We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD PIZZA but that was all”

Zipp Bar Restaurant & Bungalows
Ranked #18 of 73 Restaurants in Gili Air
Price range: $1 - $7
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Zipp is located on southeast beach of Gili Air in front of best swimming and snorkeling area. Restaurant has a large variety of Indonesian and western cuisine from breakfast until dinner with fresh seafood BBQ and open fire pizza oven. Zipp provides also seven new air-conditioned bungalows with swimming pool and fresh water.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“GOOD PIZZA but that was all”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

After holidaying on Gili Air 5 times now we have given most of the Restaurants a try at one time or another. Zipp Bar served me a particularly delicious Kari Ayam one year I remember. But on this occasion the service was a bit Ho Hum, maybe not enough staff? We had an incredibly long wait for our Pizza considering it was early in the night & there wasn't that many customers. We chose to dine at a table rather than laying down & it was so dark I couldn't see the topping on my pizza. It was however a generous size & very tasty. Sorry to say we ate, paid, left & tried a different restaurant the next night as Zipp Bar was just not up to its usual standard this time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank loveindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    285
    98
    35
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Loved it here!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner and lunch here. I had the prawns which were yummy although a bit expensive at 140k for 4!!! For lunch I had the chicken satay skewers which were divine. I had 2 banana colada cocktails which were pretty potent. The only annoying thing are the stray cats. They don't pester you they just hang around. I'm a cat person but at one point there were three at our table and I was getting a bit nervous! They seem friendly enough though. Service was good apart from once we had to go up to the bar to order but it was pretty busy that night! I'd eat here every day if I could!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“AMAZING PIZZA”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

If you crave some pizza during your stay to the Gili's - go to Zip bar. Inexpensive, proper Italian base pizza. Was amazing! Yum!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank wigglesworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadlow Down,East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Popular. Poor food, poor service.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Was looking for somewhere to eat and stumbled across this place. It was much busier than many of the other adjacent restaurants (that were pretty much deserted) and it offered free wi-fi so assumed it must be good.
Wrong.
Service was very slow (took over an hour and a quarter for the children to be fed), the food was really poor and most importantly one of the dishes was specifically requested "no mushrooms" and it turned up with mushrooms. Luckily spotted as my girlfriend has a very severe mushroom allergy (hours of vomiting will follow).
The wi-fi (one of my must-haves for this evening) wasn't working properly (not a generic internet connection issue but specific to their local wireless network).
The next night went to one of the nearly-empty restaurants (Sunrise) and had a fab (and cheaper) dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Beware happy hour”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Happy hour (which starts at 5 and goes through until 8) could be a bit of a trap with 2 for 1 cocktails. Once it goes past 8 the staff will happily let you have another round reckoning that you are just ordering your second drink of the two! The food is very good and the barbequed skewers are great value. The Indonesian food is also very good. As with most places on Gili Air prices are cheap, service is reasonably good and the outlook is fabulous.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank litigate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zipp Bar Restaurant & Bungalows also viewed

 
Gili Air, Gili Islands
Gili Air, Gili Islands
 

Been to Zipp Bar Restaurant & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing