We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem - peace and quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sejuk Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sejuk Cottages
Ranked #17 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Gili Air
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem - peace and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We took Frommer's advice and booked here and were happy we did. These cottages are remote and a bit rustic, but this was what we wanted. I can see why others in the 'poor' reviews did not enjoy their stay. We stayed in Charme 1 and Charme 2--both having air conditioning. If you are whimps like us and cannot sleep in hot weather get the air con! We enjoyed best Charme 1 because of the rooftop perch. Sejuk is far from the port so spend the $5 and take the horse taxi. The staff were friendly, attentive and laid back. The owner, Bernard (Frenchman), was a great contact and helped us along. Breakfast was good and the pool served as a nice place to keep cool. Our only complaints were the average beds and the 'rook garden' bathroom in Charme 2 which required flip-flops. In sum, we are already dreaming of when we can return to Gili Air and will stay at Sejuk Cottages again.

Room Tip: Go with Charme 1!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven_Greimann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    57
    28
    16
    3
See reviews for
58
98
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Just came back to Europe from six nights at Sejuk. Gili Air is an amazing and wonderful place. Sejuk is also nice alternative for accommodation when you visiting Gili. It is not the most luxury and centrally located resort on the island. But it is clean and well taken care off. The garden is really nice and the staff is helpful. Bernard (the owner) answers all your questions and assists you if you need help. The price level is also ok. All in all you a good place!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bumsegubben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in a room right at the back of the site. It was nicely done with a comfy bed, mossie net and fan, and a good deck area to chill out, with thoughtful touches like a washing line to dry clothes. Nice pool area for kids - small but nicely done. Friendly owner who is helpful and the breakfast pancakes were nice.

The reasons we've only given this a medium rating are: very noisy indeed (although some of this is cockerels which are everywhere on the gills and definitely not Sejuk's fault!), needs a little updating (bed linen!) and for the price, there are other places that are much better for couples. The rooms share a connecting wall and you could hear other people staying next door pretty clearly. However, I would say that the room that we stayed in was definitely the worst - there were some great looking family cottages with upstairs private chill-out areas that would be good for people with young children and cool in the heat of the day.

Room Tip: Don't have the room right at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surfinglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currumbin, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed 6 nights. Upon first arriving to Gilli Air my husband said "its so small, what are we going to do for 6 days". We loved Sejuk Cottages and loved the island. Sejuk is the pick of the places to stay and we had time to check out all of them and ask prices etc. We were welcomed with an iced coffee and absolutely loved the Indonesian style cottages. Decor is prefect for a beautiful, casual holiday. Nice touches like a hammock on the verandah, incense sticks on the verandah's table with lovely tea light candles. Many nights we came back, lit a candle and incense and watched the stars.The cottages are set in lovely gardens with frangipani trees. It has a nice pool (which is very clean) with a frangipani tree and a waterfall in the middle so that when you sit at the pool you listen to the ripple of water and small the perfume of the frangipani. Not bad eh!! The staff are so laid back they are nearly asleep. Very helpful and attentive. Breakfast is very good with a selection of natural fruit juices, eggs, jaffles and pancakes. There's nothing else you would want. Bernard, the owner (I assume) greeted us every morning and did any phoning we asked (even found and phoned a hotel in Bali near the airport for us). Very lovely gentleman.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
422 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at Sejuk for 4 nights in a standard bungalow which was clean and comfortable. We loved the deck area and spent many hours relaxing on the outdoor furniture and hammock. We stayed on all 3 islands and found Sejuks back from the beach was the most relaxing and peaceful. There were roosters but nothing we could not sleep through. The salt water swimming pool was fine to swim in, but kept our heads above the water. The salt water shower - my husband would wash his hair daily and would brush the salt out after washing and then it was fine. I did not put my hair or face under, but have sensitive skin and found it did not irritate at all after a shower or a swim. Breakfast was very filling, we enjoyed the jaffels and iced coffee. The room was serviced daily which often is not the case in the Gilis in this price range.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynneandcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Great address, it is also Lonely Planet crush so book it really in advance...you can't miss it. Bernard, the French owner, is very helpful and his kindness makes the hotel even better.
Best location on the island from my point of view, on the most authentic side and hidden from the main street so very peaceful and cooler (sejuk means cool, fresh).
Big and very confortable AC rooms, free wifi, tv and dvd, big and delicious breakfast, so cute swimming pool and what a garden..!!!
Anyway definitely best address of Gili Air.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elise s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

we stayed at sejuk cottages in april, for 5 nights. It was our first stay on Gili Air and I did a lot of research. We were there to do our PADI open water, and as my preferred diving centre was fully booked, I decided to stay here. We did the diving at Blue Marlin, which is only about 50-100 metres away from hotel. Very convenient.
So now about the hotel. we arrived at the harbour and took a horse cart. paid around 60k. The welcome was very friendly, we were shown our cottage and had a nice welcome drink, iced coffee. we stayed at the charm cottage, the one with the rooftoop. we paid 450k per night. it was perfect!!

So here my pros for sejuk:
- lovely breakfast (different choices incl fresh fruit juice etc)
- nice staff
- great location on the quieter side of the island, however, you get everywhere within a short walk
- cutest cottage ever
- nice outside bathroom
- super clean
- had a tv incl dvd player and dvds in the room (never used it though)
- nice pool
- everyday 2 bottles of mineral water for brushing teeth, showering
- close to the dive centre Blue Marlin
- all the cottages (all are different, be sure which one you want to book) are surrounded by a really nice gardens with chickens and cats. loved it.

so here the cons:
- salt water in the shower (for us NO problem and we knew it beforehand)
- not directly at the beach (NO problem for us, you are there within a few steps)
- some breakfast staff could have been friendlier
- some reviews say it is too expensive. however, we paid only 450k, reading some of the reviews, they paid the double. then I can imagine that you have different expecations. however, paying 40dollar for a night incl breakfast and staying in your own cottage incl rooftop is a bargain
- when paying by credit card, you have to pay a fee. so be aware or bring enough cash. there is now a ATM on the island

I would reccommend sejuk to everybody. we had dinner every night at the beach closer to the harbour. there are many more tourists and many buildings, so I would def not stay around the harbour.
TIP: do not forget a flashflight, it gets DARK at night. I had no problems with the noise at all, we were able to sleep perfectly fine without earplugs and believe me, I have a light sleep. Sometimes we could hear the mosque, however, wasnt noisy at all. It was a very nice experience and gave the whole holiday a special feel.

do not believe all the bad reviews and stay at sejuk, you wont regret it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nice_swiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Air hotels
0.5 mi away
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
0.7 mi away
Villa Karang Hotel
Villa Karang Hotel
#7 of 19 in Gili Air
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunrise Resort
Sunrise Resort
#4 of 19 in Gili Air
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
7SEAS Cottages
7SEAS Cottages
#12 of 19 in Gili Air
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Sunset Gili Air
Grand Sunset Gili Air
#3 of 19 in Gili Air
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manta Dive Gili Air Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sejuk Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sejuk Cottages

Property: Sejuk Cottages
Address: West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Gili Air
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sejuk Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sejuk Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sejuk Cottages Hotel Gili Air
Sejuk Cottages Gili Air, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing