dinner at the grasshopper bar and restaurant in Madeira - great food and drinks. The portion size is hefty and very tasty. But the star attraction is definitely the views from the tents balcony. Be sure to wake up early to catch the views of the sunrise and sunset over a very flat and calm ocean. Stunningly beautiful, romantic, serene and peaceful.
We can't wait to stay in one of the tents again!

Room Tip: You must stay in the luxury tents closest to the ocean. You will not be disappointed with the views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jas U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Jas,

Thank You very much for taking the time to write a detailed review on Trip Advisor pertaining to your recent stay at The Rockwater Resort and Spa.

We were pleased to hear that every one in your family experienced a wonderful stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halfmoon Bay
5.8 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
408 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
22.5 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
15.1 mi away
Backeddy Resort & Marina
1.4 mi away
Secret Cove Cottage Suites
Secret Cove Cottage Suites
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockwater Secret Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockwater Secret Cove Resort

Address: 5356 Ole's Cove Rd | Halfmoon Bay, Halfmoon Bay, British Columbia V0N 1Y2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Halfmoon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
Price Range: $154 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockwater Secret Cove Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort is the Sunshine Coast's Premier 4 star year round resort, featuring 38 ocean front rooms, suites, tenthouse suites and cabins. The resort features a restaurant, lounge, and seasonal outdoor swimming pool. Ideal resort for getaway, corporate retreats and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rockwater Secret Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockwater Secret Cove Hotel Halfmoon Bay
Hotel Rockwater Secret Cove
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort Canada/Halfmoon Bay, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing