We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on gili Air”
Review of Damai Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Damai Homestay
Ranked #5 of 56 Gili Air B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Padang, Indonesia
2 reviews
“Heaven on gili Air”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Damai Homestay was the perfect get away on gili Air. It is situated on a quiet part on the island, slightly away from the beach but you still can see the shimmering waves from the veranda. Rosa has made her homestay a beautifull place with a peacefull ambiance. The rooms are warm and welcoming and the breakfast with homemade jam and bread is the perfect start of the day. On and off I stayed almost 2 weeks at Damai and I wish I could visit again!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank renster0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    46
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
92
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Damai homestay for a week as part of our honeymoon, and we really enjoyed our stay - it's minutes from the beach, well presented, clean, comfortable and quiet. We booked for four nights initially and extended it to seven after the first day. Rosa and all the staff are very helpful and friendly, and we made friends with the resident cat as well (we were missing our two so for us he was an added bonus!). I agree with other reviewers that this place is excellent value for money! The room was spacious with a nice bathroom with shower & sink, and the porch with two hammocks was beautiful - we really enjoyed chilling out here. Breakfast is really delicious and sets you up perfectly for the day. The location of Damai is absolutely beautiful - you can see over to the sea through the palms from the porch area and it's spectacular for sun rise and sun set and pretty much all the bits in between! The place has a really nice atmosphere and fits in with the pace of life on Gili Air perfectly. Overall we found it a very relaxing stay, and if we ever went back to Gili air we would definitely return here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marmite82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Sweet homestay steps away from the sea. The rooms are nice, so is the outside bathroom. There are many cheaper accommodations in gili air, and I have to say that paying 31'000 Rph for a tea (when you know we were paying 30euros per night - which is a lot for Indonesia) is a bit of a scandal. Anyways, nice place otherwise!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Romainedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

What you see is what you get, and that is worth five stars. Rosa is very helpful, and the
Homestay is located a few minutes from the beach with a beautiful view. So much value for money. You should go

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silkebock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We loved Damai homestay! The staff were so attentive, the breakfasts very fresh, and the location perfect- a bit off the beach. We were travelling with 3 and they very easily accomodated us. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The bungalows are cozy with great outdoor showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennaSanborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges, Limousin, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

verry nice place, Rosa will give you all the best place in iindonesia and give you a verry nice stay in the pearl in gilli. WE stay with my wife, few days, and have a good diving trip with tortues...
island with no car, robinson island..with confortable .it's magic !!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Being just a little back from the beach, Damai is very quiet, no peddlers. Rooms are rustic, charming, owner Rosa most helpful, staff lovely. Breakfast included was nice. Restaurants nearby. Recommend the snorkelling tour Rosa organised for us. Great snorkelling just 300 metres away on beachfront.

Room Tip: We liked the upstairs room No 5, had 2 levels, sunrise view from balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francoiseaccordion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Air hotels
0.6 mi away
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
0.7 mi away
7SEAS Cottages
7SEAS Cottages
#12 of 20 in Gili Air
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Karang Hotel
Villa Karang Hotel
#7 of 20 in Gili Air
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Damai Bungalows
Damai Bungalows
#4 of 56 in Gili Air
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Sunset Gili Air
Grand Sunset Gili Air
#3 of 20 in Gili Air
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manta Dive Gili Air Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damai Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai Homestay

Property: Damai Homestay
Address: North East Gili Air, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Air
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely 6 rooms cottage with a beautiful view on the coconut field and the sea. 1 minute from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Damai Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Homestay Gili Air, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing