We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Star Bar and Bungalows
Ranked #54 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Gili Air
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent 5 nights here, while taking a Padicourse at the next door Blue Marlin Dive Center. We loved it so much, that we are already planning on coming back. It's a really small place, with 2 bungalows, 2 rooms, 1 bamboo villa and a bigger AC bungalow. It's right on the beach, which is a little rocky but has some great snorkeling (we saw turtles right of the beach).

The resturant and bar is really laid back, in a reggae sort of way, and serves great food!

The bungalows are amazing, really nice and has a lot of personal touch. Kajsa, the owner, has really made an effort. We stayed in both the bungalow and the regular room (which was cheaper and also nice), and I would really recommend both of them! The bungalows were perhaps even better value for money.

Its a really good place to stay if your looking for peace and quite, but still want to be in the vicinity of some other bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexGalfvensjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Star Bar and Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 133 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Star Bar for a week and we had such a good time. The bungalows are spacious and clean and decorated nicely. The staff are super friendly and hilarious and the bar out the front was a great place to chill out at the end of the day and sink a few beers. I will definitely stay there again when I go back to Gili Air. Remember to try the Swedish meatballs!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Loved this place. Simple, basic, clean accommodation which is all you need on this paradise island. Beds were comfortable, rooms were cool and no mosquitoes! Kasja and the staff were lovely, really friendly and helpful. The food is good, the Bintang is cold and the cuba libres are strong and if that's not enough, it can all be served to you as you lay on a bamboo bed and watch the waves lap the shore. Had an amazing time and would definitely return. We miss Gili Air!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracyandMarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
Thank kaizer i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
194
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank 377pascaleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christinepehau31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Air hotels
0.5 mi away
Salim Cottage
Salim Cottage
#26 of 144 in Gili Air
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Marine Dive Resort
Blue Marine Dive Resort
#19 of 144 in Gili Air
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Damai Bungalows
Damai Bungalows
#4 of 59 in Gili Air
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Biba Beach
Biba Beach
#8 of 59 in Gili Air
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kaluku Gili Resort
Kaluku Gili Resort
#12 of 144 in Gili Air
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandy Beach Bungalow
Sandy Beach Bungalow
#73 of 144 in Gili Air
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Bar and Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Bar and Bungalows

Address: Gili Air, West Nusa Tenggara West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Gili Air
Price Range: $24 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Bar and Bungalows opened in July 2010 and is one of the newest resorts on Gili Air. We provide accommodation, food from our restaurant, bar, bakery and activities.Star Bar and Bungalows offers 6 rooms with different standards. All rooms and bungalows are situated near the beach, beautifully surrounded by gardens filled with tropical flowers and trees. Each room is complete with their en-suite bathroom with a western toilet and shower, and a balcony with a hammock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Star Bar and Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Bar And Bungalows Gili Air, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing