We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Food was amazing!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby's Cafe

Ruby's Cafe
Ranked #2 of 61 Restaurants in Gili Air
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Ruby's Cafe is owned and operated by Indonesian Chef Ruby. Her mission is to provide fresh homecooked with passion from experience from working overseas inspires her delicious curries using imported ingredients unique to her cafe and her time in top Italian restaurants in Bali comes through in her perfect pasta dishes. Every plate is cooked from scratch, spring rolls,croquettes, curries, only the Rendang is cooked before as it takes 2 hours, no portions pulled from the freezer and buzzed in Micro. Ruby's is a simple open air cafe dedicated to providing tasty FRESH food with love. Sorry even though many reviews advise booking we do not take reservations works better on a rolling basis, last oders 3.30 lunch and 9.30 dinner.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food was amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We went here after seeing the reviews on trip advisor and it met all our expectations. For $9 for three of us including drinks it was one of the best meals I have had in Indonesia. We had Urap Urap and Chicken Satays. So friendly and everything was cooked from scratch while we waited.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NZBeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    65
    21
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a delicious local eatery inland from the touristy places on the beach. We ate there three times during a five day stay. The food was tasty and authentic and the price can't be beat. The food was fresh, plentiful and yummy. We had nasi goreng, mie goreng, gado gado and satay among a few other choices during our meals there. Each thing was worth every bite and I strongly recommend the five minute walk from the beach in order to eat at this gem on the island.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jris53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“must have been an off day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Authentic warung round the back of the scallywag mango retreat. We have been meaning to eat here all week as it gets rave reviews on here...we finally got there today and I hate to say left feeling disappointed. Having eaten mie and nasi goreng pretty solidly for two weeks I had high hopes on both dishes topping the chart at number one, unfortunately both were oily and bland tasting. The place across the street (warung kampung) was miles better. Maybe we caught warung gili on an off day as we didn't find it to be a particularly friendly place either.Shame

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lifeisabeach01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food in the village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We tried Warung Gili based on the good reviews on Tripadvisor on our last night at Gili Air, and were disappointed that we didn't check out Tripadvisor earlier, we would have eaten there every night! Really delicious Indonesian food, and very cheap.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MickandSherryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Indonesian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We visited Gili Air in early May and went to try Warung Gili because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor. Food was excellent, far the best we ever had anywhere in Indonesia. Owner lady is clearly putting all her heart and mind in preparing the food. It was absolutely delicious and on top of that also very affordable. It is really worth making the effort to walk the 5 minutes out from the beach to eat at Warung Gili. If you like you can also try the Warung opposite, their food is also very good and far better than in the beach restaurants, but not fully in class with Warung Gili.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M_E_T561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby's Cafe also viewed

Gili Air, Gili Islands
Gili Air, Gili Islands
 
Gili Air, Gili Islands
 

Been to Ruby's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing