We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay, great beach bbq!”
Review of Gili Air Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gili Air Resort
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Gili Air
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay, great beach bbq!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights while on a G adventure tour. Rooms were great - there are different standard ones so get the upgraded ones which are bigger and closest to the Lobby. 1 pool which was nice, albeit a bit warm (so was the temperature). Scubby Froggy onsite if you want to dive. Nice breakfast and view. This is on the other side of the island so a 20 min walk or horse carriage ride (no cars on the island). The rooms are clean double bed, wardrobe, dresser, TV, porch outside, great AC. The bathroom is kind of outside, a separate door (so not AC), and covered but the one wall is a rock. Really neat. Only a shower. We went during low tide so the beach water area was very rocky some parts and sea urchin stung a few guests. Don't swim if low tide, we preferred to walk down the beach road to other places to swim. Tours to go to the other islands available. Lots of other Dive places, or can do snorkelling which was amazing! They had a beach bbq 2 of the nights while we were there, fresh fish cooked, barracuda, shrimp, and more - very yummy. Relaxing island, you can get massages, try the yoga place and lots of places to eat. I would stay here again as the value was excellent (off season)..And being on the other side of island, quieter.

Room Tip: Bigger rooms close to lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    76
    46
    33
    43
See reviews for
29
103
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The hotel is great, food meets the price, scuba diving in scuba froggy is a definite plus and the staff is extremely helpful. A place worth visiting. Most of the time.

We were here, a group of four Finns, for six days and the staff really made the place feel like home. I would like to mention two of the workers Zul and Bam. Five star workers with exceptional taste of customer service and Willing to help. We are only talking about the best of the best and hope the best for their future.

The manager didn't allow the workers work properly, actually they closed the bar at eleven, even when there were a group of ten customers still sitting on a table next to the beach (plus our group at the bar). Paying customers still wanting to spend some more. Apparently the owner decided to change the rules of drinking in the bar while we were here, because at the beginning everything went so smoothly.

The workers are extremely helpful and they really made a place in our hearts. We only hope that the manager realizes how great of a staff they have, and at last, truly appreciate them.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Decided to stop here for lunch one day. Waited at out table for 20 minutes and nobody came to serve us (though there were 3 staff just stood around talking). went to the bar and waited 5 minutes and was just ignored, back to the table for another 20 minutes and still no service, finally sent my girlfriend to the bar who got served immediately (funny that). food came out fairly quickly and tasted terrible, incredibly salty, we shared a mie goreng between us and we didnt even finish that. also heard terrible reviews from other people whilst on the island. avoid

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcusmondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gili Air hotels

Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Good rooms, great service, friendly manager and staffs, marvellous relaxing environment at the beach, superb seafood grill dinner. However the dive operation generally is the relaxing type as usually they do 2 dives per day and start diving late (10am) compare to a lot of other dive destinations. The 100m walk to board the boat during low tide can be a little bit of hassle if you are carrying dive gears, but it's understandable that I can't be avoided as that is the natural beach profile. I'm very looking forward to see whether they can do any improvement on these (perhaps getting a trolley?) during my next visit. Cheers!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hui328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay.

Pros - family was 2 days late and manager didn't charge us for the other room. Manager was very understanding and a very nice. Cleaned rooms daily. Tasty BBQ food at restaurant located on the beach. Helpful staff. Quiet location. Well maintained property.

Cons - rentals were more expensive than other places. Little over priced for room with a/c. Their carriage horse was extremely skinny and needed some loving.

We would stay there again.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianHeroEh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
875 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

The rooms are nice enough, the beach location the stuff of travel ads -- especially the sunsets -- and the fresh seafood is wonderful. A great launching point for trips to other islands and snorkelling. Seriously take any picture of spots where you can relax on the beach and review them back home and you'll be glad you made this place part of your travel itinerary.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Codiak!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bali
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

I go here every month for a few nights after busy bali.just my weekends of or just for a week holiday with my partner.its super relaxed.staff is super relaxed.good food.an unbelievable beautiful spot to watch the sunset and not to forget the bbq every evening on the beach with the really fresh fish all different but also the italian/ indonesian menu from the restaurant.for us its home coming. Sweet water for showering,refrigerator,roomservice for me good enough to stay. They are busy with renovations to make it all more better. I hope it dont become that cowded hahaha ger

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kobus9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Air hotels
0.8 mi away
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
1.0 mi away
7SEAS Cottages
7SEAS Cottages
#14 of 20 in Gili Air
331 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Karang Hotel
Villa Karang Hotel
#8 of 20 in Gili Air
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sunrise Resort
Sunrise Resort
#5 of 20 in Gili Air
561 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ombak Paradise
Hotel Ombak Paradise
#13 of 20 in Gili Air
23 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bel Air Resort and Spa
Bel Air Resort and Spa
#6 of 20 in Gili Air
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gili Air Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gili Air Resort

Property: Gili Air Resort
Address: Main Road, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Gili Air
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gili Air Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gili Air Resort is located on a small island offshore from the main island, an ideal location to "get away from it all". Spending time on this little island it is pretty easy to forget that you are a mere 20 minutes away from the nearby airport. You can take advantage of amenities such as the breakfast buffet, laundry service, the Internet and diving/scuba groups.The best way to get the true Gili Island experience is via the private beach houses. This rather unique arrangment features the beach houses spread across the surrounding park and garden area to provide you with the all the charm of inhabiting a small coastal fishing village.After adventuring about the island during the day be sure to kick back at the nightly barbecue, or grab a slice of pizza and a pint at the poolside restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gili Air Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gili Air Resort Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing