We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK bungalow, not the best in Gili Air”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Salili Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Salili Bungalow
Ranked #27 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Gili Air
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“OK bungalow, not the best in Gili Air”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Salili Bungalow for 3 nights. The bungalows are basic, just a bed with mosquitonet, a small closet and bedside tables. There is a nice outdoor bathroom and a small porch with chairs in front. The bungalows are clean and have AC, however the sliding doors of our bungalow did not close very well. Even when locked there was a big gap between the doors and the wall and the doors could still move in the frame. This did not look very safe. Two of the electric sockets were not working.

The breakfast is ok, you can choose between pancakes (not the best we have had in Indonesia) or eggs, with fruit juice or fruit salad. The 'orange juice' was actually syrup with ice, the pineapple juice however was fresh. But the fruit salad is a big plate of sliced fruit, definitely the better choice. They serve the breakfast on cute bamboo huts on the beach in front, which is a nice touch.

The staff was not always very friendly. One moment they were attentive, the next actually quite apathic. Our hello's/thank you's were more often ignored than responded to.

The location is quite far from the harbour and most restaurants/bars/shops etc. This can be a plus in high season, because it is then in the quiet area. But we were here in low season when there is actually not much happening anywhere on Gili Air, so then it is just a very long walk from/back to your bungalow. There are many more bungalow resorts more centrally located in Gili Air, with comparable pricing, quality and facilities.

Overall we have had a fairly pleasant stay at Salili, but it is definitely not the best value for money on Gili Air, at least not in low season.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingAsia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    40
    20
    3
    7
See reviews for
7
63
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The accommodation we exactly as I expected on Gili Air, basic. However, the bungalow was spacious, very clean with a very modern out door bathroom. The bed was large and very comfortable. The location, breathtaking! The reason for visiting Gili Air. Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRSLAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful quiet beachside location. From the map on booking.com we anticipated that we'd be staying a little off the beach but this truly couldn't be closer to the beach. They have private sheltered areas on the beach to have your breakfast in, or they will bring to your room. We had delicious banana pancakes every day with a choice of fruit juices. Plus we had a fruit juice on arrival. The staff were friendly are welcoming. Helped us book our departing boat to lombok and share their ideas of restaurants close by. At this part of Gili Air, it's very quiet, so perfect if you don't want to be disturbed and like the beach to yourself or with only a couple people. This isn't luxury accommodation, but has hot and cold fresh water, we had a fan room to keep the price down and this was good and the mozzy net was super duper. We booked for 2 nights, stayed for 4 nights. Loved it, could have stayed longer!

We didn't dislike anything. The location was perfect and quiet for us. To debate both sides, if you want your stay on gili air to be lively, stay closer to the harbour and the easy coast. We walked here on 2 of our nights to Chill Out bar which we loved. It's 40 mins walk each way but we didn't mind this... The walk gave us an excuse to have dessert. We did need a torch though as the area isn't lit. We also spent a day by the east coast beach which is softer sand and deeper waters. The beach right where Salili is very shallow for approx 80-100 metres which you could walk or swim before it gets much deeper! The quietness of the Salili location made it perfect for us to chill and relax and walk to areas when we wanted a change and different options of good as there are 2/3 restaurants up by Salili whilst on the east there are many more. Choice is yours... I'd pick the quiet area of Salili for the typical gili experience of relaxation and tranquility!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClairePayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire, uk
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Had high hopes for this fairly new place. Liked the location on the west coast as it was nice and quiet plus good for sunsets with a few gazebos by the beach from which to watch them. The bungalows look lovely on the outside with a table and chair on the verandah but are fairly basic inside though they have cute bungalow-shaped side lamps! The day-to-day staff are very young, and whilst sweet, do not speak much English and were therefore not so helpful when we had problems.

The main problem was the air-con. First off, paying for it is a complete rip-off-it pretty much adds 50% to your bill. The first night, the air con didn't work. We informed them and they tried to insist it did work when all it was doing was fanning. They offered us a different bungalow (without sea view) but the air con was just the same there- ineffective. So we went back to our room with a fan. To their credit, they did bring someone to fix it the next day. However, this meant our bungalow was unusable to us all day plus the guy fixing it thought it OK to smoke (until I told him not to smoke in our room). When it was "fixed", it then leaked water everywhere and made the floor dangerously slippy. We informed the staff but all they did was mop it up. When it came to the bill, they tried to charge us full whack, as if we'd had functioning air con the whole time with no inconvenience. Luckily, when we said we were only prepared to pay the fan rate, the owner agreed.

Another issue was the constant whine of construction happening right next door on the neighbouring plot. One night this went on til 11pm. Also, be prepared for lengthy powercuts and intermittent internet - partly a whole island issue.


Salili bungalowas really need to work on a having a more professional front, as there is lots of potential for this to be good. But the poor workmanship, evident in the extremely difficult to lock main doors and impossible to open bathroom door, is just an indication that unless they strive hard, this place will soon look anything but new and is more likely to slide further downhill.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo_and_luke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We walked from the harbour to the West coast, this being the more peaceful part of this beautiful island. And we stumbled across Salili. We just fell in love with it straight away. Just 5 bungalows set in a beautifully tended garden 2 steps from the beach. A lovely clean room, and a great semi-open air bathroom.

The young people who ran the place were a delight, and the breakfast, served on the beach was more than adequate. And right next door was a lovely Sasak restaurant, with tables on the beach, and delicious Sasak food cooked to order. The husband of the cook set off early each morning in his little boat, with his homemade spear guns, returning some hours later with the day's catch. If you saw a fish you wanted for dinner, you just pointed it out and said what time you wanted to eat! And there it would be, barbecued and served with rice, stir-fried vegetables, and homemade sambal.

Yes, it is a walk to the busier East coast, but since you can walk all the way round the island in under an hour, it's not much of an issue; and it walks off some of those glorious happy hour Bintangs!

We had planned to spend 2 days on Gili Air; we dragged ourselves away after 10. Nuff said??!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sw19mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Air hotels
0.0 mi away
Pandan Bungalow
Pandan Bungalow
#48 of 130 in Gili Air
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Island View Bungalows
Island View Bungalows
#39 of 130 in Gili Air
71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kaluku Gili Resort
Kaluku Gili Resort
#9 of 130 in Gili Air
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gili Lumbung Bungalows
Gili Lumbung Bungalows
#37 of 130 in Gili Air
57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vyaana Resort Gili Air
Vyaana Resort Gili Air
#8 of 56 in Gili Air
22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Matahari 1
Matahari 1
#99 of 130 in Gili Air
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salili Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salili Bungalow

Property: Salili Bungalow
Address: Gili Air - Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Gili Air
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Salili Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salili Bungalow Gili Air, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing