We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another amazing stay.. what a place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This past weekend we spent our 2nd anniversary at Rockwater (7th visit)... From our first visit before we were married at the resort, we fell in love with it. There is no place like it..
The setting is amazing, the food is outstanding and the service is excellent. We especially enjoy our VIP treatment from Ivan. He really is a neat guy.
Can't recommend this place enough. You will love it!!!!
Kevin and Carla

Room Tip: for sure book a tent. Try and get tent 60 and book well ahead as they sell out fast..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

637 - 643 of 852 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2012

We had a brief, but wonderful stay at Rockwater. The location was stunning, the food delicious (albeit a bit expensive), the staff was very helpful and friendly, and the tent suite was divine. If you are looking for a special romantic experience, you can't beat this place!

Room Tip: We loved our tent suite, but just be aware that they are not soundproof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Rock-Water Resort on Secret Cove on the Sunshine Coast is a designer dream mini-resort on a natural idyllic bay. It was fashioned out of an old resort originally known as Lord Jims , and now boasts not only the refurbished original cabins (with natty furnishings) , but also state-of-the-design-art tent suites on high bank waterfront overlooking the Strait of Georgia. I couldnt book a tent-suite , as a wedding party was in residence when I stayed , but a friend of mine has stayed in one , and pronounces them 'amazing'....high praise indeed from someone not easily impressed.
The grounds are picture postcard with well tended gardens , and the waterfront rockpools and driftwood piles offer plenty of 'Kodak moments'. The staff are pleasant , well-trained and efficient. There are also Spa services offered on-site.
The slight downside I found during my stay , was that the resturant food , although made from good quality ingredients , was rather bland , and lacking in imagination. The list of wines by the glass , although extensive , relied on crowd-pleasers rather than being the showcase for BC wines that I had expected, and the extensive wine bottle-list too showed some strange idiosyncrasies.....for example , the $100-200 per bottle wines did not show a vintage date , whilst a much cheaper New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc did?
This is a destination mini-resort with no other attractions within walking distance...and if your intent is a quiet romantic weekend in a beautiful location , you cant go far wrong....but if you dont come in the warmer summer months , make sure you bring some warm clothes , as the cool winds blow in from the Strait. I didnt use the Spa , but it has a good reputation with people I spoke to.

Room Tip: Choose cabin 10 or 11 , or better still the tent-suite 59 or 60 , both of which have unobstructed vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Loved the tent suites. Don't book the rooms, book the tent suite. The stay was wonderful, the tent was clean and fantastic, the staff friendly and helpful. For the first time we ordered room service as the view from the suite was fantastic. Loved the jet tub. We celebrated our 20th anniversary there and loved it and will be back.

Room Tip: Tent 56 was the most private suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank furtados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cerutti1881cc, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at the Rockwater Resort. It was our pleasure to be at your service and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Our Congratulations on your 20th Anniversary.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I would highly recommend doing the elopement package at the Rockwater resort. If you are looking for stress free and absolutely stunning this is the way to do it! The wedding coordinator (Rhian) is amazing! I had guests from all over the world attend and they absolutely loved the resort. The best destination wedding right in our back yard.

Room Tip: # 60 tent suite. Very private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cerutti1881cc, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2012

Hello Dani,

Thank You very much for taking the time to write a very positive review on Trip Advisor pertaining to your recent stay at The Award Winning Rockwater Resort.

We were delighted to hear that everyone who attended your wedding had a wonderful time with us. Also thank you very much for recommending the Rockwater Resort as a Dream Wedding Destination.

We look forward to be at your service again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We had a wonderful visit. We stayed in a tent house and it was incredible. The view was amazing, service was terrific and the food was delicious. It was a great, unique experience we will recommend to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cerutti1881cc, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Dear Lucy,

Thank You very much for your review on trip advisor. We were delighted that you had an amazing experience at the Rockwater Resort.

We look forward to having back here in the future.

Sincerely,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin mid week for a short getaway. The cabin was cozy, rustic and quite charming. The bedrooms were a decent size. The bathroom was small but very clean. The bedrooms had cobwebs and the bathroom had a resident spider in the shower stall but it was a cabin after all. If it was a bit warmer we would have eaten our room service out on the deck. We were farther back from the water but still had a bit of a view. The parking spot by the cabin is a bit tricky to get to but there is ample parking a couple cabins over. The restaurant was excellent from the food to the friendly servers.. and the view..breathtaking. Not much to do with kids on site but there are beaches and parks a short drive away. In our opinion, not a place to stay for much more than a few days with young children but a nice relaxing getaway regardless. If you are going as a couple it's probably worth springing the extra dollars for a tent cabin.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2travelingfam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dikran Z, General Manager at Rockwater Secret Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Thank You very much for the positive review pertaining to your recent stay at the Rockwater Resort.

Your candid remarks regarding our Cabins are very much appreciated as they sure are cozy, rustic and very comfortable. Unfortunately given the time of the year our outdoor pool and our on site kayak activity centre were closed duting your stay.

We were also very dissapointed hear about the housekeeping issues (which we already remedied) you observed and we sincerely apologize for this shortcoming.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Yours truly,

Dikran Zabunyan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halfmoon Bay
5.8 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
413 reviews
6 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
15 mi away
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
155 reviews
1.4 mi away
Secret Cove Cottage Suites
Secret Cove Cottage Suites
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
9 reviews
15.1 mi away
Backeddy Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockwater Secret Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockwater Secret Cove Resort

Address: 5356 Ole's Cove Rd | Halfmoon Bay, Halfmoon Bay, British Columbia V0N 1Y2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Halfmoon Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfmoon Bay
Price Range: $154 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockwater Secret Cove Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort is the Sunshine Coast's Premier 4 star year round resort, featuring 38 ocean front rooms, suites, tenthouse suites and cabins. The resort features a restaurant, lounge, and seasonal outdoor swimming pool. Ideal resort for getaway, corporate retreats and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rockwater Secret Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockwater Secret Cove Hotel Halfmoon Bay
Hotel Rockwater Secret Cove
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort Canada/Halfmoon Bay, Sunshine Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing