We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Say I do amongst west coast beauty with the support wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
Vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Say I do amongst west coast beauty with the support wonderful staff”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Rockwater Secret Cove Resort is a hidden jem on the Sunshine Coast and an ideal location to host a wedding. While the location is beautiful, it’s the attentive staff that make holding a wedding at Rockwater spectacular. As a wedding stylist and planner, I’ve had the benefit of working with Rhian, the Wedding and Events Manager, and appreciate her attention to detail, flexibility, responsiveness (in the months, weeks and days leading up to the wedding) and positive attitude. Rhian is dedicated to the success each and every wedding. No detail or request is too much - just ask. If you want to plan a destination wedding in a stunning location and have the support of onsite staff who are dedicated to helping your vision come to life, Rockwater and Rhian will make it happen!

Room Tip: Splurge for a tent, they're amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    175
    124
    61
    55
See reviews for
115
553
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We visted the Rockwater for the first time over the long weekend as a surprise for my boyfriend on his birthday. The resort exceeded my expectations. We stayed in tenhouse suite #61 and it was beyond perfect. It was so clean and very well taken care of. The view was amazing. Of course we would come back just for the amazing jaccuzzi in the room! That thing was the biggest tub I have ever seen in a hotel room. The light show was really fun too. The combination of wine and jetted tub was to die for! There were two wedding groups when we were there but they stayed on the other side of the property near the cabins so we didn't hear a thing. We had some noisy neighbors at one point who decided to stay up late on their balcony and drink but after a quick call to hotel reception it was take care of. The massage was one of the best I have ever had too. It was outside by the water so you can hear the gentle waves while getting the massage...heavenly! We had the adventure package which I would really recommend. It included the massages, horseback riding and 4 hours of kayaking. Everything was perfect. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to pick the suite that you want. Some of the suites are further back, close to ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashtravels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort August 17 & 18. We were attending a small wedding. The location itself is beautiful; very scenic - but just about anywhere on the Sunshine Coast is beautiful. We travel a lot throughout North America and were coming from Whistler after having spent 2 weeks enjoying the mountains. When we checked in the front desk staff asked us to sign a statement (agreement) that we would observe their "security/noise policy" which is supposedly "tailored to ensure 100 percent guest satisfaction". This is a joke. In addition to the small, intimate elopment wedding we were attending there was another much larger wedding taking place on the same day, and they had a very large tent set up outside the motel-like building that houses guest rooms, the administration building and the dining rooms. I have no idea how many of the guests at this large wedding were staying at the resort, but there were between 50 and 100 people celebrating the wedding well past the designated "no noise" hour. Celebrating a wedding is wonderful and right - and had we been told the wedding after-party was going to be in a tent on the lawn of the resort when we made our reservations in the first place, we would not have stayed there, but we weren't told this. We were told there was going to be another wedding - ot that the after party was going to also be held there and roll on into the night. We were staying in one of the Tent Houses -so the noise (loud music, partying people) traveled through the thin night air and it sounded as if the party was happening on our deck. If you were staying at the resort that night - you were NOT getting ot sleep any time before mid-nigh whether you were attending this party or not. It must have been worse for the poor souls including the young preganant woman who were staying in rooms at the main building. Pounding, loud music well past the designed hour we had agreed, in wirting, to honor. I guess if you have the cash you can keep anyone awake at night as long as you like at Rockewater Resort. We called to complain about the noise - and to ask what the deal was - was the party going to settle down and did they sign the security/noise agreement and if not - why was it necessary for us and other guests to sign it?? There was no apology - we were told "YOU WERE TOLD THERE WAS GOING TO BE ANOTHER WEDDING WHEN YOU BOOKED YOUR ROOM". In other words - "suck it up". This is not the response one provides a guest under any circumstance let alone the mother of the groom to the elopment package who had to run around all day attempting to TRACK DOWN the "wdding planner" that was SUPPOSED to be attending to "every detail" of his small, intimate wedding. I was pissed to say the least. We left the resort that night at 11PM and we will never, ever, under any circumstances ever - be back. It is one thing to hold yourself out as a "high end", luxury resort and not live up to theat billing - it is quite another to ask you to sign an agreement not to make excess noise but permit other guests to do so. Everyone who was not part of the "large wedding" staying at the resort that night who presumably signed the same "securitty/noise" agreement we did were shown zero respect and courtesy. Message: "Your $500 a night is worth less than their $500 a night". As for my son's elopment package wedding - the resort advertises: "Every detail will be personally coordinated by our professional Elopement Coordinator. The Elopement Package allows you and your new partner the pleasure of savouring every element of a personalized and private wedding without stress" . This was not our expereince. In the wake of the "larger wedding" - "every detail" was left to my son to either execute, or find out what the status of the arrangements were - if he could manage to track teh wedding planner down. When was the justice of the peace showing up? He had to track that information down. When was the photographer showing up? He had to track that information down as well. Decorating the deck where their tiny ceremony was to take place - oh yes, he did that himself as well. No one even showed up to ask if there WAS anythign that could be done!! We can say the resort arranged for the justice of the peace, the photographer, and theyprovided flowers for the bride, groom and wedding party of 4 - but to say the "service" was anything more would be a lie. Love is a wonderful thing becasue in spite of the most disappointing experience I've ever had at any "resort" (that is a term loosely applied to this facility) - the actual wedding ceremony was incredibly emotionally filled up with so much love that the circumstances and the setting were moved to irrelevance. Good thing. Disappointing doesn't even begin to describe it.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mountainreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Guest

I am sorry that you found your stay so unpleasant. It is unfortunate that you were unable to discuss this situation with the elopement bride and groom as they were more than happy with the resort and the elopement services.

We accommodated their special requests which were a significant change from the original contract -- including making an exception to the policy and allowing an elopement when there is a large wedding on the property.

The elopement Bride and Groom made a special point of thanking us and apologizing for any difficulties we experienced as a result of their event. They in fact sent a thank you note to our wedding and events manager commenting on how much they appreciated the extra effort we put into making their day special.

I would like to note that when a large wedding is booked on the property we inform other guests (including those here for the elopement) that music will play until 1:00 a.m. The elopement bride and groom were made very aware of this situation when they requested that we permit their elopement on that particular date, and they were happy to accept the disadvantage of noise in order to have the elopement they wanted, when and where they wanted it.

The noise management policy is signed by every guest; and when a large wedding is booked other guests are informed that weddings are an exception in terms of noise, and we will accept a last minute cancellation if guests are worried about noise.

It is unfortunate that the conditions that were part of the elopement agreement were so disturbing to you, and that you found your stay unpleasant. A wedding should be a time of celebration and joy for everyone and we realize that the circumstances that created a large wedding and a small elopement at the same time made your visit less than you expected.

We are truly sorry you did not enjoy your visit.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We can't say enough great things about Rockwater! We live in Vancouver and decided to go up there for a romantic weekend away...this was shortly after my (now) wife and I had gotten engaged. We saw on their website that they could accommodate a wedding of the size that we were planning, so we decided to chat with the wedding coordinator while we were there.

That weekend ended up being fantastic...the food at the restaurant was really great, the service was amazing, and the accommodations were second to none. We decided this was the perfect place for us to get married (which we booked for the summer of 2012).

All along the way, Rhian (the wedding coordinator) was a HUGE help. She has helped plan A LOT of weddings in the past, and it really showed when it came down to sorting out all the details for us. We used a few of the wedding suppliers listed on their website, and they were all very easy to deal with as they knew the property and had provided services for weddings there in the past. And when it came down to the last few weeks and days before the wedding Rhian and her team was eager to assist us with everything we needed, and she knew all of the details that we may have otherwise forgotten about.

The day went off perfectly, all of the little details were handled by Rhian and her staff. As a result, we were the most relaxed bride and groom anyone could expect. Hats off to Rockwater! We loved it so much we have planned to come back for our anniversary. The location is beautiful, the staff is super helpful, and the accommodations are amazing (especially the tent-suites).

The only negatives (or potential negatives) I should mention are that if you are planning on getting married there, you HAVE TO plan for the possibility of rain because they cannot accommodate a large group indoors. We booked a large tent from Gibsons Party Rentals, but we were lucky that the rain stopped before our ceremony. Also, the tent-suties, although they are very luxurious and have a beautiful view, they can get loud at night if there is rain or high winds (due to the canvas roofs). Also, they are quite pricey, and at about $400-$500/night we probably would not have booked them if it were not our wedding night. That being said...this tends to be the going rate for a high-lux suite at a nice hotel overlooking the ocean on the west coast.

Overall, the stay at Rockwater was just amazing, the wedding was perfect, and the staff was very, very helpful in making sure we were comfortable and that everything went off without a hitch.

Room Tip: Tent suites are amazing, but can get loud at night if there is rain or high winds (so bring ear[lugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harps S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Just returned from an anniversary stay Rockwater Secret Cove - stayed in a luxury tent with deck overlooking Halfmoon Bay. Extraordinary stay. Fantastic setting, the tent really is luxurious with a 2 person Jacuzzi tub, king bed, propane fireplace that really the tent, flaps for privacy (or up for air). Room service available but they also have an excellent restaurant. Trails to hike, kayaking & bikes available. Lots to explore. Expensive but for a special occasion like anniversary, definitely worth it. Oh, outdoor open-to-Bay massage also available - definitely try that.

Room Tip: If you can, go for the tents - they are exceptional. Private. Quiet. Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DM1traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for sharing your wonderful experience at the Rockwater Resort with the other viewers of Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to hear that you had a very pleasant stay with us.

The Rockwater is a very unique, prisitine and a very beautiful Resort. I call it a Resort with Character.

We look forward to be at your service again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The place was Lovely for sure.
The location is Beautiful and it had great service.
In the end though, way too expensive for what it is.
I would pay $15O /$175 no problem, but getting into the $25O per night is just too much for this location.

Room Tip: If you have kids, the big one bedroom hotel suite was great, and way better and bigger than even th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALocalCdnTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for the kind review relating to your recent stay at the Rockwater Resort.

Our high season rates are on par with every similar resort and hotel on the Sunshine Coast.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2012

A lovely spot. The tents are charming, the rooms less so. Staff seems to be helpful and attentive.
Food and service are excellent, although not cheap. There was no fitness center.
The kayak concession operated by Halfmoon Sea Kayaks is spotty. Equipment is fine. One day a young woman helped us, and she was very helpful and knowledgeable. The next day was a disaster with a young man who was not helpful in any way and made things difficult for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for your review on Trip Advisor relating to your recent stay at the Rockwater Resort.

I was happy to hear that You and Your Party of three had a pleasant stay overall but dissapointed to know about your experience at the Kayak Centre which is opearated by a third party.

Please note that I have already discussed this unfotunate event with the owner and rest assured similiar incident of this nature will not reoccur in the future.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halfmoon Bay
5.8 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
356 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
22.5 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
15.1 mi away
Backeddy Resort & Marina
7.1 mi away
Pender Harbour Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockwater Secret Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockwater Secret Cove Resort

Property: Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Address: 5356 Ole's Cove Rd | Halfmoon Bay, Halfmoon Bay, British Columbia V0N 1Y2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Halfmoon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockwater Secret Cove Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort is the Sunshine Coast's Premier 4 star year round resort, featuring 38 ocean front rooms, suites, tenthouse suites and cabins. The resort features a restaurant, lounge, and seasonal outdoor swimming pool. Ideal resort for getaway, corporate retreats and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rockwater Secret Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockwater Secret Cove Hotel Halfmoon Bay
Hotel Rockwater Secret Cove
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort Canada/Halfmoon Bay, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing