We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and quiet”
Review of Damai Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Damai Homestay
Ranked #6 of 68 Gili Air B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Being just a little back from the beach, Damai is very quiet, no peddlers. Rooms are rustic, charming, owner Rosa most helpful, staff lovely. Breakfast included was nice. Restaurants nearby. Recommend the snorkelling tour Rosa organised for us. Great snorkelling just 300 metres away on beachfront.

Room Tip: We liked the upstairs room No 5, had 2 levels, sunrise view from balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francoiseaccordion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 175 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

We pre-booked this homestay before arriving on Gilli Air, but there are a lot of traditional and reasonably priced options on the island so it really would have been easy to arrange accommodation on arrival. The property is set back from the beach in a coconut grove with a lovely Zen feel to the décor. This extended from the common area in to the bedrooms, which had lovely mosquito nets and attention to detail, including the nice stone shower. The management were very friendly and helpful, we would have stayed longer but unfortunately had to move to a place with aircon due to the stifling heat whilst we were there. I would definitely stay again if the weather was a little cooler.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meri_Jahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Rosa is a really nice person and she always takes care of her guests. We had a small room with an outside bathroom, which was really nice. The breakfast in the morning was small, but good. we were really glad to find this homestay as it is a little further away from the harbour. Make sure you book in advance because it is mostly fully booked...and don't forget your longsleeves and trousers as there are lots of mosquitos.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Explorer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Rosa made our stay feel very homely. The place and rooms were decorated nicely and there was a very welcoming meeting area for eating, enjoying making new friends or jus reading a book! every room has two hammocks, there's free snorkeling gear to use and a hot breakfast cooked for us by rosa each morning!!! :) she even took my girlfriend to the local yoga class which was nice. Rosa also gave us great info on restaurants n sights around the island. The two kittens she kept were also very adorable. We enjoyed our stay so much we stayed an extra night! This place is highly recommended for your budget traveller. Thanks again rosa. :)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bjjtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I've been here 5 times now and it is time for a review. There is a constant progress to see, the garden gets more beautiful every time, the breakfast is one of the best in Asia (and I have been all over South East Asia) and the staff is always helpful! Rosa helped me out on the first time I have been on the Gilis as my credit card didn't work. So i came back and showed this amazing place to a lot of friends and even my mum. Hopefully the newly opened Airport in Lombok will not have any negative effects on my beloved Gilis! Thanks for everything and see you soon!!

Room Tip: Go for Room No.5! Seaview and private Hammock included!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laudimuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Visited in November Damai Homestay. The staff Arni, Ati and temporary manager on duty Markus from Germany looked very good after me for the staffwhole duration of my stay. The breakfast is also nice and its ideally located little bit inland the strip. Very peaceful. The rooms are very nice furnished. Espacially the open air showers are great. Some rooms are with aircon. Directly in front of the beach starts the best snorkelspot on entire gili air. Go in the morning and make a driftsnorkel all along the side. Very nice. Yoga, diveschools and restaurants are within easy walking distance. Will defenetly come again!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surderburder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

If you´re a single girl travelling, what you´re looking for is a place that´s clean, safe and has nice people around for a chat or a coffee. Damai is the perfect place for that. Rosa, the french owner of the guesthouse wasn´t present at the time I got there, so I was very well taken care of by Markus and Ellen, a couple in their twenties from Germany and England who looked after the guesthouse. Markus would take us on snorkeling trips around the house reef and show us fish and turtles we otherwise would have missed. Ellen is a nurse which comes in handy when the infamous „Bali belly“ or an annoying jellyfish sting crosses your way. Both of them would show you around or give you recommendations whenever you ask them. The rooms itself are simple but beautiful and equipped with everything you need, from a fan and a mosquito net to an open roof bathroom and are cleaned every morning by the lovely local staff who knew how you like your coffee after two days. The rest of the breakfast is either omelette with toast or a fruit pancake with chocolate sauce and a mixed fruit bowl, which was always plenty for me.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank resiresi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Air hotels
0.6 mi away
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
0.7 mi away
7SEAS Cottages
7SEAS Cottages
#11 of 20 in Gili Air
375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Damai Bungalows
Damai Bungalows
#4 of 68 in Gili Air
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ananda B&B
Ananda B&B
#14 of 68 in Gili Air
31 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manta Dive Gili Air Resort
0.4 mi away
Bel Air Resort and Spa
Bel Air Resort and Spa
#6 of 20 in Gili Air
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damai Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai Homestay

Address: North East Gili Air, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Air
Price Range: $17 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely 6 rooms cottage with a beautiful view on the coconut field and the sea. 1 minute from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Damai Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Homestay Gili Air, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing