We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and Good food”
Review of Gili Air Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gili Air Resort
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Gili Air
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

I Go there several Times a year and Go There for the relaxed atmosphere. It's relaxed.good food.and the staff is friendly and helpful. And the best sunset ever with on the background mount Agung from bali.it's 20 minutes walk to the centre. Hot and cold water (sweetwater)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kobus9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 249 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Bit expensive compare to others on Gili AIR but it is perfect place for relax, buffee breakfast and friendly staff, aircondition was so loud and we couldnt sleep because of it, room are clean but need more maintance, bar was gave good offer on sunset time , 15% discount between 5-7pm and ALEE the Bar man was so friendly.. food is amazing, they serve fresh fish everyday

Room Tip: Room number 7 to 14 are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GedeCeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks. Rooms vary from $35 to over $100. Stayed in the cheapest rooms.

Good points

- Good sized pool for Gili Air standards!
- Nice location
- Good deck chairs & seats next to the beach
- Nice balcony


Bad points

- The staff were true minimalists - as in they only did the bare minimum!
- Although the room was cleaned every day, besides the obvious stuff, they really didn't bother. The bathroom was covered in cobwebs as was the room. Once they had been you could see the line on the floor where they had stopped cleaning.
- The room had a damp/mould smell
- There were loads of massive ants over the toilet
- We saw a few of the rooms and some of the bathrooms were really horrible. We were quite lucky in that we had one of the nicest... but still that wasn't of a particularly high standard.
- Breakfast is OK at the best. You have to ask for eggs but they never tell you that you can ask so we presumed some people never knew. The juices are saturated with sugar. Very limited choice overall and the toast machine hardly works and takes an enternity to toast!
- Internet barely works and the system they have means you have to keep on re-logging on which is a pain
- The toilets next to the pool/resto are a disgrace. Really quite disgusting.
- Some of the staff were very good (from memory all the female staff were excellent) but the majority were either indifferent or unfriendly - mainly the young men working there (there was one older man who was very good though)
- They never bothered to clean the pool (we get up very early and only rarely saw anyone cleaning it at any time in the day). One day it was so murky that even the dive centre people complained to the staff because they were having difficulties training people in the pool.
- Very few deck chairs around the pool

Why did we stay for such a long time? We wanted to stay in one place for a long time and not move away. Drinks are very expensive on the Gili islands so we wanted a buffet breakfast with unlimited tea and coffee etc which is quite rare (for the price we were paying). The pool was a bit bigger too than most hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eurotraveller351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alambaru, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Gili Air Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for your feedback.
We apologize if some aspects of your stay in our hotel did not live up to your expectation.
But it's very funny what you say .
"Why did we stay for such a long time? (...) Drinks are very expensive on the Gili islands so we wanted a buffet breakfast with unlimited tea and coffee etc which is quite rare (for the price we were paying)" you write.
Really you have been two weeks (not for only one day) in a "bad hotel" with so many problems just to eat a good breakfast?
Wow, unbelievable. Sometimes life is strange and allows to meet funny people like you.
Or maybe what you write is not true.
Our hotel is home to approximately 35,000 people/years, all satisfied with our work and service.
Follow us on our HOTEL GILI AIR facebook page, you'll be updated with all our current and future initiatives and events.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The few days we spent at this hotel were lovely, the rooms were of a good standard and the atmosphere was pleasant overall. The breakfast was disappointing however with limited variety or selection but the set menu was good. Staff were attentive and the bar had a great feel. Would recommend for only short stay as there is little in the form of entertainment in the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pengwynn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had the cheapest room and I would say that it was worth the money, but the hotel in general had both positive and negative aspects. The rooms were old and the bathroom wasn't modern at all. The pool was quite dirty, I didn't enjoy swimming in it. The wifi was very, very slow. The breakfast buffet was okay, you can ask the staff for scrambled eggs or omelette free of charge. The hotel is located on the opposite side of the island from the harbor. So you have to walk for a while (or rent a bike) to get to the restaurants there (there are restaurants right beside the hotel too). The hotel is right by the beach, so you can watch the sunrise and sundown! The hotel offers sunbeds free of charge right by the water.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for a week in February 2013. We booked our transfers from Lombok through the hotel and they were prompt, reasonable value and really enjoyable. We stayed in a Superior room which, although a little tired, was clean and spacious. The staff were generally helpful although not as considerate as we would have expected.

The swimming pool was clean when we visited; indeed the staff spent about an hour early each morning cleaning the pool and the surrounding areas. I swam in the pool every morning and most evenings and really enjoyed it.

Snorkelling from the beach was good fun. Breakfast and Dinner were included in our rate. Breakfasts were fair, although repetitive, and dinners were OK but also a bit limited.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Marjory1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

On Gili Air, the hotels make use of clean or dirty water in the bathroom. This hotel uses the dirty water.
The swimming pool is also dirty.
The breakfast is only half included. For several things you have to pay extra.
The bed consists of two beds placed together with a pillow in between them, which they don't clean and has got semen stains on it.
The ventilator, only works in combination with the lights and still then works barely.
Big ants walk everywhere on the floor and also on the bed.
When asked at the reception about the ventilator and dirty sheets we received another sheet to put over the other one and the boy who came for the ventilator makes a fool of you. He secretly turned on the lights outside and switched off the lights on the inside so that the ventilator would still work.
The wi-fi didn't work. At the reception I was told it had something to do with the power on the island, but if I walked to another hotel I did receive wi-fi.
This was undoubtly the most terrible place we slept in during two months of traveling in Asia. It was also one of the most expensive ones.

Room Tip: Don't choose their cheaper bungalows. You will pay 250.000 rupees for a terrible night. When com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeroen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alambaru, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Gili Air Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for your feedback.
We apologize if some aspects of your stay in our hotel did not live up to your expectation.
It's important to remember that you chose the "Moderat" room, the cheapest room in our hotel.
Our hotel also has Standard room, Superior, Suite and Luxury room. But you chose the "Moderat" room after seeing it, and according to your little budget.
Many people have this dream: to pay a little but to sleep in a Suite or Luxury room. Maybe it was your dream.
Follow us on our HOTEL GILI AIR facebook page, you'll be updated with all our current and future initiatives and events.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Air hotels
0.8 mi away
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
1 mi away
7SEAS Cottages
7SEAS Cottages
#11 of 20 in Gili Air
375 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lucy's Garden Hotel
Lucy's Garden Hotel
#13 of 20 in Gili Air
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Villa Karang Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
Sunrise Resort
Sunrise Resort
#3 of 20 in Gili Air
630 reviews
0.5 mi away
Puri Air Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gili Air Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gili Air Resort

Address: Main Road, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Gili Air
Price Range: $39 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gili Air Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gili Air Resort is located on a small island offshore from the main island, an ideal location to "get away from it all". Spending time on this little island it is pretty easy to forget that you are a mere 20 minutes away from the nearby airport. You can take advantage of amenities such as the breakfast buffet, laundry service, the Internet and diving/scuba groups.The best way to get the true Gili Island experience is via the private beach houses. This rather unique arrangment features the beach houses spread across the surrounding park and garden area to provide you with the all the charm of inhabiting a small coastal fishing village.After adventuring about the island during the day be sure to kick back at the nightly barbecue, or grab a slice of pizza and a pint at the poolside restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Gili Air Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gili Air Resort Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing