We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, romantic getaway.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Food, service and tent suite were all perfect. View from our tent and deck was breathtaking. Comfortable bed and huge tub fit two 6 foot people with room to spare! West Coast comfort at its best. Will be back for sure..........

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Emily,

Thank You very much for taking the time to submit a review on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to hear about your experience at The Rockwater Resort and Spa.

Our team looks forward to being at your service again in the future.

All the very best.

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (842)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

569 - 575 of 842 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

Rockwater is one of those places that made me think twice about submitting a review...for the longest time I wanted to keep it a secret since it is such a special place. We wanted to get away at the last minute in August and couldn't find much availability on the Sunshine Coast. We came across Rockwater via a random internet search and called for more info (was having trouble believing that they were offering tents as accommodation). They were able to fit us into one of their 1 bedroom cabins for two nights then move us to two different tents for the next two nights. At first I wasn't happy about all the moving but it ended up being the best possible way to experience the different personalities of this resort.

The cabins are small, quaint and cozy and sit on the lower part of the resort close to the ocean. They are nothing fancy but a perfect welcome after a day of traveling via plane, car and ferry. Sitting out of the rocks watching the sunset was extremely peaceful, as was waking up with the sunrise and sitting out on the small porch curled up in a wicker chair with a blanket, a cup of coffee and a book.

The grounds are not extensive, but pretty and well kept. We went sea kayaking with Halfmoon Sea Kayaks on site and had one of the best mornings of my life. Seals, fish, dolphins/porpoises and even a small whale swam around us as we paddled the coastline and explored the many intriguing and breathtaking coves along the way. We also went on a horseback/trail ride coordinated through the resort and I can't recall the name of the outfit since I have blocked it from memory - not a great experience (lack of safety measures, zero cleanliness, poor horse matching to riders plus the trail was very ho-hum); your time is better spent hiking or kayaking or having one of the most magnificent massages ever! There are two massage tents right on the edge of the ocean that create the most amazing and memorable place to experience relaxation...a ocean-side massage is well worth doing, especially with a special someone.

The move from cabin to tent was completely handled by the resort staff, quietly and seamlessly. The first indication that I knew we were in for a treat was walking on the boardwalk from the main building back through the forest to the hillside tents. The boardwalk alone set the stage for what felt like walking into another world. Our first tent was set back into the trees and felt completely private, which is weird since it really is a tent (a very well-made. high end luxurious tent). I loved sitting on the deck at night looking up at a sky-full of stars listening to the sounds of the ocean, and the incredibly comfy king size bed made for a solid night's sleep.

The next day we were moved to another tent (moving was an exciting prospect rather than an inconvenience) which truly was breathtaking. The tent was perched on the rock cliff directly overlooking the ocean and the view was stunning. We could watch the ocean "traffic" of boats and seals, dolphins/porpoises and whales pass by while sitting on the deck. Its hard to put the experience into words that do it justice...you really just need to go and experience it yourself. This is one of those special places that can spark the deepest of emotions, inspire the mind to expand and warm the heart and soul. We'll definitely be back...Rockwater is a new favourite!

Room Tip: The tents are worth every penny for both the unique experience, the location and the views. The cabi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLT69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear LLL69,

It was our pleasure to be at your service and thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to hear about your fantastic stay at The Rockwater Resort and Spa however very dissapointed about your negative horseback trail riding experience. I have spoken to the owner of this particular enterprise relating to your unfortunate adventure and he has assured me that incidents and experiences as such will not reoccur in the future.

Wishing you all the very best and we look forward to seeing you again here at Rockwater.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We choose to stay at Rockwater because of the photo's of the beautiful views from the luxury tents. Those photo's don't even come close to capturing the stunningly serene and beautiful sunrise and sunset views from the tents. Definitely do everything in your power to get into one of the tents near the ocean furthest away from the hotel - they are private and peaceful. The tents are quite a walk away so ask for a porter otherwise you will be in need of a spa massage in the tent house. The luxury tents were interesting - heated wood floors with canvas walls and roof. It rained a couple of days and the drops hitting the tent was quite loud. If you are a light sleeper, the tent (when raining) may not be for you. The bed was large, comfortable and warm. The heater worked well at night and early in the AM. The floors weren't the cleanest, but what do you expect from a tent. The shower was actually quite strong and water hot. While the toilet is close to the walk way with canvas thin walls! Our college ages daughters stay in the hotel. They loved the large room and privacy. We had breakfast and dinner at Rockwater's restaurant and the food and service was very good. The selection wasn't large, but adequate. The massage was weak and very expense, and not worth the cost. The girls loved the kayaking and is a must. The water very calm with great little coves to explore. If you have extra time, rent a skippered yacht at the Sunshine Coast Resort. The skipper is very cool and the yacht so much fun to sail, and it is cheaper than one might think. Our daughters had a grand time! We also had dinner at the grasshopper bar and restaurant in Madeira - great food and drinks. The portion size is hefty and very tasty. But the star attraction is definitely the views from the tents balcony. Be sure to wake up early to catch the views of the sunrise and sunset over a very flat and calm ocean. Stunningly beautiful, romantic, serene and peaceful.
We can't wait to stay in one of the tents again!

Room Tip: You must stay in the luxury tents closest to the ocean. You will not be disappointed with the views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jas U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Jas,

Thank You very much for taking the time to write a detailed review on Trip Advisor pertaining to your recent stay at The Rockwater Resort and Spa.

We were pleased to hear that every one in your family experienced a wonderful stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Came here with some friends and stayed a night. Stayed in tent house 58. The place is stunning. The views of the ocean are indescribable. Taking a jacuzzi while looking at the ocean is truly an amazing experience. The manager, Mr Zabunyan,was warm friendly and the perfect host, attentive to every detail, as was Levi and all the staff. Thank you for an incredible experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Catsandcool,

You are very welcome.

Thank you very much for the kind words and I have relayed your compliments to Levi and his team.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We've stayed at Rockwater Resort twice now and will definitely be returning (hopefully soon!). It's an incredible resort - beautiful location, delicious food, breathtaking views, serene setting and on top of that the staff are very helpful, kind, and genuinely care to make your experience a positive one (especially the Front Desk Manager, Ivan!)

Go! Stay in the tenthouse suites - you will not be disappointed!

- Sean

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Rody V,

You are incredible!

Thank You very much for your very kind comments and also for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

I have passed on your remarks to Ivan and the rest of our fantastic Crew here at the Rockwater Resort.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

All the very best.

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This review is actually for Halfmoon Bay Sea Kayaks which is located within Rockwater Secret Cove resort. I cannot comment on the latter since we simply did not stay there.
We had an excellent experience renting kayaks here. We originally went here because our B&B manager had told us that on twitter it said that they would offer a 25% discount. Upon arrival, we discovered that that tweet was meant for the day before but the owner gave us the discount anyways. Prizes are good in general, and especially if you are renting for more than 2 hours, this kayak centre is cheaper than the other companies in the Sechelt area. The equipment (kayaks, life jacket, tools) were state-of-the-art. The owner Cam and his daughter Carlin were very friendly and took the time to explain all whistles and bells of our kayaks. Because it was early season (February) it was fairly cold and so we were given plenty of supplies (emergency supplies) in the case of a capsize. We have had a couple of kayaking experiences, but it was nice that they were genuinely concerned without worrying us. The push-off location was absolutely beautiful. They gave us maps and we paddled to Smuggler's Cove park and back. On our way we saw two eagles flying over our heads and many seals and at least one sea lion! Because we were the last customers of the day, the owner and daughter patiently waited until we came back before they closed up shop. We would definitely rent from them again if we are back in the area. They also launch from Porpoise Bay which is what we will try next time! All in all, an excellent experience!

Room Tip: Kayaking to Smuggler's Cove is highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rody v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Rody V,

Thank You very much for sharing your Kayaking experience here at the Rockwater Resort on Trip Advisor.

Kayaking is one of our most popular attractions here at our Award Winning Resort. Shannon and Cam who operate Halfmoon Bay Kayaks over the years have done an amazing job in looking after our guests as well as their own clients.

I have passed on your very kind remarks to both of them and they were deiighted to hear as such.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This post is a bit late, but we had our wedding at Rockwater in mid-August 2012. It was truly the perfect venue for us, and we were very fortunate to get the booking due to a cancellation 8 months before our weekend.

Our wedding was planned by Ashley at Spread Love Events and she highly recommended this location. She was 100% correct because the weather in August was blue skies, mid 20's temp, shooting stars at night, and an extremely intimate venue. Sounds tacky to say but it really was a dream venue for us.

The natural beauty of the venue is obviously the best part of the resort as it creates a very West Coast feel, something that was important to us with international guests coming to the wedding. We stayed with our friends and family at Rockwater for the full weekend including a full resort bookout the day of the wedding. The bookout gave us the flexibility to have our party go late into the night, and there weren't any complaints from neighbors at other resorts as our party did go late into the night.

The staff at the resort were the next best thing. They helped us a lot with room juggling and Ivan/Rhian at the front counter helped us shift guest rooms numerous times throughout the weekend without any complaint. Everyone was super friendly and this helped us to make our weekend run very smoothly.

The food in the restaurant and during the wedding was very good, personal favorite being the crab cake eggs benedict in the mornings. Excellent!

Although some of the rooms were a bit dated in the cabins and lodges, none of the guests had any complaints at all as they are clean and the beautiful surroundings really make up for it. The tent rooms are spectacular, although quite pricey in the summer. Is it worth it? I think so, because waking up in the morning to the sound of waves is beautiful.

Guests had a lot to do during their free time with kayaking at the resort seeming to be the highlight. Sitting under the stars at night with friends looking at the shooting stars were memorable as well.

One complaint would be the fire pit...We planned to do a campfire one night, but it was right near the septic tank which ended the fire pit experience in about 15min...

All in all, we love our experience at Rockwater and there is no other place we would have liked to do our wedding. Great location, great staff, and great memories.

Thank you to everyone at Rockwater for the wonderful day and Spread Love Events for helping us get the most out of the location with your ideas and design.

D & A

Room Tip: The Kitty Hawk Tent was a bit far to walk but worth it when we got there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DTPG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear DTPG55,

Thank You very much for taking the time to write a review about your overall wedding experience here at the Rockwater Resort and Spa.

It is by comments such as yours that we were selected as the best ceremony location in BC by wedding professionals of British Columbia for 2012.

I was delighted to hear that we were able to accomodate your wedding date and also have the pleasure of hosting this very special day.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Yours truly,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halfmoon Bay
5.8 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
398 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
22.5 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
15.1 mi away
Backeddy Resort & Marina
7.1 mi away
Pender Harbour Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockwater Secret Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockwater Secret Cove Resort

Address: 5356 Ole's Cove Rd | Halfmoon Bay, Halfmoon Bay, British Columbia V0N 1Y2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Halfmoon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
Price Range: $159 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockwater Secret Cove Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort is the Sunshine Coast's Premier 4 star year round resort, featuring 38 ocean front rooms, suites, tenthouse suites and cabins. The resort features a restaurant, lounge, and seasonal outdoor swimming pool. Ideal resort for getaway, corporate retreats and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rockwater Secret Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockwater Secret Cove Hotel Halfmoon Bay
Hotel Rockwater Secret Cove
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort Canada/Halfmoon Bay, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing